Not a Stellar Day

I was not at my best today.  I dropped a Diet Coke on a table and got the guests all wet, and ordered an eggplant parm sub when it should have been eggplant parm no pasta.  I was frustrated and wacked out for the rest of lunch, which was blessedly slow, and didn’t get my feet back under me until after the mini-rush was over.  I expected an ass-chewing since Pro Rodeo had to pull the glass top off the table, dry it out, and replace the table cloth, but he never said anything.  He couldn’t have been harder on me than I was on myself.  I guess that’s what happens when I have two days off in a row.

*****************************

My house looks as if Michael Vick stopped over for a visit.  The dogs got into it again last night.  My son’s friend, Kyle,  came to visit and I thought the bitches were going to fight when he walked in the house.  My son’s dog doesn’t like guys (any guy, which means even my son’s dog thinks he’s a girl) and he kept bull charging Kyle, so they went outside.  I was picking out a Mexican ceramic bathroom sink on ebay and not paying attention when the bitches started to rumble.  It quickly turned into free for all with everyone beating up on Maggie.  Everyone except Otis.  He scooted out the door and was halfway to the highway before Kyle stopped him.

At one point my son got Sienna in a choke hold using his arm and Maggie lunged for her throat, biting my son’s arm as deep as her teeth would go.  Someone bit my boob.  Then someone else bit my son’s hand.  We could not get them to stop.  The fight ended when we finally threw Halo outside, and Maggie and Sienna mutually decided they’d had enough.  I should have thrown Halo out and continued picking out a sink for all the good I did. 

There was blood on the walls and furniture; the carpet looks as if I slaughtered someone.  My shirt was covered in blood and when I rinsed each dog individually in the bath, I knew someone needed stitches and vet attention.  However, no one really has any injuries.  Maggie has a bite on her leg, Sienna has some bites on her head, Halo has a scratch on her chin, and everyone is sore today, but no one, other than my son, is hurt.  Where the hell did all the blood come from?  I wonder if they bang their teeth together, causing a mouth bleed, then rub the blood all over each other.

I’m thinking of investing in a taser or a tranquilizer gun.  If neither works on the dogs, I can always use them on myself.  Holy crap.

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thelifeofjamie
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 17:23:57

    I know nothing about dogs, other than they bark…but does the hose help?

    They were fighting in the house, but I still considered the hose. It couldn’t have made a bigger mess.

    Reply

  2. Sparty Girl
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 17:34:57

    Wow. I don’t know what to do for the dogs except recommend separate corners. I’m glad nobody was badly hurt.

    I realized I’m the dummy. I don’t like collars on dogs, but I always had one for Sienna so I could control her. A few months ago Halo chewed up Sienna’s collar and I haven’t replaced it. If Sienna had been wearing a collar, the fight would have lasted about 30 seconds. Halo’s getting one too since she’s equally an asshole.

    Reply

  3. Chunky Mama
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 18:13:18

    That really sucks. Your poor son. And your boob!! 😦
    I have no useful advice. Sorry!

    I’m more worried about my son, but he thinks it’s some sort of war wound with bragging rights.

    Reply

  4. DarcKnyt
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 18:30:59

    Tranq darts all around. Sheesh. Best way to salvage a bad day? End it. G’night. 🙂

    I vote for that!

    Reply

  5. skippymom
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 19:38:52

    Really? Wow.

    That’s sort of what I said, but with a lot more cussing.

    Reply

  6. Ahmnodt Heare
    Jun 02, 2011 @ 21:05:53

    I have one dog and he does enough damage all by himself. I could see myself freaking out with two dogs.

    Most of the time, life is good, but occasionally the bitches look at one another and decide someone should die.

    Reply

  7. DarcsFalcon
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 00:57:59

    Now that is definitely not a stellar day!

    Too much time off after just having started, and your brain seized up when you went back in. It happens! But I’d put money on it not happening again. 🙂

    No, it won’t.

    Sounds like the dogs need to get out more. Maybe meet a nice hound. Have a puppy or two. 😉

    They are all spayed & neutered so no puppies. As for outside…it was a nice day and they were in the yard playing almost all damned day. I think they had too much excitement. Well, that and they’re bitches.

    Reply

  8. Malachi the Cocktail Slinger
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 02:06:39

    Aww sweetie….–HUG— =) I’m sorry for all that mess. I hate being off my game since I’m normally ALLOVERIT at all times and then it feeds into more frustration. Here’s to tomorrow being a better day!

    I’m usually all over it too. I’ll be all over it tonight. 🙂

    Reply

  9. paulac7
    Jun 03, 2011 @ 08:00:09

    You have my sympathies–I know what it’s like to have 3 medium to large sized dogs go at it–not my idea of good entertainment–I usually just wade in and start kicking ass–couldn’t fathom the fun it must be with your 4 large ones……

    Only 3 were fighting…Otis hides when the fighting starts. Two dogs are getting collars. My bad for not having the troublemakers collared and controllable.

