Change Isn’t Always Bad

The SW has instituted some changes that have several people up in arms about the extra work.

Duh.

One thing is writing every single thing on tickets so the tickets can be audited.  I’m not crazy about this since I seldom write my drinks down.  If it’s charged on the printout, why do I have to take the time to write it on the hard copy?  It slows me down and I think it might be making me dumber, if that’s possible.  They want everything accounted for and I understand that, but it’s still annoying.

Food costs are at 43% and the owners want to know why.  When food costs are that high it means either food is going out the back door or servers aren’t charging for everything.  Or…servers are giving out free food to their friends.  We now have to sign in our first ticket and sign out our last ticket with no tickets missing in between.  This is pretty standard at most restaurants and it’s no big deal for me since I use a folder for my tickets, and I don’t use them as scratch paper.  The biggest complaints are from the managers because they have to do all the paperwork.  Everyone is hoping this system doesn’t last long.

Food complaints are hard to track.  If I get more than one complaint on, say, the baby backs, I tell the other servers and mention it to the kitchen/manager.  Everyone knows for the night that there is a problem with the babies, but it ends there.  We now have a sheet in the waitstation to note the complaint and the date.  This was sort of my idea to allow us to see trends over time.  If we consistently have complaints on something, we can either fix the problem or switch vendors.  I did verify that the sheet was for food complaints only because I don’t want to see a shitload of “Glory sucks ass!” complaints hanging on the cooler.  Someone might get ideas about replacing me.

I have other ideas for the summer, such as food runners and table helpers, but I will ease into these.  They will be more people we have to tip out, but I believe they will increase our tips and keep the dining room from turning into a gigantic clusterfuck, as is usually the case.  Before much longer it will be hard to determine whether my coworkers hate me or the SW more.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. skippymom
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 13:28:12

    I have never worked at a place we didn’t have to sign in and sign out our tickets. It definitely keeps track of food because you can’t give out free food. Then again the POS tickets do the same thing. [I am from the old school. We wrote on our tickets and then we put them in the computer and they were printed right on them.]

    That’s the system we use and the kitchen can’t cook anything without a printed ticket.

    And what is a table helper? It SOUNDS self explanatory, but it also sounds like a busboy / food runner.

    Someone to prebus and refill drinks. Our busboys only clean tables.

    Reply

  2. TheIdiotSpeaketh
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 14:49:03

    You would be a good supervisor or manager….though I bet you probably make more as a server huh?

    I’ve been offered a management position about 50 times and I want nothing to do with it. I want to make my money and go home. I do not want to work 12 hours a day for less than I make in 5.

    Reply

  3. wigsf
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 15:33:45

    Who are you and how did you hack into yellowcat’s blogging account?

    HAHAHA! It is a strange post from me, huh?

    Reply

  4. DarcKnyt
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 16:49:52

    Interesting to see the behind-the-scenes look at the food service industry. For one thing, when I was a kid I used to see friends take a pizza order, and when their friends paid, they’d give back all but about two bucks in change. Interesting they got a way with it.

    I went to a playoff game and someone ratted me out and I got fired. While I regret getting caught, my team won the game, and ultimately, the Super Bowl. Heh. It was worth it.

    I really don’t think the servers are doing anything because it is so hard to cheat the system. At most, we can forget to charge for drinks and desserts, but nothing comes out of the kitchen without a ticket.

    Reply

  5. theblonde
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 17:54:02

    I’m sorry, maybe I missed the post, but WHAT does SW stand for??

    It’s from one of my password protected posts. I’ll email you the password.

    Also, we had a problem with our girls giving away free food and throwing out the checks, so we had to sign in our first/last check numbers for a while. But as we got rid of the bad apples, the policies relaxed a bit.

    We had one server who also had cashier status and she was canceling checks and keeping the cash. The only people who can cancel tickets are cashiers and it should set off a red flag if a shit ton of food is being canceled out every day.

    Reply

  6. DarcsFalcon
    Apr 12, 2011 @ 22:51:12

    Sometimes you just have to get to the bottom of things. Hopefully they’ll figure it out soon, find that no one has been stiffing the restaurant, and things can get back to normal.

    I hope so because this system will be madness in the summer.

    Usually, the ones “working the floor” have a good idea of what sorts of things can be improved upon, since they’re the front line with the customers. Maybe they’ll implement some of your ideas. 🙂

    I’ve known for a really long time how to make the FOH run more smoothly in the summer, but no one will listen to me. I think now someone will.

    Reply

  7. Ahmnodt Heare
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 12:17:51

    Could it be that a portion of food costs being 48% are because of the increased cost of food? it could be a steady increase in portion size. Just brainstorming here.

    The cooks have to portion things now…they haven’t been doing that for a long time. We are raising menu prices to offset the increase in food costs. I doubt anyone is being dishonest, its more likely that it is a number of things adding up to a shocking amount.

    Reply

  8. Lauren
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 12:43:37

    Just keep in mind that more people to tip out only works if it’s actually busy enough to justify having them. On a slow night, you still have to tip out these people, which can kill you if you’ve only have five or six tables. so be prepared for the bitching from all the other servers about the extra tip out

    We don’t have slow nights in the summer. From May until September it’s balls to the walls every night.

    Reply

  9. paulac7
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 12:47:07

    43% Food Cost–YIKES!!!! We catch hell if it’s over about 26% (used to be the bookkeeper in the fine establishment I now work in). Ours has been high, too, but that’s due to the staff thinking that it’s not a restaurant, but a free soup kitchen. I ratted a bunch of the little assholes out to the GM (She’s a really good friend of mine), and watched the nifty fireworks that resulted. (yeah, I’m a bitch that way)…..

    I have a feeling some of the cooks don’t pay for their food or they mess something up on purpose so they can eat it for free. Still…that wouldn’t make that much difference.

    I already know 90 percent of the staff hates me, but I get more entertainment out of it, than anything, as I really don’t care who likes me at work–I am there to WORK (maybe that’s why I have no friends LOL).

    I always say I’m there to work, not to make friends, but somehow I still make friends. Strange.

    Your ideas sound plausible to me. (back in the dark ages, I was a restaurant manager, then realized they couldn’t pay me enough to shovel all the shit that was handed each day).

    My feelings exactly. I’d rather work and go home than be accountable for all the bullshit that goes on each and every day.

    Have a good one!!

    >^.^<

    Reply

  10. workingtechmom
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 19:05:36

    You are definitely thinking! I hope nobody writes “Glory sucks ass”. Busy season coming so hang in there.

    I’m known to get the most complaints, but I’m also known to have really high tip percentages. It’s sorta like the former Rockies baseball player who was knicknamed Big Cat…he led the league in strike-outs, but he also had a huge number of home runs.

    Reply

  11. zmanowner
    Apr 16, 2011 @ 12:38:23

    Sounds like the Cat, is taking control of the house little by little. Good on ya, you deserve to run that madhouse the way you see fit.

    I’ve been asked many times to be a supervisor or manager. I decline because things are going to go my way anyway and I don’t have the stress.

    If I am ever their I promise never to complain, just please no ketchup on the hot dogs eewwww thats gross.

    Our ketchup has a fermenting problem so I don’t recommend it to anyone. Barf.

    Go kick some ass..Alice…..(linda lavin alice reference right there)..zman sends

    I’m old enough to remember that show. How sad is that?

    Reply

  12. Hira Animfefte
    Apr 25, 2011 @ 10:34:10

    I feel like i should know this, but what does the FOH stand for?

    Kick some ass, Glory. 🙂

    FOH is front of the house…servers, cashiers, hostesses, busers.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

