No Matter Where You Go (Repost)

In honour of starting a new job, I want to repost something from almost a year ago that took place where I will be working soon.  I didn’t bring the comments from the original post, but you can read those gems if you go to May 8, 2010.  –Cheers!

Yesterday I had lunch at a restaurant where a friend works.  Sunni used to work with me, but after 5 years at the Harribalsac, she burned out and had to find a different set of people.  Where she works now is a nice restaurant; linen napkins, tablecloths, a wine list, and an expensive menu.  The servers all wear black pants and white shirts, tasteful jewelry and appropriate footwear.  It’s pretty much the exact opposite of where I work.

As I was enjoying my pasta dish, a couple came in for lunch and before the door closed they started asking no one in particular, “Can we have a booth?  We want a booth.  Is it possible to get a booth?  Can we have a booth?”  Sunni greeted them and took them to a booth in the back.  I heard them say, “We don’t want this booth, can we have one up front?”

“Up front” is right next to the kitchen under this awning type thing where the buffet used to be and, to me, it is the least desirable place to sit.  What do I know.  Sunni offered them a choice of the two booths and brought them their drinks.

The woman complained that the table was wobbly and asked if Sunni could fix it.  Sunni went to the storeroom and found two thin pieces of cardboard, which she folded to place under the table leg.  She got down on her hands and knees, crawled under the table and wedged the cardboard under it.  She stood up and asked the woman to test the table.  The woman said, “It’s still wobbly.  How many pieces of cardboard did you put under there?”  When Sunni told her two, the woman suggested she try it with one.

Sunni got back on her hands and knees, crawled under the table and removed one of the cardboard pieces.  She stood up and asked how the table was.  The woman complained it was still wobbly and asked Sunni to find a different type of cardboard.  Right about then, an evil chuckle escaped my lips and I had to put my head down on the table.  I heard Sunni hiss, “Shut up, Glory.”

Sunni went into the kitchen and came out with a thick piece of cardboard, which she wedged under the table, again by getting on her hands and knees and crawling under the table.  The woman complained that it was the worst piece of cardboard yet and Sunni should put the first two pieces of cardboard back.  Once more on the hands and knees and under the table.

By this time I was nearly under my table laughing at this blatant display of assholery.  The first time the woman complained about the table I would have said, “That is why we don’t seat people at these booths.  Would you like to move to a booth in the back?”

This goes to show, no matter where you go, no matter how fancy the place, people are always willing to be assholes to the hired help.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcsFalcon
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 00:56:16

    LOL I remember this one! What a difference a year makes, huh?

    Well, the awning thing is gone and has been replaced by a beautiful mahogany bar. We’ll see about the quality of customers.

    Reply

  2. DarcsFalcon
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 00:57:05

    PS – Like the new theme too. 🙂

    Thanks! I thought I needed a new look.

    Reply

  3. Rachel
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 15:30:19

    Damn–Sunni sounds too nice. You never ask assholes how something is after you bend over backwards for them; if they keep on having those problems, you passive-aggressively take out 10 different chunks of cardboard on a drink tray and ask them to pick out the ones that they would find most comfortable. Though, I think the hint would fly right over that woman’s bitchy skull.

    Sunni is much nicer than I am. There’s no way I would have crawled around under the table.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

