More Insanity

Last night I was taking an order from a table when I heard a man yell, “IF I SEE YOU DO THAT ONE MORE TIME, I’M GOING TO KICK YOUR FUCKING ASS!”

What?!

I looked around the restaurant.  There was the table I was standing at, I had another table down the row, Tana had 3 tables around the corner from me and Anna had 2 tables behind me.

I heard mumbling, then it happened again.  “I DON’T CARE WHOSE KID IT IS.  IF I SEE YOU HIT THAT KID ONE MORE TIME I’M GOING TO KICK YOUR FUCKING ASS!”

Oh shit.  When men start yelling, I have two responses:  fight or flight.  I chose flight, but since I couldn’t run I sat down at the table with my customers and hid.

More mumbling.  “I DON’T GIVE A SHIT.  ALL YOU’VE DONE SINCE YOU GOT HERE IS HIT THAT KID AND SHE’S WHAT, LESS THAN A YEAR OLD.  I’M TELLING YOU, IF YOU DON’T KNOCK IT OFF, I’M GOING TO KICK YOUR MOTHERFUCKING ASS!”

I managed to get my table’s order then I ran for the waitstation.

Apparently, two women were wacking on a little kid and the three guys at the adjacent table took offense.  The SW was in the waitstation and we huddled together wondering what the fuck we were supposed to do.  Was it going to be an all out brawl?  She was in a skirt (just came from her son’s  piano recital) and I only make $2.50/hr.  I’m not getting my nose poked for that, and she was hardly dressed for a fight.  We discussed what we should do and decided we should hide.

The women requested a different table, the men called the police, and finally the SW and I grew some balls and went back out in the dining room.  She went to talk to both parties, I went to wait on my tables.  Nothing like dinner and a show.

The women were two disgusting creatures; young, dirty, unkempt, fat rolls hanging out everywhere.  The men were working class, my age, and fairly respectable looking.  The women first blamed the restaurant staff for the altercation.  They said one of the servers should have stepped in and told the men to leave them alone.  The thing is, the restaurant staff sided with the men.  If you’re wacking on a little kid, you need your fucking ass kicked.  They said they would never come back to the restaurant because of how they were treated.  Good.  Take your filthy, kid slapping, nasty asses somewhere else.

The real kicker in all this is when the police arrived, they sided with the women.  They didn’t care that a little kid got slapped around, they were concerned that a man threatened a woman.  WTF?!  The officer (who is a huge douchebag) asked if the security cameras had audio because he wanted to hear the threat and follow through with that.  The SW told him he could see the women hitting the child on the tape, but he wasn’t interested in that shit.  As soon as the SW relayed that information to us, the entire staff became deaf mutes.  We hadn’t heard anything.  Fuck you.

What is wrong with people and why do I constantly see the biggest assholes on earth?

17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lauren
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 13:42:50

    holy shit! what an asshole cop! I’m glad you all became deaf mutes, and you should turn over the security camera tape to child services, not the cops. Child services will actually do something to stop it

    The whole system here sucks ass. No one does anything.

    Reply

  2. Bohemian Server
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 14:58:57

    Ditto on Lauren’s advice – someone might want to anonymously and accidentally dial the wrong number, and lo and behold, that wrong number might happen to be to the local CPS agency!

    I don’t think we have CPS here. We have Family Services and for the most part, they hand out food stamps.

    Reply

  3. skippymom
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 16:12:53

    It’s too bad the cops were so stupid. Rare that they would side with child abuse, but I guess a defenseless baby isn’t as important as the violent woman who was “threatened”. The cop probably figured it was waste of time to take her in because CPS would let her off, but if the video of the guy had audio he had a chance of making a case.

    I wish you knew who they were so you could take Lauren’s great advice and send the tape to CPS because if they are doing that in public, imagine what they do at home. ::cringe::

    You know it’s much worse at home. I’ve seen so much borderline child abuse in the restaurant. People don’t care…it’s their kid and they will do as they damned well please.

    Reply

  4. DarcKnyt
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 16:40:05

    I don’t know why you always see them. I’ve been asking that for months now — they ALL seem to show up at your restaurant. In your section. On your shift. ALWAYS. Weird.

    I’m not making any of this up. Even the people I work with know if shit’s going to get crazy, it’s going to be in my section. These people weren’t in my section and for that I’m thankful.

    Reply

  5. TheIdiotSpeaketh
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 17:19:08

    You need to contact A&E or the Discovery Channel. Your Restaurant would make a heck of a good reality show…..something new every week! I would watch it!

