Disappointing Fire School Weekend

Last night was the first night of Fire School (search Fire School for other posts).  There were 5 servers when 3 could have handled it.  The SW alternated between wringing her hands in the food window wondering where the firemen were, annoying the shit out of the customers we did have, and being condescending to the waitstaff by telling them what they already know.  Three out of 5 servers were ready to knife her.  

Yeah, you aren’t making any money, but neither are WE.  You insist on being overstaffed so everyone leaves “really, really happy and tells their friends to come in” but WE are going broke.  Poor servers don’t tend to overly happy.

They held Fire School at the end of April this year rather than the 1st weekend in May and it looks like a big mistake.  The motels were empty, we were no busier than a normal Friday night, and the bars were pretty dead when I drove by after work.  I made ok money, but last year I averaged $30/hr and this year I averaged $15/hr.  I’m going out on a limb here and saying changing the dates was a bad idea.

I think Darren got a good hard look at what’s going to be left behind when I leave.

  • “The Coors Light is leaking.  It’s been leaking all day.”  Me:  Did anyone try to fix it?  “I dunno.”  Darren tightened the bolt on the wall, problem solved.
  • BCZ’s first day back found him in jail.  Again.  Either Darren or the business had to come up with bail money to get him out so he could work.
  • Servers who have worked for a month and should know the menu & call back list, don’t.
  • Anna got stuck training someone, with no notice, on what was supposed to be a hella busy night.  I thought she was going to have a heart attack.

I had a serene smile on my face through it all because I know the drama, disorganization, uncontrolled chaos, and utter bullshit is over for me.  Every time I saw someone doing something wrong or being an idiot, I just smiled and thought, “Just a few more days…”

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Apr 30, 2011 @ 14:48:36

    So… they GAVE you your job back after all? Interesting! Bummer about the non-busy week of fire school though. I wonder why the dates make any difference in whether they come to that restaurant or not?

    Yep, got my job back for a week.

    It wasn’t that the firemen weren’t at our restaurant, it was that they weren’t in town. I don’t think as many came for the school.

    Reply

  2. MICHELE NYC
    Apr 30, 2011 @ 15:52:28

    has SW said anything to you about your leaving the job?

    Not at all. I can think of three reasons why not:

    1. She doesn’t want to know the truth.
    2. The business is failing and it has to be someone’s fault. I’m the reason no one comes in.
    3. She feels betrayed.

    It doesn’t matter to me which one it is.

    Reply

  3. skippymom
    Apr 30, 2011 @ 16:36:17

    Sorry it isn’t as busy as years past – it just seems the economy is never going to bounce back. Sigh. I blame gas prices this go ’round.

    Gas prices are bad around here, but I hear they are going to get worse. 😦 I might have to buy a moped to get back and forth to work.

    I suspect you are going to be receiving a phone call from Darren in a few weeks asking you back. I would love to be there for that. 🙂

    I doubt it because it’s all about pride now…cut off your nose to spite your face and all that jazz.

    Reply

  4. theblonde
    Apr 30, 2011 @ 19:25:32

    I am so glad someone else gets this. Overstaffing may sound like a good idea in theory so “everyone gets taken great care of!” but I’ve found that when we have too many people on, we tend to make more mistakes. A busy server is usually one that is on point and manages to get things done, while one that’s bored will be out back smoking, eating, and will make more silly errors.

    I do the dumbest stuff when we are slow. I don’t like to be so busy that I’m throwing food at people, but staring at the ceiling gets a little old.

    Reply

  5. Rachel
    Apr 30, 2011 @ 20:06:58

    I wouldn’t have stuck it out a few more days…you’re a bigger woman than me.

    I need the money, otherwise I wouldn’t have bothered to drive over on Thursday.

    I feel you on the overstaffed thing, though. Tonight was as dead as hell. They had so many fucking servers on the floor that most of us had 3 top sections. During the dinner rush, it could have been a half hour before we got sat…or longer. And, of course, they can’t just make cuts or anything crazy like that at 8:15 after a full day of deadness….no. You have to keep staff on making 2.15 an hour until at least 9, just to make sure your servers love you and want the best things to happen to your business.

    Servers are a loving and caring bunch when they are making $2.15/hr. What’s worse is the constant begging and bitching by servers to be cut. Shut the hell up or I’ll cut you!

    Reply

  6. Sparty Girl
    May 01, 2011 @ 11:07:48

    “Just a few more days…” You can handle anything for another week.

    I agree you’ll get a call once the real summer rush starts and they can’t find their a$$ with both hands. I’d love to hear that, too. When it happens you be sure and tell us, won’t you? 🙂

    I doubt they will call because of their pride and they know there’s no way in hell I’ll come back. I don’t ‘go back’ to anything when I’m finished.

    Reply

  7. Jill
    May 02, 2011 @ 12:13:09

    I’m so happy that you have another job to go to! You will be happier soon! I agree with the others who say you will get a call begging you to come back. Hopefully, it won’t come until you’ve had a full two weeks at the new job so you will know whether to laugh in his face (over the phone) or to actually consider what it might take to make you go back.

    I won’t go back. Everytime I get a vision of the new restaurant in my head I get a big smile on my face. There is so much shit I won’t have to deal with at the new place.

    Reply

  8. Hira Animfefte
    May 02, 2011 @ 19:54:51

    I am so happy that you are leaving! So much BS you’ll never have to deal with again! 🙂

    Whatever did BCZ get busted for this time?

    I have no idea & no one’s talking. Then again, I haven’t cared enough to ask.

    Reply

  9. DarcsFalcon
    May 02, 2011 @ 21:07:36

    That serene smile – isn’t it a great feeling? Now you’re over the wrenching feelings and can focus on leaving, and starting your new job. It’ll be different, sure, but not so different that you won’t be able to get it nailed down inside of a week. 🙂

    I get more excited about it every day!

    Sorry to hear about Fire Week. Note to groups like that – don’t mess with success!

    The second night was better, but the town was still dead.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

