Intermission

The SW is not going to make it through my notice period.  I thought there was hope for her.  I gave her kudos a couple of times, but last night I came so so so close to telling her off I had to shove my fist in my mouth.

We were NOT busy.  In fact, it was the worst Wednesday night we’ve had in a long time.  We had a few tables before the SW got there, but pretty much nothing after that.  She’s on this big kick about servers standing in the waitstation.  We should be out annoying attending to our tables.  That’s all fine and good, but you can only visit a table so many times before they want to stab you with a fork and start punishing you financially.

Her other suggestion is that we clean.  I am NOT starting a cleaning project during what should be our dinner rush and since I cleaned what appeared to be dried cum off the men’s bathroom wall on Tuesday night, she can fuck right off.

She was as nervous as a cat covering shit when we got 4 tables all at once.  Four tables split between 2 servers.  Wow!  My first table was a family of 5 and as I prepared their drinks, Angel sat a table of 4 men.  The SW asked if I wanted her to take water to the men, and since I figured I was going to take the family’s order when I delivered their drinks I agreed to it. 

I dropped the drinks for the family and they asked for a little more time.  As I approached the table of men, I could hear the SW telling them about the desserts and ordering them to save room.  Okay.  Men are more likely to drink a gallon of beer than order a piece of pie.  She should have told them about our beer selection, but what’s the point in that when the profit on beer is about twice that of a fucking dessert.  *eyeroll*

She walked off and I got their drink order (3 beers and a lemonade).  I dropped their drinks, told them I would be with them as soon as I took an order and moved to the family.  The family ordered pretty fast and as I got to the food window to call back the order, the SW (kinda snotty) said, “I’m just going to have Angel get that table’s drink order.  They are ready to order and you can’t get to them.”

I turned around to see what table she was talking about.  Did I walk by a table I didn’t know I had?  I hate that shit.  For a panicked moment I thought maybe I was going blind.  I was wearing my glasses and I can’t see for shit with them, but missing a table?  I scanned the dining room and I had 2 tables, the family at 10 and the 4 men at 17.

“What table are you talking about?”  I nearly screeched.

“The 4 men.  They have been waiting and I’m sure they are ready to order, so Angel is going to get their drinks.”

I looked in the waitstation and Angel was banging glasses around with a pissed off look on her face.  Did that dumb bitch have Angel redo their drink order?  No, their order is in my noodle.  Then what the fuck is going on?! 

I did screech, “THEY HAVE THEIR DRINKS ALREADY!” 

“Oh.  Well I think they are ready to order.”

“I’m sure they are ready to order, but I told them I would be right with them when I dropped their drinks off about 3 minutes ago.”

Fuck me.  The day I can’t handle 2 tables is the day I need to find another job.  Oh look.  I already did.

I was pissed.  She knew I was pissed.  I didn’t care that she knew I was pissed.  Later she came in the waitstation and tried to apologize.  I had none of it.  I told her I know how to do my job and, contrary to popular belief, I’m pretty damned good at it.  I told her all she was doing by telling me my business was confusing me and making my job harder.  I wasn’t the least bit nice about it.

She avoided my section after that and concentrated on bugging the shit out of one of Dani’s tables.  When she got ready to leave she said she would “get out of my hair.”  I stared at her.  I didn’t offer the obligatory, “Oh no, you’re fine.”  I just stared.

Another go ’round of that shit and I won’t be able to keep my mouth closed without stitching it shut.

Things I won’t miss:

3.  The Mexicans.  I will not have to avoid the creepy assed Mexicans this summer.  I will not have to threaten Pablo with castration if he doesn’t stop touching me.  I will not have Cesar following me around asking if I’m mad since I don’t high 5 him every time I pass by.  I won’t be leered or stared at. 

Score!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rachel
    May 05, 2011 @ 19:13:24

    Good for you–she was obnoxious and controlling, and destroying the prospective wages of people for whom she was claiming tipped employee status, and she definately needed to here that shit and be treated in that manner. Maybe she’ll change her ways after you leave (jk. I’m not stupid enough to believe that people like her change). What is it about restaurant owners and corporate heads that makes them act exactly the same way, across the board…*that* way?

    I don’t know, but I’ve worked in a few corporate restaurants and all managers go to the same ‘head up ass’ school. Usually the independently owned restaurants are better, but once a place falls on hard times everyone loses all common sense in the scramble to get things afloat again.

