Not a Good Day to be a Dog

I spent most of yesterday reminding my dogs who’s the alpha.  It was exhausting for me and traumatic for them.

Otis knows he’s not the boss.

The day started at the crack of one in the afternoon.  I was barely awake at the computer when Sienna attacked Maggie for no apparent reason.  They have two types of fights…the shovey bossy kind and the fight to the death kind.  This fight was one of the latter.  Before I could get Sienna off Maggie, Halo joined in and she was grabbing Maggie’s parts (legs, tail, hide) and shaking them like a dead rat.

 

Bad

Out came the choke collars and down the hall they went for time out.  Oh, and they both got spankings like they’ve never had before.  Then it was time to clean up the blood and hair and tend to Maggie’s wounds.  Poor Mags.

BAD DOGS

Later, Otis and Arlo, my son’s dog, went outside with me to get wood.  Arlo’s never seen ducks before so he started chasing them around.  He made Miss Duck do a backwards somersault and land on her face.  He usually listens really well for a puppy, but he would NOT get off the ducks.  I finally cornered him, grabbed him by the scruff, spanked his butt, shook him and intended to shove him out of the yard, but he doesn’t weigh as much as my dogs and I ended up throwing him.  He landed on Padawan, the cat. 

I don't think you're funny.

Padi was very offended, so he slapped Arlo around with his claws and made him cry.  Then Otis, who knows this is not the accepted standard of behaviour, rolled him in the dirt and made him cry some more.  Right after that, Arlo started listening again.

Bad Arlo

Some times relaxing at home is more stressful than working.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. skippymom
    May 18, 2011 @ 15:12:24

    Oh, ouch – and ouch.

    I hope the ducks are okay too – the mental pic’ was kind of funny [I am very ashamed to say that, but um…yeah, duck somersault. For the win!]

    I laughed when I saw it, then I felt bad because she looked so dumbfounded.

    You have beautiful pets. As long as they stop beating the crap out of eachother. giggle.

    They do this twice a year. I guess it takes 6 months to forget the beating mom gives them.

    Reply

  2. DarcKnyt
    May 18, 2011 @ 19:16:15

    Well, I’d rather deal with dog fights than the bull$hit you’re leaving behind at the Idiot Hoedown. Just sayin’.

    Me too, but these are BFDs. Separating a 90 pound and an 80 pound dog while kicking a 60 pound dog in the ribs isn’t much fun. I’m sore today, but not as sore as Sienna and Halo for sure.

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    May 19, 2011 @ 00:33:46

    Oh my! At least they know who’s boss now!

    For a few months at least.

    It’s funny – I just showed this to my kids today. Maybe you could show it to the dogs, so they can see what happens when they want to play with ducks. 😉

    Goggie Gif: Duck, Git Out Mai Way! – Loldogs, Dogs ‘n’ Puppy Dog Pictures – I Has A Hotdog!.

    That’s a beautiful Boxer! My dogs would kill the ducks in seconds if left unattended. They’ve all been beaten severely for messing with the ducks, but Arlo is new to the game. The ducks do treat the cats that way, though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

