Six Days Left

The cooks, yes, the brainiacs who are somewhat responsible for the countdown, started thinking for themselves tonight.  They are not qualified to do any thinking on their own.

For years and years we served sandwiches, burgers and such in baskets.  Then one day someone complained and, holy shit, we had to start serving them on the round plates.  The round plates are heavier and harder to carry than the baskets, which results in more trips to a table, but the customers are wowed because the food looks better on a plate than in a basket.

Tonight the cooks decided to start putting the burgers on the big, oval platters.  The fuckers weigh a ton.  The only way I can carry 4 at a time is if I’m not going very far.  If I try to carry 4 of them to the tables by the windows, I’m walking on my knees by the time I get there.

I mentioned this to one of the cooks and he said they wanted the food to look nicer.  I said they should keep in mind that most of us can only carry 3 ovals at a time and it will slow things down, not to mention making our work more back breaking.  He started telling me all the reasons why it was better and I cut him off and said, “You’re absolutely right.  I don’t care what you do ‘cuz I’m gone in 6 days.  Have fun wearing out your waitstaff.”

There is such a freedom in being able to say stuff like that or to not have to worry about the latest idiocy.

Things I Won’t Miss

5.  These fucking people.  If I never see these people again, it will be too soon.  I don’t think I have to worry about seeing them at the new place, since it’s out of their price range.

There are so many more I could list, but I want to wipe them from my memory.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. skippymom
    May 08, 2011 @ 05:48:08

    tick, tick, tick….I can feel the anticipation, especially as things get even weirder at work. Ovals – gah!

    For what it is worth – I love burgers in baskets. It makes one wonder what the complaint is about them and the insistence on a plate.

    Me too! I love a sandwich wrapped in deli paper too. Maybe I’m too much of a casual girl.

    Reply

  2. thelifeofjamie
    May 08, 2011 @ 07:18:31

    I used to work in a BBQ joint that served their meals on cast iron skillets. I never had to work out my arms! I was ripped!

    I don’t know why I have floppy flabby arms. The amount of weight I have to carry every day should make me look like the Hulk.

    Reply

  3. DarcKnyt
    May 08, 2011 @ 08:27:18

    I think thelifeofjamie’s optimism is awesome. 🙂

    I wonder if it ever occurred to the owners to try and figure out why customers think the food sucks. Is it the presentation? or is it the lousy products you use? or the crappy “cooks” you’ve hired? some combination of the above?

    The quality of the food is good, the recipies are good, so that leaves…The quality of the food is good, the recipies are good, so that leaves…

    I realize we eat with our eyes first and so presentation is important, but for Pete’s sake, can’t we get someone to evaluate why everyone who stops in the restaurant gives it such a crappy rating?

    We eat with our eyes, but this is BBQ. It’s meat on a plate, not something fancy. I think the sandwiches and burgers looked better in the baskets. They were FULL. The big ovals look as if you are getting a McDonalds hamburger. It’s retarded.

    The talk around the restaurant is that people only take the time to write a review when they are mad. That’s why the Harribalsac has so many bad reviews. Well, except that there are many other places, including the new place, that have glowing reviews.

    Or maybe I still labor under the delusion the owners want the restaurant to survive.

    They want the restaurant to survive, but at this point they are just waiting for summer. Summer will stop the financial bleeding, even if it doesn’t fix the real problems.

    Reply

  4. DarcsFalcon
    May 08, 2011 @ 22:34:00

    You know, in a family restaurant, I’d prefer the food to come in baskets. So many times a server would put a plate in front of one of my kids and say, “Careful! It’s really hot!” Baskets eliminate that problem.

    Exactly. I think baskets are fun.

    But like you said, it’s not YOUR problem anymore. Soon 😀

    Not at all. 🙂

    Reply

  5. watergirl
    May 09, 2011 @ 00:02:22

    Glad to hear the time is winding down for you there. That place is a nightmare.

    As a side note, the three links after the “Things I won’t miss” entry are going to the login page for editing. Yay for wordpress. 🙂

    Oh no, that was all me. I was talking to the roommate while posting the links and not paying a bit of attention to what I was doing. Serves me right.

    :huggles:
    ~watergirl~

    Reply

  6. wigsf
    May 09, 2011 @ 05:52:37

    I love how you need to differentiate crazy bitches by the ugly factor. You see here, this bitch, she’s crazy. But that bitch over there, is both crazy and ugly.

    Well, yeah. Crazy is one thing. Crazy AND ugly is a whole different ball game.

    Reply

  7. Rachel
    May 09, 2011 @ 20:35:40

    They changed a policy about whether burgers will be in a basket (efficient) or a plate (ineffient) based on a few complaints? Who even complains about that? Why can’t the mindless beurocrats who run restaurants ever decide that, occasionally, a complaining customer is an ass…instead of letting asses dictate restaurant policy?

    Because the restaurant is run by children who are easily roped into things.

    Reply

  8. Hira Animfefte
    May 10, 2011 @ 14:39:18

    Repeat after me: It’s the Department of Not My Problem. It’s the Department of Not My Problem. It’s the Department of Not My Problem.

    Rinse, repeat. Almost over! 🙂

    Lately I’ve been ignoring a lot of BS. Not My Problem.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