    I also am completely sympathetic to the ‘cleaning projects’ thing. I am a good employee. I have a work ethic, and have nothing against doing more than is required of me. I never do petty shit like refusing to run other peoples’ food because I am not making money off their table (that crap annoys the FUCK out of me when other servers do it–especially since everyone else runs half of the complainer’s food for them, and everyone knows it). But people who flip out because their employees–who are being paid 2.13 an hour, minus taxes, are standing around for a minute when they have no duties to do really need a dose of reality…especially the ones who mindlessly make up ‘tasks’ just to ensure that everyone is busy.

    I do the stuff no one else wants to do (bathroom duty) and I’m pretty good about looking around and doing what needs to be done without having to be asked. If she starts making up tasks during our dinner rush, we will have a problem.

    Reply

  2. DarcKnyt
    May 05, 2011 @ 19:24:55

    I think you SHOULD tell her off. What’s she going to do, fire you? You’re done. Tell her about your deal with the other guy for the couple of days a week right AFTER you tell her to kiss your shining angry a$$ without blinking and see what she does. My money says she does NOTHING.

    My shining angry ass. HAHAHAHA! I love it!

    I know they don’t want me to leave right now, so she would suck it up and say nothing.

    Reply

  3. thelifeofjamie
    May 05, 2011 @ 19:54:03

    I so don’t miss that shit! Good for you for getting out!

    I’m excited!

    Reply

  4. Connie
    May 05, 2011 @ 20:48:42

    You don’t burn bridges. Good for you. Remind me what SW stands for? I can’t figure it out.

    I try hard not to burn bridges, but sometimes I set everything on fire and pour gasoline on it.

    I can’t say what SW stands for outside a PPP. It’s top secret. 🙂

    Reply

  5. cakefaerie
    May 05, 2011 @ 23:45:38

    Hi, now I work for myself as home baker but the last job I had in a cafe’ until 3yrs ago, my boss said with a sort of pride that in the 6 yrs they had opened the place they had changed 37(!!!) members of staff and consider they are only opened 10 months a year and only employ may be 2 a year…When I left they said that its always like this…they are too good with the staff and staff takes advantage of them (?!?!?)..and all the staff they had are crap..may be it is time they start thinking the problem is not crap staff but crap owners!!

    Staff turnover is never a good thing. Most owners pride themselves on their ability to keep good help for years and years.

    Reply

  6. DarcsFalcon
    May 06, 2011 @ 00:52:22

    I bet now she thinks you’re quitting because of her, lol. Maybe that’s why she hasn’t asked you about it.

    I thought she might. She doesn’t figure into my reasons for quitting at all. If I stayed I would find a nice way to bring her around to my way of thinking, and she really does want to learn. She’s not a bad person, just pretty clueless and everyone is afraid to tell her what she needs to learn.

    Woo on not having to deal with the gropers anymore!

    It’s a huge plus.

    Reply

  7. PurpleGirl
    May 06, 2011 @ 01:23:35

    My boss pulls that shit all the time, freaking out about things that servers have already taken care of. I think it’s because she couldn’t handle it, so of course nobody else can!

    That’s it exactly. She can carry 2 plates at a time, 2 beverages at a time and nothing on a tray, so she believes everyone else is just as limited. I ALWAYS know, no matter how busy we are, what everyone at every table is drinking. She & I have had arguments because she insists I don’t know where the Dr Pepper refill goes. Uh, yes I do, so get out of my face.

    Reply

  8. skippymom
    May 06, 2011 @ 05:28:24

    :grinding my teeth on your behalf:

    Glad you are leaving soon before she loses a limb. 🙂 Hang in there, it is almost over.

    I don’t like to be mean, but I feel a shitstorm coming on.

    And I could not STAND being touched when I worked and no matter what you say the management does nothing. grrrr

    I’ve worked with the Mexicans for 3 summers and every single day they get warned by a manager to keep their hands off the servers. No hablo Ingles. Obviously.

    Reply

  9. Sparty Girl
    May 06, 2011 @ 07:20:21

    You have got to be kidding me. Of course, I know you’re not, that’s the problem. I agree with Darc, tell her off. All she can do is fire you, and she wouldn’t dare.

    Not kidding at all. She’s at the Harribalsac tonight and I will be shocked if I don’t kill her.

    Reply

  10. Ahmnodt Heare
    May 06, 2011 @ 21:05:55

    The one part I hated about giving notice was that it gave them time to dump as much crap on me as they possibly could in two weeks.

    Reply

  11. Hira Animfefte
    May 07, 2011 @ 22:02:59

    I was wondering how long it would take for the SW to get on your last nerve…

    Right about then…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

