Five Days Left

I talked to Sunni tonight.  The conversation went something like this:

Me:  I made $19 in 5 hours tonight. 

Sunni:  I made $104 in 5 hours.

Me:  Fuck this place.

Plus I dumped the filthy mop water all over myself when I emptied the mop bucket.  Perfect night.

Things I Won’t Miss

6.  The fucking pink towelsLast summer we switched from our white cotton towels to some pink disposable towels some salesman said we HAD to have.  Every restaurant in the entire town uses white cotton towels.  I had an allergic reaction to the pink towels that caused both my hands to look like hamburger.  Tough luck for me.  The white towels carry bacteria, but servers with open sores on their hands don’t.

I begged to go back to the white towels.  I used every bit of rational I had.  In the end, the pink towels are cheaper, so I could go fuck myself.  I figured out if I used a glove when wiping down the tables, I could avoid a little of the reaction.  Yeah, it’s hella convenient when we’re busy to strap on a latex glove and wipe off a table.  *eyeroll*

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. skippymom
    May 09, 2011 @ 22:37:52

    Day zero can’t come soon enough I am sure [look who I am saying this to, sorry….but jeesh]

    No lie.

    Your hand looks painful – I don’t understand their reasoning behind disposable towels vs. cost – and to ignore your allergy is just wrong.

    Especially since open sores around food is something the health inspector would shit over.

    C’mon Friday! C’mon!

    It’s actually Saturday. 😦

    Reply

  2. Connie
    May 09, 2011 @ 23:23:33

    God Bless you. Five more days. ’nuff said.

    I’m counting all of them.

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    May 09, 2011 @ 23:26:44

    Money. Talks. And $104 talks a LOT louder than $19!

    I made enough money to buy some gas and a pack of cigarettes. It would have been better to stay home.

    I remember the trouble with your hands when they switched towels. Having gone though similar skin issues on my hands many years ago (it was a yeast infection) I know that can be super painful. Even lotions hurt and sting.

    Too bad they didn’t let you have a “Holly’s towel” for just you, to keep that allergic reaction at bay. Meanies.

    (shhhh) Don’t tell anyone, but when we’re busy or I get tired of wearing a glove I use a white towel in my very own personal bucket of sanitizer water.

    Just think – you’ll be out of there before the next full moon!

    I’m thinking I’ll be out of there before I go to church again. I’ll have a reason to rejoice this Sunday.

    Reply

  4. wigsf
    May 10, 2011 @ 03:58:36

    But if you worked at a rub ‘n tug, you’d make a lot more than that.
    Then again, it’s probably a worse job, even though the money’s better.

    I feel like I already work at a rub ‘n tug.

    Reply

  5. DarcKnyt
    May 10, 2011 @ 06:55:52

    I thought the reaction on your hand was to a different cleaner? I guess I missed something, but still. Cheaper > Worker safety. At least until someone sues, at which time the company will fall all over itself to APPEAR to care about employee conditions.

    I thought it was the sanitizer water, but after a little experimenting, it was clear it was the towels. I have a bucket of sanitizer water in the waitstation I use to wash my hands and I don’t have any reaction to it, but if I touch one of the pink towels for a second, it feels like acid on my hands. I’m thinking it’s the dye.

    But not this place, probably. A lawsuit would only cause the owners to file Chapter 7 and walk away without owing anyone anything. Then they’ll get a small business loan and do it all over again in a different town and run THAT place into the ground.

    I think if I talked to the actual owners about it, they would be fine with me using a white towel. The salesman convinced Darren the white towels were evil and someone was going to get sick and sue the restaurant. That’s what salesmen do.

    Reply

  6. Rachel
    May 10, 2011 @ 09:56:31

    Eek, sorry about the 19 buck night.

    Yay for overstaffing! I stayed on the extra week to make more money, but it looks like the joke is on me.

    The pink towels thing is outrageous! Did they even consider WHY they might be cheaper than white ones? Or do they care? I swear, most restaurants I have worked at would fold the day an employee became angry enough to start a civil suit over their crap (I’m not even a lawyer, but I could count at least four labor law infractions in my place at any given time), but that is horrible, even by restaurant employer standards!

    The salesman convinced Darren that the white towels don’t kill the bacteria on the table and someone was going to get e coli or some such shit in a matter of minutes. Every restaurant in town uses the white towels in either a bleach solution or sanitizer water and nobody’s died yet. What’s worse, we use the disposible towels for 5 days and by day 4 they are so black and disgusting it’s embarrassing to carry them to a table. Yeah, that’s sanitary.

    And I would kill to make over 100 in five hours.

    From mid-May to mid September, after tip out on a 5 hour shift, I walk out of the Harribalsac with between $120-$150 in my pocket. THAT’S why it’s so hard to leave.

    Reply

  7. Hira Animfefte
    May 10, 2011 @ 12:23:32

    It’s almost over! It’s. Almost. Over.

    I remember the towel thing. Jerks.

    Sorry about the mop water.

    The mop water was just the perfect end to a perfect (shit) day. Five nights a week for nearly 4 years I’ve emptied that mop bucket because no one else will do it and rinse the mop. How I missed the sink is beyond me. Starting next week, someone else will learn how to empty the mop bucket. Fuckers.

    Reply

  8. Sparty Girl
    May 10, 2011 @ 16:11:54

    It would be entertaining to know who is going to empty the mopwater and clean the bathrooms when you’re gone. And how they figure it out. Rock-paper-scissors? Draw straws? Choose a number between 1 and 50? They are kids after all, therefore these would all be appropriate methods….

    I’m guessing no one. They will all bitch and whine about it. I got tired of listening to it, but everyone else is willing to tune out the bitching and whining.

    Reply

  9. Ahmnodt Heare
    May 10, 2011 @ 17:39:01

    I made $150 in 7 hours my first night as a server. Sounds OK until one realizes I waited on over 40 tables in a Waffle House 😦

    Sometimes the quantity overwhelms the end result. I hear other servers talk about a second seating on their dinner shift and I roll my eyes. By the end of a summer dinner shift I’m on a tenth seating. 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

