Busier Than A One Legged Man…

…in an ass kicking contest. That’s what I’ve been.

One of the new hires worked one day and quit. I never even met her so I can’t be blamed for it. She said waitresses don’t make very much money and she was hoping for a hostess position. Well, alrighty then. The average hostess makes about $8/hour and the average server makes around $25/hour in the summer, which is fast approaching. You do the math and tell me who is the dummy.

In Home news, I’ve been trying to clean out the back bedroom so I can move my bed back where it belongs instead of in the living room. It’s an odd sort of arrangement with a male roommate hanging out in what’s essentially my bedroom. The back bedroom has been a junk catch all for a year and a half so saying it’s messy is an understatement.

I bought a used couch yesterday so last night when I got off work I disassembled my bed, hauled the frame down the hall to the bedroom, reassembled it and managed to get Halo’s stash of trash cleaned up from under the bed before Rex, the Roommate got home. As soon as he walked in, I knew we were in for a wild ride. He’d been drinking…for about 5 hours. I told him we could move the couch in the morning, but he had to work, so we attempted to move a 6 foot couch, in the dark, up my rickety steps and into the house while one of us was impaired.

Apparently, Rex was not the impaired one. As soon as I said, “The couch doesn’t weigh much,” the weight shifted and both the couch and I hit the ground. Twice I fell down, once with the couch on me. I got the giggles. I sat on the ground and giggled while Rex sat on the couch and glared at me. He suggested we take 5 and try again.

After the break, I managed to get a grip on the couch and get it up the steps to the front door where it jammed. Rex said, “Move the end to the left…YOUR OTHER LEFT. Holy hell Glory, are YOU drunk, too?”

Maybe I should have been.

We finally got the couch in, covered in dirt, weeds and dead grass. I pulled the cover off, threw it in the washing machine and Rex took a nap.

Awwww...

I’ll bet the next time I mention moving furniture he either runs away or gets me liquored up.  HAHAHAHA!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. watergirl
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 15:48:31

    Drunk by association? 🙂
    :huggles:
    ~watergirl~

    I could have been…maybe that should be my excuse…

    Reply

  2. Abby Dunlap
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 16:31:19

    Okay, all I can think of is the Friends episode when Ross buys a couch, but refuses to pay to have it delivered. They’re trying to get it up the staircase and he keeps yelling, “Pivot! PiVOT!!! PIVOT!!!!”

    I’m sure I’ve seen that episode, but I don’t remember it. I need to rewatch Friends someday. That was a funny assed show.

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Mar 30, 2011 @ 22:39:16

    Yay for getting trash cleared out – that’s always a nice feeling. 🙂

    We’ve been in this house for 13 years and I have junk on top of junk. I feel lighter with every trip to the Dumpster.

    Thought he was moving out. I’m glad to hear he seems to be staying.

    Men are so weird. He was going to move out because he thought I didn’t want him here even though I asked him to move in. He has no immediate plans to move out now.

    Reply

  4. skippymom
    Mar 31, 2011 @ 05:49:34

    I laughed out loud at “I never met her so I can’t be blamed.” Yep! Pretty much one of my lines. Funny.

    When they told me she quit, that was the first thing out of my mouth. 🙂

    Nice couch. 😀

    I had a $700 couch that Maggie ripped to shreds so this time I picked a $75 one and the dogs are banned from being on it.

    Reply

  5. hira1animfefte
    Mar 31, 2011 @ 23:43:13

    @Holly- Yay for roommate staying! 🙂 (What is it with men reading signals we don’t give?)

    Men are dumb.

    I’ve also had those times when I was ‘drunk’ without being drunk. Punchy can be fun. ;P I’m pretty punchy now, which is why I just wrote an opus about Friends which I just deleted because it had absolutely nothing to do with what you posted.

    Long may your couch provide you with soft couchy goodness.

    @Abby- I remember that episode. That was one of the better ones. One of my dorm-mates in grad school had every season of Friends on DVD. I watched nearly all of them. I did miss a few. There were exams and papers and things that needed doing.

    Yes, I signed up for a WordPress account. I got tired of logging in fresh every time. It came with a blog. I’ll call it my blog-in-waiting. Surprisingly, nobody had claimed “The Fifth Plagal Tone.” Go figure…

    YAY!!!

    Reply

  6. watergirl
    Apr 01, 2011 @ 05:07:18

    I just moved out of my house after almost 12 years. It amazed me how much crap (and yes, I’m cleaning that up) I had gathered. It hurt to part with some stuff but it was needed. Am emotional as well as physical “spring cleaning”.

    Hope it refreshes you!
    :huggles:
    ~watergirl~

    It does make me feel good to get rid of it and to have a room I don’t sneer at every time I walk by it.

    Reply

  7. hira1animfefte
    Apr 01, 2011 @ 17:26:31

    How am I not the first Hira on WordPress, though? I am thoroughly peeved and peevishly miffed.

    That is a good question. :/

    I’m not ready to change blogs yet. At some point. I don’t hang on to blogs forever. I just don’t. I just leave them lying around the internet. I’m better than some I’ve seen, that have apparently started a blog and kept it for five minutes…and they have five blogs like this. Five blogs of two posts each. And I say, why, internet, why?

    I’ve had people comment on my blog, suggest their blog and when I checked it out they had one or two posts from months ago. Why?

    Fully agreed on the ‘Men are dumb’ point. Although I miss mine.

    That made my heart hurt. 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

