The Neighbour’s Dog

I can’t remember if I wrote about the neighbour’s dog or if I silently ranted in my head for days about it, but I’m pretty much done with being silent.

On some winter morning, I went outside with the dogs, sans glasses.  I was on the north side of the house and the dogs were having a shit fit on the south side of the house.  I shuffled my way around to the other side to see what was going on, and I found some guy standing at my fence with a big, fugly dog.  The reason I was outside without my glasses was something woke me up after 2 hours of sleep and I just wanted the dogs to pee and go back to bed.  They were seriously riled, and it turns out, I was, too.  I said something polite like, “What the fuck are you doing?!”

“I’m letting the dogs meet each other so they can be friends.”

Okay.  There is an empty lot between this guy’s house (it isn’t actually his house, it’s his mom & dad’s house, who are great neighbours, by the way) and my house, so there is no need for the dogs to meet and be friends.  Besides, my dogs are about as friendly as I am and they don’t want to meet anyone new.  Nor do I. 

I told him as much and went back in the house. 

The dog is some ugly people/dog killing breed, who has been relatively good for the last few months.  She stayed in her yard and didn’t bark much.  Lately, however, she has decided she owns the neighbourhood and she’s working on getting her head bashed in with a log.  A couple days ago I got out of my van and bent over to pick up a log, which had fallen off the wood pile, when I heard a rushing sound behind me.  I turned with the log in time to catch her charging me, so I charged her ass out of my yard and halfway across the vacant lot.  I DO NOT put up with bullshit dogs, and if she had stood her ground, the neighbours would have been digging a hole for her. 

My dogs are not saints.  They bark at people, but unless someone is threatening me, they will not charge a person. 

Today I was catching up on my reading when I heard an odd sound from outside.  I went out on the deck to see what it was and saw the across-the-street neighbour wrestling a wind blown bag of trash in his truck.  His little Pomeranian was out with him and, fuck me, if that ugly dog didn’t charge down the street after the little dog.  My Pom was killed by a pit bull and I had flashes of the same thing happening again, so before I fainted, I yelled, “HEY!”  He turned, saw the other dog, and yelled for her to stop, which she did, but she stood in the road deciding what to do next.  I was ready to come off my deck and decide for her, but he said, “Oh, she’s a really friendly dog.  She’s okay.”

Yeah.  Tell me that when you are picking up pieces of your dead dog. 

Dogs who charge are NOT friendly.

Dogs who charge are NOT okay.

It’s only a matter of time until someone is crying.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Serenity
    Mar 17, 2011 @ 16:51:57

    Oh hell no. I owned a very aggressive dog several years back (the result of him being badly abused as a puppy), and the worst thing you can do is be in denial of your own pet’s temperament. My dog went after people twice-both times when I wasn’t there, and my dumbass ex let someone come near him “bc he was being good”. Luckily, no one pressed charges, or was seriously hurt, and I learned quickly that the only one allowed to watch my dog was me. Sounds like you need to have a little talk with mom and dad about their son keeping that dog leashed and fenced in at all times.

    My dogs are protective, so I don’t let them get into situations which could result in their deaths.

    Reply

  2. DarcKnyt
    Mar 17, 2011 @ 17:15:52

    I do NOT like people who do NOT watch their dogs and DON’T realize what kind of animal they have. I just don’t. They’re worse than the animals by far.

    I always blame the owners.

    Reply

  3. Fuck My Table
    Mar 17, 2011 @ 17:57:42

    I agree. I do not like pit bulls, and ANY dog that charges me is unwelcome. We had neighbors that let their three pits run around loose in the neighborhood. I refused to take my dog on walks because of them. I am actually licensed to carry a handgun in my state, and carry anytime I leave the house….but I still wouldn’t take my dog for a walk because I would hate to shoot a dog, even one that’s posing a threat to me.

    Those three pits have repeatedly refused to move for MY CAR while driving down the road. I took to almost hitting them to get them to move — if I didn’t, they’d bristle at me and stand their ground. I’ve called animal control many times but they never seem to do anything.

    I left my house to go to work one morning and got around to the driver’s side door before I noticed a large Doberman-esque dog standing by my back bumper. He growled at me and I yelled at him while reaching for my gun, just in case. He stood his ground, but stayed in place as I got inside my car. He ran when I started the car. Damn, I hate aggressive dogs. I’m glad mine isn’t an idiot.

    I hate aggressive dogs, too.

    Reply

  4. Anton
    Mar 17, 2011 @ 20:23:48

    It riles me pretty awful when I see clueless idiots with dogs they don’t know how to care for, train or control. I grew up with German Shepherds trained to be protection/police dogs. It kills me when someone messes up an animal and then lets it run amok.

