My Last Night

My last night at the Harribalsac was on Saturday.  Not much went on since we were overstaffed to the point of ridiculous.  I understand the owners are concerned about the horrible comments people leave on places like Trip Advisor, but the complaints are on the quality of the FOOD not on the level of SERVICE.  Their answer to the problem is to put one or two extra servers on the floor and leave the same dumbshits in the kitchen.  Same thing with food costs being at 40%.  They started auditing the servers.  Uh…the service and the servers aren’t the problem.  The problem (and the reason I quit) is in the kitchen.  If the owners can’t figure that shit out, I hope they have fun riding their business into the ground.

The only thing worth mentioning was one of the new servers had a complete bitch fit over a piece of pie.  I didn’t know whether to be amused or irritated; amused because it was so absurd, irritated because I don’t understand such entitlement.  All I knew for certain was I wasn’t going to give her the ass chewing she deserved because I didn’t want her to quit before I got the hell out of there.  I would have felt guilty and stayed on for another week.

So the whole thing started when I decided to sell every piece of pie in the restaurant.  Typically there is one full pie to back up any partial pie in the cooler, but when I went on my mission I didn’t realize there wasn’t a single back up to any of the 4 pies.  I sold all the chocolate buttermilk, most of the fudge pecan and all but one slice of buttermilk before the FNG whined that she wanted a piece of chocolate buttermilk.  I was in a bit of a panic because I sold pie I didn’t have and I wasn’t in the mood for any bullshit, but I told her she could take the last slice of buttermilk, set it aside and pay for it.  She said she was entitled to a free piece of pie since it was her birthday.  I told her free pie was for customers only. 

The fight was on.  

A few minutes later she walked in the waitstation and sneered, “Someone else is getting a free piece of pie for their birthday.”

“Not an employee.”

“No, a customer.  That’s not fair.”

W. T. F. ? !

I saw her put the buttermilk pie in a go box and Angel came in the waitstation and forced her to pay for it.  A little later I heard her tell another FNG, “I don’t want to complain about this, but I think I’m going to.  It isn’t fair that other people get free pie and I don’t.”

I had to leave the area because I was ready to go off on her starting with, “Who the FUCK do you think you are?” and ending with her crying.  April (an adorable server who worked at the Harribalsac last summer) heard everything and laughed her ass off.  It took everything I had to keep my mouth closed and April kept saying, “Chew her ass, come on, I want something to remember you by.”

I just got calmed down when the salad bar cook brought a new chocolate buttermilk pie into the waitstation.  It was still hot and one of the servers cut a piece to sell to a table.  Hot pie needs to cool before serving, otherwise the whole pie is fucked and I kept mumbling, “Notmyproblemnotmyproblemnotmyproblem” when the FNG bellied up to the counter with a go box.  I screeched, “What are you doing?”

“I wanted the chocolate buttermilk, not the regular buttermilk.”

“You paid for a regular buttermilk.”

“I put it back.”

“IT DOESN’T WORK THAT WAY.  YOU PAID FOR THE PIE YOU TOOK.  IF YOU TAKE ANOTHER PIECE YOU WILL PAY FOR THAT TOO.”

Angel asked where she put the returned pie and pretty much screamed, “If you touched it and put whipped cream on it, we can’t resell it.  It’s yours!”  She found it in the cook’s cooler, covered with whipped cream.  The FNG wrote ‘For the restaurant’ on the top of the go box.  It’s cool that she donated pie to the restaurant, but not at the restaurant’s expense. 

Oh fuck me.

This is what they replaced me with.  Some dumb bitch with a huge sense of entitlement who doesn’t understand customers come first, and that taking food you don’t pay for is stealing.  Fucking A.  Have fun with that.

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thelifeofjamie
    May 17, 2011 @ 16:43:14

    should have smashed it in her face!

    I seriously thought about it, but then I would still be there.

    Reply

    • SpartyGirl
      May 17, 2011 @ 18:06:29

      Bwhahaha!!! That would have been SO cool. You could have filmed it, Jamie, and put it on Youtube.

      Reply

  2. skippymom
    May 17, 2011 @ 17:17:37

    The sense of “me first” drives me nuts – yes it was her birthday, why not wait for someone else to notice and perhaps OFFER her a free piece of pie [say a manager?] instead of just stealing one. I hate people that have to point out their own birthday in this manner.

    I was there nearly 4 years and I never thought I was entitled to a free piece of pie. It was her first or second day of work.

