I Did it Again

I worked really hard yesterday, my first day of unemployment…worked at keeping my bed warm.  HA!

I went to church in the morning and ended up doing dishes for an hour after the confirmation brunch.  It’s easier than talking to people.

Then I went home and had a leisurely 3 hour nap.  It was maybe the best nap I’ve ever had.

Last week I offered to work a couple of days at The Outlaw to give Sharron a break and keep me from going stir crazy before I start my other job.  I ran into town to get something to eat and see which days she wanted me to work.  I debated about changing out of my pajamas and into some real clothes, but in the end I decided to stay in my pjs since it was MY day.

I should know better.  It was a repeat of the last time I ran in to get food.  The only thing missing was the see-through shirt.

I asked Sharron, “Do you want me to work a few days this week?”

She said, “Absolutely YES!”

I asked, “When?”

She said, “How about now.”

And just like that we were up to our elbows in hungry people in the restaurant, to-go orders, and orders from the bar side.  I ended up making more money than I’ve made at the Harribalsac in weeks and I didn’t have to drive anywhere.  I really think I’m on to something with the waiting tables in pajamas thing.  People were shoveling money at me, and I’m not sure whether it was to get me away from them or because they thought I was funny.  Maybe both.

Even though it's less like this...

 

...and more like this.

There is a major kitchen renovation going on at The Outlaw, so the dishwasher is in pieces in the storage room.  I started my day washing a mountain of dishes and I ended my day the same way.  It was nice to hand wash dishes and visit, though. 

And even though it’s work when I’m supposed to be relaxing, it is a different pace, with different people and no commute.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. wigsf
    May 16, 2011 @ 14:56:44

    Hell. That first photo makes me want to give you a tip right now. Keep up the photos of half naked chicks.

    HAHAHA! I like to keep my male readers happy.

    Reply

  2. skippymom
    May 16, 2011 @ 17:03:00

    wonderful laugh!

    Yes, more pajama pants. 🙂 Although your male readership [and tips] may improve with pretty blue lingerie. Oh, and a major boob job.

    Yeah, my A cups won’t fill out the top like that.

    Those melons so cannot be real.

    I’d hate to have melons that big.

    Reply

  3. DarcKnyt
    May 16, 2011 @ 18:55:40

    Well, you certainly have MY attention with that first photo. Although I’m willing to bet she’s not in Wyoming where the snow just stopped yesterday.

    It stopped?

    It’s nice doing what YOU want to do and getting paid for it, isn’t it? That’s my motto lately. Do what YOU want instead of what THEY want, and get paid all the same. When you’re having fun, people want to give you money.

    Sometimes they want to squish the fun right out of you.

    Okay, probably not, but it’s nice to be relaxed and do your thing. 🙂

    A slower pace is always nice.

    Reply

  4. Hira Animfefte
    May 16, 2011 @ 22:07:24

    Maybe you should make a pledge not to stop at the Outlaw at anything you wouldn’t want to wait tables in? Just in case? Not that it seems to matter! 🙂

    I tend to wander around town looking homeless. It keeps the locals away from me. 🙂

    I’m glad you’re having a good time–and made some lower-stress money! It’s not the Harribalsac. That’s a good thing.

    It’s much lower stress plus my roommate works there. He’s silly.

    Reply

  5. DarcsFalcon
    May 17, 2011 @ 00:48:48

    How much fun is it to go to work in your jammies! Too funny! Way to generate some income until the new job starts. 🙂

    It’s not fun. I looked like a hobo. 😦

    Reply

  6. Sparty Girl
    May 17, 2011 @ 06:22:00

    hahahahahahahaha!!!! Only you.

    I hear that a lot.

    Reply

  7. thelifeofjamie
    May 17, 2011 @ 06:52:25

    Do you know how to relax?

    Hell yes! I’ve sat on my ass for the last 2 days. The roommate went on a road trip and the son is who knows where so I have the house (and the remote) to myself.

    Reply

  8. Jen-nay
    May 17, 2011 @ 10:42:27

    I wish my place of work would let me show my melons like that but wear the pants at the bottom. Now THAT would be an awesome job.

    I have lemons and no one wants to see those.

    Reply

  9. Malachi the Cocktail Slinger
    May 17, 2011 @ 12:50:13

    Hooray for you hot stuff! I’m so happy you had a good first day. If you don’t mind though….what’s an outlaw?

    It’s the name of the restaurant in the town where I live…not where I will be working full time. I used to work there full time, but one summer the A/C was busted and no one would fix it so I quit. I fill in once in a while, usually when I’m not prepared to work.

    Sorry it’s taken me so long to get back to you but, –cheerleads in celebration— I’m happy you’re out of that joint.

    Meee tooo!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

