What’s This Shit?!

It snowed during the night.  Snow.  On May 29th.

There have been 2 nights during May where the MC & I didn’t start a fire…one night was warm enough; we were both too lazy on the other night.  We nearly froze to death on the second night.  I sleep with 5 dogs, so I fared a lot better than he did.  I’m surprised he didn’t ask to borrow a dog or two.

I didn’t want to buy another load of firewood at the end of April, but the MC insisted and ordered a load.  Good thing he did because we have used almost a full cord, which is normal for the dead of winter.  This is more than a little ridiculous.

I remember one summer where it was cold and snowed on the 5th of July.  I remember another summer when it snowed about 6 inches on June 14th.  I don’t want a summer like those again.  I don’t want it to be 100 degrees, but a whopping 50 degrees doesn’t cut it either.

It’s to the point where even my ducks are tired of the rain.

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. skippymom
    May 29, 2011 @ 13:08:55

    Remind me that I never want to live where you live. That is ridiculous. Snow. Freaking snow when it is almost June.

    You must be much closer to the “North Pole” then us. Good luck with that. Wow.

    I usually tell people I live in God’s Country and if that’s the case, God must like shitty weather. Did I bitch about the mud? I should have. Ugh.

    Reply

  2. DarcKnyt
    May 29, 2011 @ 22:26:43

    I’d love to have weather like that all summer. I don’t guess I mean snow, but I do mean cooler. I like cooler. I really do. I hate heat, always have and always will. Alas, tomorrow is supposed to be 90F here.

    I’ll envy your May snow. 🙂

    It will be in the 90s before long and I’ll be bitching. I wish it would stay at around 80. Life would be so good.

    Reply

  3. badbadwebbis
    May 30, 2011 @ 19:56:59

    I thought of you when I saw the pictures in the NYT. We’ve been having beastly hot temperatures, but I can’t quite wish I lived somewhere that gets snow in late May.

    It snowed again yesterday, but the sun is sort of shining today. It is supposed to warm up, but if it warms up too fast, we are going to have an issue with flooding. I’m glad I live on a hill far away from the river.

    Reply

  4. DarcsFalcon
    May 30, 2011 @ 23:11:53

    When I moved here, I heard stories of snow as late as May 30. Scary stuff, to have snow that late!

    Hopefully it’ll melt soon, but thank goodness for the foresight of your roomie!

    I’m afraid we are going to need to buy more wood. I hope I’m not making a fire every night this summer.

    Reply

  5. Historically Crazy
    May 31, 2011 @ 09:24:33

    Coming from just north of you in Canada, I can attest that the weather does weird shit. For the past five or so years there have been two weekends in May that we have always always always gotten snow on the first weekend, and crappy cold the second. Unluckily, the first is a holiday weekend and the second sees my hometown hosting a festival called the Lilac Festival… There haven’t been lilacs there for the longest time.
    And yes, it snows on July and August on a semi-regular basis here. Then doesn’t snow in December…

    We get our lilacs in late June. It’s worse in Laramie…the trees don’t get leaves until the first part of July and it starts snowing again in September. I lived there for 6 years and never got out of sweatshirts. It sucked more than a little bit. Cody is like the tropics compared to Laramie.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