    I would be so mad if any of my kids did this at their work.

    Me too. She’s old enough to get beer (21+) so she’s old enough to know the world doesn’t revolve around her.

    Glad you are gone. And nice job selling the pies.

    It was practice for the new place. 🙂

    Reply

    • skippymom
      May 17, 2011 @ 21:38:47

      I think I forgot about the newbie aspect. Okay, now I am really sick – and enraged on your part. The pure nerve.

      Aren’t the cost of employees’ food explained when they are trained. I know some places you could be fired for taking a hamburger that had been returned for a customer complaint. Or even noshing on cherry tomatoes from the salad prep area. You do not touch the food. Ever. For free. Wow.

      Okay. I am sufficiently done here. lol 🙂 Good luck and best wishes. Can’t wait to hear about the new job.

      Oh Hellz. I forgot to mention that the employee cost for pie is $1.68. She created an hour of strife for less than $2. I should have thrown 7 quarters at her and been done with it.

      Reply

  3. bohemianserver
    May 17, 2011 @ 18:00:55

    I just have to ask – did you tell the owners why you resigned? Not Darren, either. (For me, he seems to be part of the problem.) I mean did you sit them down and tell them what was wrong with the KITCHEN? THE FOOD? This just soooo reminds me of nearly every one of those restaurants in Ramsey’s Kitchen Nightmares.

    Nope. They didn’t ask so I figured they didn’t care to fix the problem. If I owned a business and one of my senior staff members was willing to quit right before the money started rolling in, I’d ask why. Again, they are blaming the servers for everything, so I’m sure they thought I was a (if not the) problem. Whatever.

    I think you truly cared about the place so I hope maybe you go back up there one day soon and tell them everything. The whole truth and nothing but, so to speak.

    I did care, but it became apparent that no one else did. I’m going to a place where the servers, cooks and owners all care about their professional reputations. When you choose food service as a career, you DO care about your reputation just as much as if you were a doctor or lawyer.

    Reply

  4. SpartyGirl
    May 17, 2011 @ 18:07:23

    OMG. You are well shut of that place. I’m glad for you that you are OUTTA THERE!

    Me too. I am so excited about the new place I can’t hardly stand it.

    Reply

  5. TheIdiotSpeaketh
    May 17, 2011 @ 18:14:23

    I am happy you have finally been paroled from that insane asylum! 🙂

    I like a little insanity, but when the inmates start running the asylum, it’s time to go.

    Reply

  6. Anton
    May 17, 2011 @ 18:33:59

    Oh. My. God. I don’t know if I should laugh or scream, because that girl is CRAZYCAKES.

    Trust me, if it hadn’t been my last night she would have got a very rude life lesson.

    Reply

  7. kenni
    May 17, 2011 @ 18:52:30

    Is it wrong of me to be sorry you’re leaving the carnival, er, restaurant? I love the crazy stories.

    There will always be crazy, no matter where I go.

    I may secretly want to grow up to be you.

    Last summer we had a server who was a complete hypocrite. She went around preaching to everyone (except me) about how the servers needed to be better Christians then when the hostess would tell her she had a table she would yell, “GODDAMMIT!” and huff off into the dining room. One night she told Cora, “You’re going to be just like Glory when you get older.” Cora told me, “She meant it as in insult, but I took it as a compliment and thanked her so she yelled ‘JESUS CHRIST’ in my face.” The Hypocrite wouldn’t like you either. 🙂

    Reply

  8. DarcKnyt
    May 17, 2011 @ 19:10:28

    It’s interesting, isn’t it? How similar food service and high school can be?

    When you let the inmates run the asylum, it’s bound to be immature.

    Good riddance to bad rubbish, say I. On to a better tomorrow. Here’s to your future. 🙂

    Thank you!

    Reply

  9. Rachel
    May 17, 2011 @ 22:10:45

    Jesus. H. Christ! That is genuinely a situation where, ‘if you don’t laugh, you will cry.’ Why is it, in the serving profession, you will meet some of the most hard-working, professional, individuals out of any industry, and you will also meet the most lazy, entitled, unprofesssional, makes-you-want-to-facepalm-after-a-five-minute-conversation-with-them, individuals out of any industry (and why is it that you seldom meet people who fall in the middle)?