    Aww…the fame would go to my head. 🙂

    Reply

  6. watergirl
    Apr 03, 2011 @ 22:31:58

    IMNSHO: Calling the cops would have been the best course of action, right from the start. If there’s no audio, make a copy of the tape and let the cops have the copy. Make a second copy for CPS.

    Normally, I hate when a nose gets poked into business it doesn’t belong in, but in a case of (what appears to be clear cut) child abuse, hell yeah I’d be on the phone to CPS.

    As for the cops wanting to keelhaul the guy who made the threats, that common practice. What? You spoke against a weak and sensitive female? How dare you?! Clap the bastard in irons!

    People. Suck. (Sometimes)

    We don’t have an easily accessible child protection service here so calling the cops is really the only option. We all thought there would be better results and maybe the cop called Family Services after he left the restaurant and maybe he didn’t. It just seemed pretty fruitless and it sent a lesson to the guys who called for help: no good deed goes unpunished.

    :huggles:
    ~watergirl~

    Reply

  7. DarcsFalcon
    Apr 04, 2011 @ 00:50:23

    Kids neither vote nor pay taxes, so no one really cares what happens to them. They’re always the last ones to be considered, sadly.

    Yep.

    I’m with the reality show aspect. Although, now that I think about it, seeing how your customers are on a regular day, can you imagine how they’d behave if they knew they might be on TV? Oh my!

    I would end up stabbing someone.

    Reply

    • Kiddoc
      Apr 06, 2011 @ 22:46:33

      That’s exactly what I was gonna say. Unfortunately, even if it was reported to CPS, chances are that absolutely nothing would be done about it. I’m a pediatrician and they don’t even take ME seriously half the time. It just makes me sick. But it’s just as you say: kids don’t pay taxes and they don’t vote.

      But don’t report one case one time and see what happens to your license.

      Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment!

      Reply

  8. wigsf
    Apr 04, 2011 @ 04:10:49

    A nose poking??? Yeah, for that kind of kink, 2.50/hr is waa-aay too low.

    $3.50/hr and I’m in, though.

    Reply

  9. Ahmnodt Heare
    Apr 04, 2011 @ 13:26:50

    A stupid cop is worse than no cop at all. The man does the right thing and he gets in trouble. Some will say that the guy shouldn’t have threatened the women. But when someone hits a child, that logic goes out the window and someone has to be taught a lesson then and there.

    I’m sure all they learned was to not interfere and to turn a blind eye to future child abuse.

    Reply

  10. Anton
    Apr 04, 2011 @ 15:17:39

    Shit like that kills me. I worked for some years on the Child Abuse hotline in my state. I still remember a woman who witnessed someone hurt their child in a store, who felt unable to actually physically stop the situation and didn’t receive any help from the business. She was amazing – she managed to learn the woman’s name by shadowing her at the register and glimpsing her credit card and then followed her out of the store to get the license plate of her car, so we would have some information to start a search.

    I’ve got all in-your-face-and-nasty with people manhandling their kids in stores. I don’t let that shit slide. Unfortunately, we don’t have much of a child protection service out here.

    Reply

  11. Sparty Girl
    Apr 05, 2011 @ 07:12:29

    Oh. My. God.

    I don’t so much wonder why this stuff happens on your shift… what I want to know is what else happens when you’re NOT around? Now that’s a scary thought.

    Same shit/different witness. I’m not kidding.

    Reply

  12. Nycgirl
    Apr 05, 2011 @ 15:41:18

    I love those three men for at least trying to stop those horrible women. That may very well be the only kindness that little girl ever receives. What is WRONG with people???? Another reason why people should need a license to procreate.

    Yes they should.

    Reply

  13. Jen-nay
    Apr 05, 2011 @ 17:11:35

    I would have bought those guys their dinner. Or at least a drink. Seriously.

    I didn’t even think of it.

    Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment!

    Reply

  14. izziedarling
    Apr 09, 2011 @ 13:21:16

    You see them because they just left my area 😦

    Unfortunately, wherever you go, there those people are. 😦

    Reply

  15. fornormalstepfathers
    Apr 10, 2011 @ 18:30:10

    It depends what you believe in – if you are a fan of “opposites attract,” then you are the smallest asshole in the world 🙂 Well, if you think that you attract on the outside what you are inside…well..then 🙂

    I attract assholes…lots and lots of assholes.

    It is so tragic that everybody is allowed to have children.My heart goes out to that kid.

    Hopefully this incident gets them some help.

    Cheers!

    Reply

  16. Chunky Mama
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 00:54:48

    If I weren’t already married, I’d be asking you to hunt down that man’s name and number. Sounds like a guy worth grabbing.

    I think they were all married and probably had older kids, which is why they were so offended.

    And, that sucks. Police and the stupid women. Fuckers.

    Amen!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

