Random Tidbits

It’s been a pretty uneventful few days, which is good for my mental well being, but bad for blogging.  All I have are bits and pieces of gossip and/or news.

Random Tidbit #1.  The SW worked Saturday night and we had a slew of food complaints.  I’m glad she was there to see the crap some of the cooks turn out on a regular basis.

Random Tidbit #2.  The more I get to know the SW the more I like her.  She’s funny.  She’s willing to ask our opinions and learn.  She’s making some good changes.  Who knows, I may even use her real name someday.

Random Tidbit #3.  Rumour has it someone in the 20 year old set tested positive for HIV.  This news has caused a mass panic of HIV testing since no one is in a relationship; everyone just gets a turn.  I wonder if they can get a group rate.

Random Tidbit #4.  I’ve been doing Pilates randomly with a friend.  We aim for 3 days a week, but…well…shit happens.  Last week I was able to do something I hadn’t been able to do and today I did something else that I couldn’t do last week.  I feel a little proud of myself.

Random Tidbit #5.  The Man Candy and I have lived together for a little over a month now.  I’m happier today than I was yesterday, but not as happy as I will be tomorrow.  Life is good!

Random Tidbit #6.  The Man Candy likes documentaries and educational shows.  My TV habits are like what an overweight kid picks out in a convenience store…junk, pure junk.  I’ve learned about Mark Twain, mountain climbing, Lewis & Clark, Lafayette, Thomas Jefferson, southern rednecks, UFOs, evil, and the Mayan calendar.  I’ve relearned the Civil War, and all its generals and commanders, the Battle of the Little Big Horn, and settling the West.  Last night my Pilates buddy asked what I was doing and I said I was watching a show on General Lee.  She responded with, “The 69 Charger?  I loved that show!  I had a Dukes of Hazard Big Wheel!”  Uh…

Random Tidbit #7.  DO NOT watch Black Swan with your roommate!  I was soooo freaking embarrassed, and it wasn’t that great of a movie.

Cheers!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rachel
    Apr 11, 2011 @ 13:48:46

    Hum–Black Swan sounded like too much hype to me. Actually, it looked to me like a tedious movie that advertised itself as ‘sensual’ and ‘dark’ and about ‘ballet’ in order to get uneducated people to watch it and gush over how *smart* it was.

    You pretty much summed it up. It was tedious and it was less about ballet than about some uptight, too skinny chick going batshit insane. Jack Nicholson did the decent into madness much better in The Shining…hell, Jack does it better just getting up in the morning.

    As for the AIDS thing–I don’t judge people’s sex lives, I really don’t. You can hump a man, a woman, a roomful of both sexes at the same time, I don’t care. You could be celibate or have fifty lovers, I have more important issues in life to worry about. The ONLY thing I judge is people who have irresponsible sex (ie, unprotected sex with someone they hardly know…or worse KNOW to be ‘easy’), and then can’t buh-live it when they get sick. It’s still very sad that someone that young got AIDS, and I feel for those who are panicing (because that sounds like a hell of a thing to panic over); but really…horrible things like that aren’t that hard to avoid in a first world country.

    There really is no excuse for irresponsible sex. I was SHOCKED when I started piecing together who has slept with whom in this circle of friends. I would draw you a chart, but there would be so many crisscrossing lines it would just be a black spot. I guess they’ve also added sharing needles into this mix and that is just fucking stupid.

    I highly doubt anyone tested HIV positive, but maybe it will give them enough of a scare to invest in some condoms, morals and needles.

    Reply

  2. skippymom
    Apr 11, 2011 @ 13:57:08

    “I wonder if they can get a group rate.”

    😦

    Sad, but true.

    Reply

  3. paulac7
    Apr 11, 2011 @ 18:24:29

    Glad the hear the SW is turning out to be some actual help. Especially good that she is willing to ask questions/opinions and learn, instead of acting like the “voice of God”.

    I was afraid she was going to be the “voice of God” in a totally clueless way, but she’s doing good things.

    Sounds like your life is going really well for now, and you deserve it!! I’ve never tried Pilates, but heard that it works really well.

    It hurts me. 😦

    BTW–when I watch TV, I usually watch the History Channel, or Discovery, also, as I like the educational stuff, but usually I have the TV tuned to one of the Sirius music channels instead.

    Kind of scary about the HIV thing, but I laughed my ass off about the ‘group rate’ thing. Makes me glad I am old and cranky, and don’t have to deal with that stuff anymore……

    I thought people had stopped that sort of irresponsible shit…I mean, they grew up with the knowledge drilled into their heads.