    Even by the abysmal standards set by lazy, obnoxious servers…that’s just over the top. Really–even the absolute WORST ones I have worked with were (a) smart enough to not pull their shit until they’d been at the place for more than a week, and (b) not announce it to everyone that they intended to steal from the company, apparently, because they had a right to. You should have indulged April. It would have been fun, and it’s not like they could fire you for making the dumb bitch cry!

    I was afraid if she quit before I did, they would guilt me into staying. I’m curious to see how long she lasts.

    Reply

    • Rachel
      May 18, 2011 @ 11:38:58

      Aw, you’re too nice. I actually am starting to fantacize about leaving the asses I work for in a bind when I finally quit.

      Whether they admit it or not, my leaving put them in a bind. Any time I went on vacation they had to hire 3 new people to cover my shifts. I do believe they hired around 5 new people to replace me.

      Reply

  10. Hira Animfefte
    May 17, 2011 @ 22:14:49

    Wow. The FNG. F’ng New Girl?

    Yep.

    Do you think any Harribalsac gossip is still going to come your way…or will you care when it does? Knowing me, I’d probably want to still hear the gossip (as long as I didn’t have to go there to hear it)…

    I still talk to Cora. Today I asked, ‘How was work?’ and she replied, ‘I wanted to strap a bomb to my body and tell everybody to fuck off and then explode!’ Sounds about normal.

    Yay for no more idiots at the Harribalsac!

    When do you work at the pizza joint again?

    Thursday night and Friday morning.

    Reply

  11. The Restaurant Manager
    May 17, 2011 @ 23:02:20

    Glad it was your last night! Hope the new job is MUCH better!

    I’m certain it will be!

    Reply

  12. DarcsFalcon
    May 17, 2011 @ 23:03:00

    I see it like this – now that the good help is leaving and they’re hiring such bad servers, all the complaints on places like Trip Advisor will be about service. Then the owners can say, “SEE?! We always KNEW it was because of the servers!”

    This way, they’ll have a self-fulfilling prophecy and someone convenient to blame so they won’t have to take responsibility for the bad food.

    Genius!

    *eyeroll*

    Sadly, you are correct.

    I don’t get that entitlement sense either. Pure plain justified selfishness. Sheesh.

    It baffles me.

    Reply

  13. EM
    May 18, 2011 @ 03:58:09

    He He. I would have told her that when she was off shift (If we were still open) and purchased a full price meal as a customer.. then she can have free pie. 🙂

    If shes making that much of a fuss over less than $2 I would start betting on her not lasting long.

    She would have been fired on the spot under the old GM.

    Reply

  14. An Educated Server
    May 18, 2011 @ 07:54:59

    That must be some very good pie! 🙂

    Not good enough to lose your job for.

    Reply

  15. Hira Animfefte
    May 18, 2011 @ 23:45:33

    Strangely, that post left me wanting pie. I forgot to mention that last time for some reason. The chocolate buttermilk sounds yummy. Mostly because it’s chocolate, and I love chocolate, and it’s pie, and I love pie…now I’m hungry. 😉

    Buttermilk Pie
    Bake at 300 degrees for 45-60 minutes

    Mix well
    1 1/2 tsp vanilla
    1/2 tst salt
    7 eggs

    Add
    3 1/2 C sugar
    2/3 C melted butter
    3/4 C flour
    1 C buttermilk

    Pour into unbaked pie shells. Makes two 9″ pies. Squeeze fresh lemon on pie before serving.

    Chocolate Buttermilk Pie
    Bake at 300 degrees for 45-60 minutes

    Melt & set aside
    2 C chocolate chips
    2/3 C butter

    Mix
    1 1/2 tsp vanilla
    1/2 tst salt
    7 eggs
    2 1/2 C sugar
    1 C buttermilk
    3/4 C flour

    Add chocolate mixture, mix well pour into unbaked pie shells. Makes two 9″ pies. Serve with ho’made whipped cream.

    Reply

  16. Sparty Girl
    May 19, 2011 @ 16:01:41

    Oh. My. God. Those recipies sound amazing. Not lose-your-job-for amazing, but I’m with Hira: I want some!! Thanks for sharing.

    They are good, but don’t tamper with the recipes!

    Reply

  17. DarcsFalcon
    May 19, 2011 @ 20:13:08

    Those sound delicious! Would you mind if I shared them on a recipe site I have? If you’re not comfortable, just say the word. Links to you of course, or I can set you up as a contributor. 🙂

    They aren’t my recipes, they’re the Harribalsac’s. Do whatever you want with them.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