    My mother once (alone and without a weapon) fought off two attacking dogs to rescue a cat. It was the craziest thing.

    My dogs, Maggie especially, are HORRIBLE with cats. There are 398,392 feral cats where I live and every now and then the dogs will get one in the yard. It’s not cool, but I guess it keeps the population down.

    Reply

  5. A
    Mar 17, 2011 @ 22:36:10

    and it’s owners like that that give breeds a bad reputation.

    I agree. Dogs are bred for certain purposes and if you can’t handle their instincts, you shouldn’t have one.

    Reply

  6. Monica
    Mar 17, 2011 @ 23:49:31

    This reminds me of a friend who recently had got a doggie but sadly it died within few days in a deadly dog fight.
    Ideal Pet
    What do you have to say about your pet?
    http://www.3smartcubes.com/pages/tests/ideal_pet/ideal_pet_instructions.asp

    I hate people who don’t take care of their animals.

    Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment!

    Reply

  7. Rachel
    Mar 18, 2011 @ 21:27:29

    WTF??? If the dog had a bad barking habit, then you could say that it was ‘a friendly dog.’ If it charges people, it needs to be behind a metal cage! Perhaps your neighbors should be informed that they are legally responsible for the shit it does when they let it roam free.

    They came here from California, where there are strict dog laws, so you’d think they would shit their pants over this dog.

    As for your across the street neighbor–that’s sociology. People are dumb when they live together–no one wants to be the ‘hysterical’ one that frets over that one dog and causes promblems. So they’ll chuckle about that time it almost bit them and explain that it actually is a pretty nice animal until a kid goes missing…

    My dogs have a reputation for being mean, but they don’t charge people or other dogs. Really, it’s me who’s mean. The dogs are pretty cuddly once you get to know them.

    Reply

  8. DarcsFalcon
    Mar 18, 2011 @ 23:34:10

    I fear you’re right – that this is going to get worse before it gets better.

    Someone needs to talk with this guy, or his parents, if he’s letting his dog roam. I’m sure there are leash laws in your area too. A visit from the local Animal Protection unit might be a wake up call too.

    We’re in the county…no leash laws, no animal protection, no dog law enforcement. Someone or something has to die before anyone gets involved. 😦

    Reply

  9. leaner
    Mar 19, 2011 @ 00:36:09

    If anyone ever moved into my neighborhood with a pit bull I would poison it. No questions asked. I hate those fucking things.

    I’d prefer to poison the owners. The dog is just doing what it was bred to do, and unfortunately, irresponsible owners tend to want that sort of breed. The pit that killed my Pom was left unattended for days with no food or water while his owners went out of state on a drug run.

    Reply

  10. Saffire
    Mar 19, 2011 @ 23:21:28

    Ohh, that’s terrible.
    My dog barks but he’s only aggressive if he feels like we’re being threatened.
    He absolutely hates unknown men getting too close to me.

    My dogs aren’t big on men until they know them. Funny how that is.

    As for pit bulls, I think in Australia they’re a restricted breed, there’ve been countless stories about people being attacked, even young children. Who let’s a dog like that run loose?

    Drug addicts.

    Your poor Pomeranian, I’ve been looking into getting a pom X but then my rottweiler might accidently hurt him/her while trying to play.

    Poms think they are so tough, but they have such tiny bones. One of my cats knocked my Pom off the deck steps and broke her leg. 😦

    Reply

  11. leaner
    Mar 19, 2011 @ 23:38:55

    So you need to get the pit before it gets your dogs. Poison it. Soak a steak in antifreeze and throw it over the fence. Kill that pitbull beast that belongs to your ignorant neighbors. Protect your nice pets from a violent death.

    Again, I would rather poison the ignorant neighbours and give the dog to the shelter. I have big dogs now so I’m not horribly worried about the new neighbour’s dog, but it’s working on being a menace.

    Reply

  12. hira1animfefte
    Apr 01, 2011 @ 17:13:41

    That dog should be on a leash, and when not on a leash, should be behind a fence. This is why leash laws were invented in the first place…but apparently not in rural counties/states…

    They moved across the street to a house with a fenced yard. Thankfully.

    It kind of burns me up that there’s no animal protection there. That means that people can abuse their animals to their heart’s content. The story of that pit bull is so sad. What kind of monsters would do that to a dog? You already answered…drug addicts…I’m sorry about your Pom. 😦 They really are fragile beasties. But they think they aren’t!

    The most irresponsible people are attracted to the breed which needs the most responsibility. Go figure.

    My medium-sized dog seems to think she is much larger…probably because she was bred to hunt elk…http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Norwegian_Elkhound

    Those are good dogs!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