    And a bite on the boob is *painful* sounding!! Hopefully tomorrow will be a better day, and you won’t pour Coke onto the customers, but like Forrest Gump said–“It happens”.

    It’s not as fun as one would think. 😉

    So did you end up picking out a sink after all?? Mexican Ceramic sounds really pretty!–I need a new BR sink–cheap plastic one that I have just pisses me off…….

    I did! If you search “Mexican ceramic sinks” on ebay, you will find more than you can imagine. If that’s not what you’re interested in, search ‘bathroom sinks’ or ‘vessel sinks’. There are some real works of art out there so you shouldn’t be stuck with a cheap plastic one.

    Take care! >^.^<

    Reply

  10. izziedarling
    Jun 04, 2011 @ 14:10:42

    Are you ok? Everyone else had cuts and scratches – but your boob?

    I’m okay…everyone else is too.

    Reply

  11. thatgengirl
    Jun 05, 2011 @ 08:27:13

    It sounds like your dogs are starting to think like a pack. I can’t remember how this goes, but Cesar had something about it on his show once. It can get really dangerous for outsiders if left undealt with.

    They are a pack and behave as such. As long as I’m the alpha, life is good. Too much change sets them off so I try and be mindful of that. All the bitches got collars the day before yesterday. Nothing like a few hard jerks to remind them they are not top dog.

    Reply

    • thatgengirl
      Jun 08, 2011 @ 15:39:21

      Yeah, as soon as I hit send I thought to myself “what the Hell else are they, other than a pack? They’re dogs!” But that’s not quite what I meant. I can’t remember what it was called, but something along the lines of groups of dogs becoming more aggressive as their strength in numbers reminds them of more feral times of yore… But I can’t even get my Boston Terrier to stop barking at television door bells, so what do I know? 🙂

      I knew what you meant. Several dogs can live together without ever getting the pack mentality. Mine are a pack. They also bark at TV doorbells, TV dogs, and anything that goes bump in the night, which can include one of them banging a tail on the wall. If only they were as small as a Boston Terrier…

      Reply

  12. watergirl
    Jun 05, 2011 @ 14:46:23

    My youngest got bit on the arm thanks to her trying to use the “strangle-hold” method on one of our dogs. She was 14 when it happened and the bite wasn’t too bad but enough to warrant a doctor’s visit. One of the dogs required 119 stitches and the other we had to put down.

    HOLY SHIT! I’m glad mine don’t get that out of control/mean with one another. Yes, there’s blood, but mostly they make a lot of noise and slobber all over each other. Again, it was all my fault for not having collars on them, which has since changed.

    I hope YOU are alright. I get the impression your son is alright but are you ok?

    Everyone is okay. I’m just mad at myself for not having them under control. I AM the boss, after all.

    :huggles:
    ~watergirl~

    Reply

  13. Hira Animfefte
    Jun 06, 2011 @ 17:58:45

    I’m glad everything is under control now. It sounds downright scary. Collars are a good idea.

    What keeps them from fighting like that when you’re not home?

    I don’t know. They never have though. Maybe it’s my attention they are competing for. Maybe they like an audience.

    Reply

  14. wigsf
    Jun 07, 2011 @ 10:15:48

    Have they invented that remote controlled zapper chip yet? You know like you have them surgically implanted into the dogs head and you press a garage door opener button remote thingee and it lightly zaps the dog in the brain and it settles down.

    I’m willing to try it since nothing really seems to work.

    Screw it. Why waste that technology on dogs? Sneak it into uppity customers food.

    I’m willing to try that too.

    Reply

  15. mrslinky
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 16:02:58

    I’ve had many a bitch fight and my bitches range in the 90 to 100 pound range. Breaking up those fights are epic. I’ve done it by myself – using furniture and stuff to make a wedge between them and then throw one into another room. Throwing water on them will help too. So, throw the water bowl or whatever liquid you might have handy.

    I wondered about that. What’s a water mess compared to blood all over.

    If you have benefit of another person to help break up the fight then each of you grab the hind legs of a dog and pull upwards and then pull the dogs apart. By getting hind legs off the ground the dogs cannot have traction and continue to grip each others throats.

    That was the only way we got the dogs apart & it was only by accident that I tried it. We managed to get the third dog outside, the second dog was done fighting, but the biggest dog was still going at it. The only thing I could grab onto was one hind leg and the fight stopped immediately. It must hurt a little bit.

    Bitch fights are awful and inflect serious injuries. Boy fights are usually just posturing and a lot of growling, but bitches are trying to kill each other.

    In this case it is two trying to kill one. It’s bad news.

    Watch for infection in the puncture wounds. I use a syringe with half perioxide and half water and flush out the wounds.

    All wounds look good and have pretty much healed. Thanks for the great advice! Hopefully I won’t need it, but I’m sure I will.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

