Eight Days Left

Yeah, you read that right.

More servers quit and Darren can’t hire them fast enough.  I reminded him that I did say I would work until the 15th, so he took me up on the offer.  Then I said the stupidest thing:  “If you need me for one or two days a week until you get things under control, I can do that as well.”  Jamie should award me the Dumbass Stamp of the Week.  Oh well, I now have more days to list the things I won’t miss about the Harribalsac.

Things I Won’t Miss

2.  The fucking side dishes.  Customers at the new place get salad and bread with their entrees.  The end.  If they order a steak or burger they can have fries or pasta.  The end.  I will not have to ask every single person at a table what they want for their side dishes.  I will not have to say, “You get two sides with that” only to hear, “I’ll have corn.”  AND FOR YOUR OTHER FUCKING SIDE?!  I will not have my belief that people are too stupid to live confirmed every day.  I mean, if you can’t count to two, you probably shouldn’t be out in public unsupervised.  Best of all, I will not have to fight with people about substituting the side dishes for the fucking salad bar.  

Feel the joy!

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sparty Girl
    May 04, 2011 @ 14:01:39

    Ooooh, YES the Dumbass Stamp of the Week! If I was there I would take you by your shoulders and shake you until you saw sense. Rrrr….

    1. I don’t have any problem with you working an extra week for the money, although I think you really deserve a vacation before summer season starts. I DO have problem with you volunteering to work extra to help those jerks out.

    2. I could seriously throttle you for volunteering to go back 1 or 2 days a week “until they have things under control”. What were you thinking? They are NOT your problem anymore. Let them suffer.

    *smack* *smack* *smack*

    I know. It’s horrible. I need to go to Harribalsac Anonymous.

    Reply

  2. Bohemian Server
    May 04, 2011 @ 16:27:09

    Ditto to every single damn word Sparty Girl just said.

    Don’t hold on because you’re scared of the new and untried. Give yourself wholly to the new place. Jump into it, feet first, head second. (Ever read any philosophy? Take Kierkegaard’s advice on “leap of faith.”) You have a lot of people behind you, all rooting for your success, and most knowing how we have to leave behind those places that we have outgrown (or that have become toxic to us).

    The Bohemian

    I bought some clothes for the new place today and I’m soooo excited and totally geeked out about it. I have guilt issues and have trouble leaving those who need to be left. The saying, “Don’t beat a dead horse” was coined for me.

    Reply

  3. barwrench
    May 04, 2011 @ 16:47:24

    I am always amazed (and highly pissed) at myself at how I will bend over backwards for a place of employment that basically fucked me. Their loss. Love your blog and can’t wait to hear about your (mis)adventures at the new place.

    I have a long history of kissing the ass of those who fuck me. Some day I’ll get over it.

    Reply

  4. thelifeofjamie
    May 04, 2011 @ 18:05:52

    I won’t give you dumbass stamp of the week, but I will give you the Dumbass who feels guilty so she is putting some extra dollars in her pocket stamp…makes her a good person and a little dumb! 🙂

    I need the money, not going to lie, but I’m also a dumbass.

    Reply

  5. DarcKnyt
    May 04, 2011 @ 19:23:34

    Hurray for less to remember! BOO for being a DORK and doing more work for a sh!tpot.

    *hanging my head in shame*

    Reply

  6. Hira Animfefte
    May 04, 2011 @ 20:41:00

    More money good, more time at the Harribalsac bad. Remember: you owe them nothing! Nothing!

    That seems to be the general theme. 😦 I’m learning.

    Any news on the BCJ front?

    His job is not in danger unless he pisses me off between now and when I leave.

    Reply

  7. DarcsFalcon
    May 04, 2011 @ 21:44:19

    *grabbing my smackin’ stick!*

    Do you really believe, the way things have been going, that they will ever “get things under control”? Make it a clean break, don’t look back, don’t do sequels. 🙂

    Stop hitting me! My head and shoulders are sore from all the smackin’.

    Sequels. I hate sequels.

    No more salad bar, yay! 😀

    Or side dishes. Skippy!

    Reply

  8. An Educated Server
    May 04, 2011 @ 23:29:47

    Umm…more servers quit? Nice. Did you just start a revolution?

    Maybe…okay…no. These were new hires and they are always sketchy.

    Reply

  9. Anton
    May 05, 2011 @ 08:04:52

    Oh no, more days! Except for that part where it puts a little money in your pocket. But still! Be strong!

    I suggest setting the salad bar on fire. 😀

    Trust me…I’ve thought about setting it on fire many times…and then ramming it up someone’s ass.

    Reply

  10. izziedarling
    May 05, 2011 @ 08:25:02

    WHAT WERE YOU THINKING? You are too nice. But that’s ok. Extra money and taking the high road – can’t beat that. 🙂

    The extra money is a good thing, I don’t know about taking the high road. 😦

    Reply

  11. Sparty Girl
    May 05, 2011 @ 13:31:59

    OK, how about this? Work until the 15th and take the money. Then be too busy when they want you for those 1 or 2 days a week after that…. go all passive-aggressive on ’em.

    After last night, I can’t get out of there fast enough. Look for the post. Arg!

    Reply

  12. LS
    May 05, 2011 @ 13:41:17

    “You get two sides with that” only to hear, “I’ll have corn.” AND FOR YOUR OTHER FUCKING SIDE?!

    Funny — Adam Carolla was ranting about the same thing this week:

    “Adam is ready to rant, right from the top of the show. He’s doing some work for Dancing with the Stars again, and can’t understand how many times he has to have the same conversation with the same people.”

    http://www.adamcarolla.com/ACPBlog/2011/04/24/dr-drew-6/

    I used to watch Love Line with Dr. Drew & Adam a million years ago. It never failed to teach me something and laugh til I cried, usually at the same time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

