Seven Days Left

A busy, yet uneventful night.  No one needed to die.  Well, the kitchen did send out 4 steaks cooked to however the fuck they felt like, but I’m so over expecting anything else.

Things I Won’t Miss

4.  The stress.  I never smoked a day in my life until I started working at the Harribalsac.  Yep, I started smoking when I was 43 years old.  That right there should have been enough to make me work somewhere else, but no.  I will not miss running my ass off in a frenzy to turn and burn tables.  I will not miss looking at the front door and seeing a line of pissed off people stretched out to the parking lot.  I will not miss people who are in a rush and want everything NOW.  RIGHT NOW.

Awesome!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. The Restaurant Manager
    May 06, 2011 @ 23:19:48

    Ugh… the stress. I bet that will be nice to put behind you!

    My friend Sunni said that was the nicest thing about the new place…no stress.

    Reply

  2. DarcKnyt
    May 06, 2011 @ 23:46:48

    There really aren’t going to be any pissed off or in-a-hurry people at your new place? Wow.

    I’m sure there will be, I’m just wishful thinking. However, it will not be to the extent of the Harribalsac…people who have to wait an hour for a table tend to think you should be psychic and have their food ready for them as soon as they sit down.

    I, to this day, still miss smoking. I guess I always will.

    One of my friends said she wished she had started smoking in her 40s rather than in her 20s since she could smoke for the rest of her life. That’s a plus, but life looks a lot shorter in your 40s than in your 20s.

    Reply

  3. DarcKnyt
    May 07, 2011 @ 00:20:03

    Yikes, my comment didn’t come out how I meant it! I meant to say, how awesome that this place isn’t another place wherein you have to deal with things like you mentioned — angry customers not expecting a long line and such.

    I took it as a reality check. There will be asshole no matter where I go. I just expect fewer at the new place. I’m often wrong.

    Sorry, didn’t mean to be snarky at all. Should know better than to type when exhausted.

    Haha! I didn’t take it to be snarky at all. 🙂

    Reply

  4. thelifeofjamie
    May 07, 2011 @ 07:43:51

    Will you make me a promise??? Once you walk out of there in 6 days, will you stop smoking? In case you haven’t heard, it’s very bad for you! It will be like you are completely wiping Harribalsac from your existance. If you are still smoking, they still have a hold on you!

    I don’t know. I like it now. I might get back down to 4-5 a day, but smoking helps my anxiety and it keeps me from shoveling food in my gaping maw.

    Reply

  5. zmanowner
    May 07, 2011 @ 14:37:15

    Just think the new place is going to be heaven compared to where you are leaving…with the exception of all THE NEW weirdos and lazy co workers you are going to encounter not too mention the customers that are going to ask you….Are you new here..but that wont last but 6 or 7 mos…your going to do great though….zman sends

    I had some guy get all huffy with me the other day because he insisted I was new. I told him I had been at the Harribalsac for almost 4 years and that just made him more huffy.

    The staff at the new place are adults and professional or they are gone. That in itself is going to be heaven.

    Reply

  6. Hira Animfefte
    May 07, 2011 @ 21:53:49

    I third Jamie’s motion! I think that’s a great idea! Leave the Harribalsac behind and quit smoking. FWIW, my seminary was also a huge stress factory (believe it or not) and I know several people who took up smoking while there and quit once they had graduated. You can do the same thing here.

    I don’t know…I kinda enjoy it now.

    I’m also amazed that a place that can rack up lines that huge can manage to lose money. The management/ownership must truly be asinine. (It’s ALWAYS the management and the owners, IMHO. Always. Stupid trickles downhill. And stupid can’t curb stupid.) For instance: my hometown football team, the Redskins, were bought by an idiot asshat owner, Dan Snyder, who has proceeded to run the team into the ground. Everybody wants him to sell it, but we can’t make him. 😦

    Summer is a money maker. The only problem is summer is only 4 months out of the year. The other 8 months kick everyone’s ass.

    As the ownership goes, so goes the management; as the management goes, so goes the business. And since you are neither management nor owner and are leaving in 6 days, it’s the Department of Not Your Problem! Yay! I love that Department. It’s my favorite. 🙂

    I love that department!

    Reply

  7. DarcsFalcon
    May 08, 2011 @ 22:25:42

    Steaks cooked wrong deserved a beating, officer, that’s just the plain truth. 😉

    I’m done fighting with the kitchen over it. Not my problem any more.

    It still kind of cracks me up that you didn’t start smoking until your 40s. That place almost sounds like a really bad marriage. Glad it’s almost over for you!

    I was the biggest anti-smoker ever. It’s sad how far I’ve fallen.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

