Rant and Rave

I planned to write this yesterday, but by the time I got home I was too tired to do anything except fall into bed.

Rant #1.  It fucking snowed again yesterday.  Then it rained, I don’t mean misted, I mean RAINED all fucking day.  It finally stopped at around 4 in the afternoon.  Granted the snow was just a dusting, but it was still snow.  My road is nearly impassable.  My driveway is a lake of mud.  My house is so full of mud from the dogs I’m ready to go straight out insane.  I mopped the kitchen floor on Sunday and today it looks as if it hasn’t been mopped in 10 years.  My bed is full of dirt (former mud) from the dogs.  This shit needs to stop before I’m reduced to sitting in the corner and rocking like a mental patient.

Rant #2.  WTF is with the sudden onslaught of large and disgusting zits on my face?  I am going through menopause, not puberty.  It’s as if I’m 14 again, but without all the creepy old perverts hitting on me.  Well, that’s not true.  I went to the bar to pick up my paycheck last week and some 70 year old guy with a long, dirty beard held the door for me.  He then attempted to date me.  He probably saw the zit on my forehead and thought I was a teenager.

/rants

As for the new job…it’s fabulous!  Yesterday was my first non-training shift and I was alone as well.  We had a pretty busy lunch, but I never once felt stressed because the  pace is different.  Pro Rodeo (my male boss) seated 4 tables in a row and asked if I was stressed yet.  I told him one more table in the next 5 minutes would send me over the edge.  About 2 minutes later he seated another table and he took them.  As I got back on my feet, I reclaimed them.  Meanwhile, he helped me bus tables and continued to seat people. 

Guess what?!

I never got yelled at or punished for not being able to do everything all at once.  He and his wife HELP the servers.  It is their business and their JOB to make sure the servers are supported and not freaked the fuck out.  A few tables recognized me from the Harribalsac and were delighted I had “moved up”.  I’m pretty delighted, too and couldn’t wipe the silly grin off my face as I raked in the cash.

I got a table right at 4 and Sunni wasn’t there yet, so I started their drink order.  They wanted a bottle of wine and by the time Sunni got there I already had their food order.  Since I had other stuff to do still, I decided to keep the table rather than turn it over to her.  I would have turned the table over at the Harribalsac since the tip wouldn’t be worth an hour of my time.  I finished my sidework and paperwork, had dinner and collected $20 from the table in less than an hour.

The Spaghetti Western is well worth my time.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sparty Girl
    May 31, 2011 @ 13:17:04

    If you ask me, the rave more than makes up for the rants. Good for you!! I’m so delighted that things are going so well. Love the alias for the boss and especially for the restaurant. 🙂

    I haven’t come up with a nickname for his wife, who is there as much as he is, yet. I’ll have to think about it.

    BTW, I don’t know what it is with adult acne, either, but it sucks. I’ve had more zits in the past 5 years than I did the entire time I was a teenager.

    I think it’s about the same for me. 😦

    Reply

  2. DarcKnyt
    May 31, 2011 @ 14:25:00

    If this could be any better, this new job, I don’t see how. I really don’t. Sending you money for staying at home cleaning mud is the only way, maybe.

    Nice. NIIIIICE.

    I’m so relieved I made a good choice. I was so afraid to leave the Harribalsac, but I don’t miss it in the least.

    Reply

  3. The Idiot (Mark)
    May 31, 2011 @ 14:41:55

    I’m glad you are happy in the new job! Now, if we just get Mother Nature and your complexion to cooperate, all will be fine! 🙂

    The new job is better than I hoped. Mother Nature and my face will do as they please, I’m afraid.

    Reply

  4. Ahmnodt Heare
    May 31, 2011 @ 15:34:10

    I had a huge zit on my nose last month. It turns out that stress is a leading cause of acne in adults.

    I have problems with soap, shampoo, and lotion. Since it’s only on my face I need to look at my moisturizer. It’s one I’ve used for years, but they probably changed the formula so now I need to switch brands. It’s annoying to say the least.

    Reply

  5. skippymom
    May 31, 2011 @ 16:58:39

    You’re cracking me up because I am trying to figure out how to write the whole “what the hell is up with the zits while I am going through menopause” post – I always had decent skin growing up and now at 44 [and the onset of menopause] nature decides I should be in high school? eff that.

    Sorry. Just totally feeling your pain over here. bah.

    It’s insane. I’m embarrassed to go out in public at least once a week.

    Very excited for you and the new job – the owners sound spiff and a $20 tip at the end of the night does not suck. 🙂 Nicely done.

