The Honeymoon is Over

I had a guy scream at me tonight because they had to wait for everything. 

When they, a family of 4, came in, they told the host they were in a hurry.  He told them to let their server (me) know and I could get them out faster.  Then they told one of the passing servers, as if she cared.  When I approached the table for drink orders, they said nothing.  Got their drinks, got their order, took out their salads, we were packed, so their food took a little while, took out their food, pre-bused their table, wife ordered a second glass of wine, took that to the table and all of a sudden the guy was in my face yelling because they had to wait to order, they had to wait for their drinks, they had to wait for their food, and now he had to wait for the check.  Bitch hadn’t even finished her wine.  Not once in all my trips to their table did he mention they were in a hurry.  Not one time.  Then suddenly he’s at the bar screaming at me.  I don’t think so.

He was pissed because they weren’t going to make the rodeo and it was ALL MY FAULT.  Dude.  It was 20 minutes before the rodeo started and guess what?  That fucking thing goes on for 2 hours.  I was steaming mad.  Did I mention they were in and out in less an hour, 40 minutes to be exact.  That’s pretty awesome considering it was a full house and it’s fine dining, not fast food.

When I told Pro Rodeo what happened his response was, “Fuck him.  This isn’t fucking McDonalds.”

However, the douchebag stiffed me on a $75 ticket, so I wanted to punch him in the nuts.

Two hours later I was still pissed off and ranting.  Again Pro Rodeo told me the guy could go fuck himself and to stop thinking about it.  What the fuck.  When you walk into a full restaurant with linen napkins and glass goblets on the table, do you think they are going to bring your food out on a plastic tray in 5 minutes?  Are you high?  Arby’s is half a block from the rodeo grounds, asshole.

I’m still pissed.

Then I got a wonderful (sarcasm) table of locals (5 of them) who ran my ass off for more of everything and left me 8%.  Fucking awesome.  I think Pro Rodeo was more pissed about that than I was, since I know the locals are cheap fuckers.

While those two tables were only a fraction of my total sales and while I appreciate Pro Rodeo’s response to both events, I still feel like hunting the people down and stabbing them with a fork.

Bastards.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chunky Mama
    Jun 08, 2011 @ 23:49:07

    There are shitty people everywhere.
    I hope your next shift is 100% full of awesome.

    It amazes me that people can be shitty no matter where they go. I’m always nice to the waitstaff, but when I go in a place that looks fancy I remember to use my best manners…no elbows on the table, no scarfing down my dinner, no drinking from the soup bowls. I figured other people behaved as well.

    Reply

  2. Pyewacketcat
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 01:15:30

    I have clients like that, they go on and on about how to do their dog,and I do extras for them,and then,not even a freakin thanks for going out of my way,so see,there are asshats in every business.

    But do you keep doing nice things for them for free? I don’t.

    Reply

  3. wigsf
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 03:49:23

    If you’re in a rush, maybe going to a sit-down dining restaurant isn’t the best option for you. When I’m in a rush and I need some food, I find a nearby fast food restaurant. If I’ve got time to kill, then I consider a nicer proper restaurant. If I really want the nicer restaurant, then I’ll accept the fact that I might be late for the next thing.

    Yes, but you’re not a dumbass. This guy clearly was.

    Reply

  4. thelifeofjamie
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 07:02:04

    Breathe in, breathe out…at least pro rodeo isn’t down your back!

    I’ve worked in other places where I would have been screamed at for an hour and told I was a worthless piece of crap. This is so much better.

    Reply

  5. Rachel
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 08:40:12

    At least Pro Rodeo is an awesome boss who doesn’t automatically take the asshat customer’s side. Even if ‘the honeymoon is over’ as far as the customers are concerned, that guy must count for something.

    The customer is NOT always right at the Spaghetti Western. Most of the time they are, but if they are assholes, they are asked to leave. Pro Rodeo knows his staff and sides with them. If some bitch lied and said I assaulted her and her son when I absolutely did not, he would tell them to get the fuck out and don’t come back. It’s a very different place than the Harribalsac.

    Ugh. We had a bitch like that a few days ago, too. She came in with her son, and I knew she was trouble because she was giving the host a hard time. She was in the section next to mine, and I heard her order drinks, then tell her server that she wasn’t ready to order. 2 minutes later, I was walking by her table, and she asks if I can take her order because she’s in such a hurry…then the bitch has the nerve to ask me if the food would take as long as everything else had in here, because she had to be somewhere at 12:30. She came in at 11:55. I came so close to telling her we could give her and her horrible son their burgers raw to accomodate them.

    Again, if you need food in 15 minutes or less, there are many fast food options available. You don’t even have to get out of your car. Some people should not be allowed out in public.

    Reply

  6. DarcKnyt
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 10:00:23

    Good. I”m glad the honeymoon’s over. This shows the kind of person the owner is and you know you can at least commiserate with him about things like this. It’s the hard stuff, not the easy stuff, which makes the people you work with come out and be who they are.

    It is nice to know the owner has my back and doesn’t automatically assume I’m wrong.

    I’m glad to know your in a supportive place. I mean, you still have to deal with lousy customers — ain’t no such place without ’em, period — but now you know how your boss will fall when the chips are down. And that’s a comforting thing, is it not?

    Yes it is.

    🙂 Yay for the move. Boo for the lousy tips.

    Reply

  7. Sparty Girl
    Jun 09, 2011 @ 15:06:08

    I’m with Darc… it had to happen sooner or later. I like Pro Rodeo. It’s good to have him on your side.

    Oh yeah, I didn’t kid myself that every customer would be perfect and with tourist season rolling in, I can expect people in a hurry. Communication is the key.

    Reply

  8. izziedarling
    Jun 15, 2011 @ 13:48:50

    You go, girl. My brain is mush – did the “fast food” bastard walk the check? The thing about the white table cloth/crystal biz is that LOTS of entitlement walks through the door.

    He did pay the check, but no tip. Douchebag. So far, most of the customers have been gracious and generous. I know there have been assholes at the Spaghetti Western, but I haven’t seen them yet…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

