Aftermath

There was a big meeting about Dani and I on Sunday morning.  Apparently, we are wretched bitches who run off all the help.

I got The Talk from Darren and he asked what went on with Lindsay.  I told him my version and he said someone told him I tried to “assert dominance” on her.  I asked if I tried to pee on her or hump her.  He said he didn’t think so, and admitted it was a ridiculous complaint.

Mind you, NONE of this is coming from Lindsay.  She isn’t answering any of Darren’s calls.  ALL of this is coming from two employees, a cook who doesn’t like me and a server who doesn’t like Dani.  Darren knows these two people are manipulating events to get rid of us, but the owners are treating it as gospel.  Darren promised he had my back, but for now I’m on eggshells, so no hopping.

I feel like curling up in the fecal position for a few days.

I hate getting blamed for shit I didn’t do.  I don’t want the new people to quit.  I don’t want to be on the schedule for 14 days straight.  I’m so sick of the drama, backstabbing, envy, and pettiness I could scream.  It’s bad enough dealing with bullshit customers and all their issues; I shouldn’t have to be on edge with my coworkers.  I’m exhausted, strung out, stressed out, and afraid every move I make is going to be the wrong one.  I’m down to standing like a deer in the headlights waiting for someone to either tell me what to do, or to  plow me over and put me out of my misery.

I pulled out a phone book yesterday to see what other restaurants are in town, but in food service, it’s just the same shit in a different location.  I’d go back to office work, but it depresses the hell out of me and makes my ass HUGE.  Plus there’s the money…I make more waiting tables than sitting in front of a computer.

Things get like this every year at this time.  The owners get tense because business is down, so they start looking for reasons why, and of course, it has to be the waitstaff.  The waitstaff feels the tension, and because they are short on cash also, they get resentful and start pointing fingers to set off a feeding frenzy of terminations.  Or they give up and think about quitting. 

Then April and May come along, business picks up and everyone wonders what the big deal was.  Every year in March I tell myself to shut up and keep my head down because, one month, just one more month, and things will be fine.  I think I’m going to have to up my meds to get through the next few weeks.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. skippymom
    Mar 21, 2011 @ 13:40:26

    Hang in there and just keep whispering your mantra. This is high school bullsh*t that is bein drummed up by drama queens – it is typical restaurant biz.

    Unfortunately – it is what it is. Since it is the job you want to have you have to work through it.

    Good luck.

    It won’t be different anywhere else and damned if I’m going to let the bastards run me off right before summer season.

    Reply

  2. Pyewacketcat
    Mar 21, 2011 @ 16:18:56

    That crap blows through all businesses from time to time, drama queens,idiots,etc… I’m a dog groomer and some days,because I’m 20 to 30 yrs older than the rest, I fell like you do, deer in the headlights. So I do what you do, put my head down and let it blow over ,for a while anyway. Because I don’t talk about the inane crap they do,and I don’t get manis’ or pedis’ every week like them,or go out and piss money away….I am the only one that owns their own house, and I love to garden,so I am the odd one out. I do like some of them,but it is stupid how the younger generation whines so much and takes so much for granted. At my age,in this day and age of the economy,I am just about willing to do things with them to bond . But I really go home and weed,and pretend it’s their pinheads I’m pulling off.
    I love my yard therapy…LOL
    Hang in there, and don’t let the bastards get you down!! You are better than that.

    This group of young people boggle my mind. I need a flow chart with a lot of arrows going everywhere to link up the relationships of who slept with whom, who is friends with whom, who hates each other, who’s related, and who can/can’t be in the same room together. It’s absurd. Darren needs to stop hiring people from this circle of (hell) friends.

    Reply

  3. DarcKnyt
    Mar 21, 2011 @ 16:37:47

    Sorry, that kind of drama every year sounds too much like contracting work to me and it makes me shudder. Backstabbing, lying, throwing each other under the bus… all too familiar. I hope I’ve left it behind and I don’t have any envy for those who haven’t.

    This is the worst it’s ever been and it’s making me crazy.

    On the upside, I couldn’t touch the salary I make waiting tables. Never.

    The way I look at it is I work part time, yet I make more than I would if I worked a full time office job. If I worked a few more hours, I would make more than I would for teaching school. Typically, I don’t have any stress or worry to take home with me, and that means a lot. As with every job, there are pros and cons. Until lately, the pros have outweighed the cons…

    Reply

  4. An Educated Server
    Mar 21, 2011 @ 17:42:33

    When I returned from my suspension at my restaurant job, I had to walk on eggshells for a while. It was very annoying at first, but after a while, I just got tired of it and went back to the original me. It’s not worth it to walk around making sure that you aren’t hurting people’s feelings. Now, I’m all about my money, and if it doesn’t have to do with me making my money, then I just let it pass. Plus, I have some dirt on a few people at my job, so if they do decide to make a dumb move and fire me, I can counter with a smart move of my own. 😉

    I sort of decided, ‘fuck ’em and let ’em eat fish heads’ last night. I know I’m good at what I do, and for now it’s going to be all about me and how much money I can make. I’m there to make the customers happy and I don’t really give a shit if my coworkers or the owners like me or not.

    Reply

  5. DarcsFalcon
    Mar 21, 2011 @ 23:41:25

    Just a week and a half left of the March madness and then things should get back to normal. Tourists will start to come through and work will get busy and frustrating in a different way. But with all new faces! 🙂

    Hang in there hon, this too shall pass. *hugs*

    Darren hired two new people who aren’t involved with the crazy circle of friends. I know both of them and we don’t have any issues so things should be much better soon.

    Reply

  6. Rachel
    Mar 22, 2011 @ 12:28:02

    Yeah—I have a college degree and I still wait tables on top of the ‘white collar’ job I have on the side (what can I say? 60 bucks in cash up front 3 days a week is a sweet deal…and, you’re right, it pays better than the useless paper pushing I do 5 days a week, anyhow). I love waiting tables. I love goofing around with restaurant staff (because there are no people like restaurant staff people), I love bitching about a-holes and shitty tips, and I love the cash. But I hate, HATE the cattyness that goes along with the job.

    Amen, sister!

    Reply

  7. trailerparkbarbie
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 06:07:29

    “I asked if I tried to pee on her or hump her.”

    hahaha…maybe, THAT’S the problem…she needs some peeing on or humping!

    I think the gossip mongers need peeing on. One of them is thisclose to getting fired and it can’t be soon enough.

    I love your blog, yellowcat and I’ve missed you, too. Ever since I started reading your blog, I seriously have a whole new respect for waitstaff…and I tip better!

    Thank you! I hope you are back to blogging. It’s good therapy for both the reader and the writer.

    Reply

  8. Ahmnodt Heare
    Mar 23, 2011 @ 19:02:18

    I’ll never forget what my mother told me the day I was fired as a movie theater manager: “Find your niche, and let them bitch.” I had mostly teenaged employees and few of them liked me because I tended to fire people who brought drama to the theater.

    That’s good advice.

    My mother said that quote because she had always encouraged me to work for myself. A lot of it was because of my father’s trials of moving up the corporate ladder. Some of it was her being happy with her business as a Tarot Card Reader.

    I’m too lazy to be self employed. I need someone to crack the whip.

    Reply

  9. The Restaurant Manager
    Mar 24, 2011 @ 11:41:37

    I hope everything works out! Sorry they are giving you so much trouble!

    It will work out one way or another. I’m not worrying about it anymore.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