    I’ve learned you don’t turn over a table that orders a bottle of wine. Sunni had a table order a $70 bottle of wine the other night and they left her a $50 tip. Rock on.

    Reply

    • Rachel
      May 31, 2011 @ 21:43:25

      If I’m still not being to nosy and into your personal life…’acne.org’ really helped me. It’s got great resources, explains adult acne, and has ways for people who have acne to communicate, share their research, and rate what has/has not worked for them.

      I’ll look into it. Thanks!

      Reply

  6. thelifeofjamie
    May 31, 2011 @ 17:52:16

    I know we don’t have your snow problem here in So Cal…but it rained for about 3 hours Sunday morning. We have had more rain than we have had in easily 10 years, if not more! I’m O.V.E.R. it!

    It has rained for pretty much the entire month of May. Today was a nice day, but I’m waiting for more rain.

    Reply

  7. Fuck My Table
    May 31, 2011 @ 18:58:24

    I’m so glad this new job is working out well for you! Sounds like the owners are fantastic. Their staff is happy, so their customers probably are too. Congrats on moving up!!

    I know there will be problems & I know everything won’t be perfect every day, but that’s life. I’m willing to bet that the good days outnumber the bad ones though.

    Reply

  8. Rachel
    May 31, 2011 @ 21:35:15

    I hope I don’t come off as nosy or obnoxious…I had acne for a year my last year in college. It was the most frustrating thing in the world…I couldn’t tell myself that it would be over once I was done with puberty, and nothing I did would make it stop. I finally got rid of it with antibiotics….If the acne keeps up, see a doctor. And don’t let him prescribe you shitty topical medications that cost a bunch of money and don’t do you crap. Persistent acne is more of an underlying disorder (eg hormonal changes causing more oil production, exc), and trying to fight it above the skin won’t do much more than treat the zits that are already there without stopping other zits from re-appearing.

    Not nosy at all. We tried antibiotics for my daughter and they worked really well. I don’t think my problem is severe enough for that though. I get one a week and it’s just annoying. Someone else mentioned junk food and I realized I’ve been hitting the Taco Johns drive thru pretty hard lately. I’m going to back off and see if it helps.

    Also, if you want an amazing and cheap way to clear out the zits that are already there–disolve epsom salts in water, rub it over the affected areas, let it sit for 20 minutes or so, rinse it off, and sleep on it. Its amazing.

    I will give that a try. Thanks for the tip!

    Reply

  9. Lucy
    May 31, 2011 @ 22:14:28

    Menopause is puberty revisited with twice the rage. I call it my difficult stage-do I dry up the zits or moisturize the wrinkles?

    Glad the new job is working out for you.

    I’m at a loss too. My skin is dry enough to need a heavy cream, but is that making things worse? I hope this passes soon.

    Reply

  10. Saffire
    May 31, 2011 @ 23:55:41

    Yay for the awesome new job =)
    As for the rain, I feel your pain, it’s becoming winter in aussieland and I hate the rain, the puddles and the mud!
    As for your skin rant, I’m only 19 but I’ve found natural products tend to irritate skin less and so can lessen pimples =)

    Xoxo
    S

    I try to stick with clear soaps for my face. Anything milky causes problems.

    Reply

  11. wigsf
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 09:01:09

    ’bout damn time

    I know 🙂

    Reply

  12. DarcsFalcon
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 13:34:13

    What great news about the job! I’m sure glad to see you out of that other place – it was no good to you or for you, and you certainly didn’t need the juvenile drama crap that was always going on.

    It’s fun working with kids, but then again, kids are a pain in the ass.

    Sorry about the mud and the pimples. Hey! Maybe you could use the mud to put on your face as a mud mask! Clear the pimples, and make good use of the mud the dogs track in all in one fell swoop! 😉

    Trust me, I’ve thought about it. 🙂

    Reply

  13. Anton
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 14:45:02

    I wish you could box up your rain and mail it here. I will return a box full of burning sunshine to you!

    I don’t like burning sunshine. I’d rather have a few days of sun and a few days of rain so everything will stay green. As soon as it stops raining, it will be a desert.

    Reply

  14. An Educated Server
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 23:17:41

    I’m very happy for you! 🙂

    Thank you!

    Reply

  15. Chunky Mama
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 18:09:59

    I am SO happy the new job is working out. Yay!!!
    I hope the rain ends soon. I remember the mud covered dogs/floors/beds from my childhood in the upper Midwest. NOT fun.

    It hasn’t rained in a couple of days, but it’s supposed to happen again this weekend. I can handle that. Just let things dry out a little bit once in a while.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