    Thanks again for your blog–and I finally read the whole thing–the pics of Yellowstone are gorgeous!! Nothing around my neck of the woods but rednecks, of which I am one….(I even play the banjo–how scary is that??)

    HAHAHA! Thanks for reading everything! That’s dedication.

    >^.^<

    Reply

  4. MICHELE NYC
    Apr 11, 2011 @ 18:52:25

    uh… you ain’t right! (giggle)

    Which is why we get along so well 🙂

    Reply

  5. Malachi the Cocktail Slinger
    Apr 11, 2011 @ 19:46:26

    You are NOT right at all yellowcat!!! I loved the “group rate comment” and having been one of the young and dumb ones once upon a time when I was wild and crazy who had an HIV scare, I know it’s not easy but I do laugh about it too. I’m twisted like that =)

    I’m so old I remember when HIV/AIDS was a new disease. We discussed it at Easter dinner at my college roommate’s brother’s house. Oh, how little we knew…

    Glad to hear everything is great with S.W.! And what’s up with Black Swan? Is it grotesquely raunchy or sumfin?

    Black Swan is tedious. I was expecting all sorts of dancing, beautiful costumes, grace, and art with a touch of madness. What I got was some asshole telling an uptight girl to “touch herself” if she wanted the lead role in the ballet. Whatthefuckever.

    Reply

  6. DarcsFalcon
    Apr 11, 2011 @ 22:58:24

    So … what’s happening with the MC tomorrow that’s going to have you happier than today? Hmmm? 😉

    It’s a paraphrased line from an old song. Tomorrow is just another day, but I’m pretty sure it’s going to be a good one.

    Glad things have been relatively quiet. 🙂

    Meeee tooooo!

    Reply

  7. Ahmnodt Heare
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 11:36:38

    As far as TV is concerned, I watch news and sports. Sports is rarely repeats and the news has new stuff once in a while.

    Ugh! Two of the things I hate. When the MC moved in I told him the one thing he couldn’t do was turn on the news and leave it playing for hours and hours and hours. If he wants the news he can go to the bar or he can look on the computer. That I don’t have live TV really helps my ban. I would stab someone if I had to listen to the news for more than 3 minutes.

    I’d rather eat glass than watch a movie about Ballet. But I guess being a man, that should be expected.

    I like movies about grace and beauty and the things we can do with our bodies. I see more grace and beauty of movement in one episode of Buffy than I did in 2 hours of that crap.

    Reply

  8. Sparty Girl
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 11:55:17

    I like a little of everything in my TV… junk is good, some of my favorite shows are fairly mindless. I love mysteries, and really enjoy Masterpiece Mystery. Documentaries can be great, but it depends on the subject. I also like Jeopardy! (I’m a geek, I know).

    My TV tastes run to things like medical dramas (Grey’s Anatomy, House) comedies (The Office, Cheers) forensic dramas (Bones, Criminal Minds, Lie to Me) and weird crap (Buffy, Angel, True Blood, Dexter). I don’t do reality TV since no one’s life is more interesting than my own. 🙂

    I’m glad you’re sailing on tranquil waters.

    So am I!

    Reply

  9. savingmalachi
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 13:29:45

    I was down with Grey’s Anatomy until the most recent episode and I liked to stab somebody, it was so bad. I do like Dexter and I love true blood, I can’t wait for it this summer!

    I liked the musical episode of Grey’s. The first full song Callie sang was the one they played when Denny (my future husband) died. I bawled like a sissy girl.

    Reply

  10. workingtechmom
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 19:10:41

    I was watching Black Swan on a plane last week and had an 8 year old girl sitting next to me…and you know how close the seats are. I had to fast forward through the dark/twisted/sexual crap and I kept worrying that she would see it. Very odd movie. I also expected more dancing and more storyline about the people who are dancers.

    For a minute I thought they were showing it on the plane and I had a moment of absolute horror. 🙂 It just wasn’t as good as I thought it would be.

    So good to hear all your happy thoughts. May tomorrow be another blessing.

    Thank you!

    Reply

  11. Hira Animfefte
    Apr 25, 2011 @ 10:42:40

    Your review of Black Swan made my day. 🙂

    Did you see it? I was utterly disappointed.

    Also: poor confused twentysomethings! It reminds me of the tv show Friends. Except they never had an episode of Friends with an HIV scare. Can you picture that? HIV scare…and hilarity ensues…? Yeah, me neither.

    HAHA! Yeah, I don’t see the hilarity either other than the eyerolling type. Some of them are still up to their bad choices…test came back negative so party on until it’s positive, I guess.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

