Auto-Grat-1, Asshole-0

Some people from the shitty little town I live in came to the Spaghetti Western last night.  I hate waiting on people I know from here because they think since they know me they can run my ass off for every extra possible and tip 3-5%.  I’m supposed to be flattered that they came to where I work.  Guess again.

So when I saw these two I groaned.  When I heard they were with a party of 10 I relaxed a little, but I still considered giving them up because I seriously don’t like them and the feeling is pretty mutual.  Their son-in-law is loaded, I mean really, really loaded.  He’s the heir to a large soft drink fortune, but as Pro Rodeo said, “he doesn’t look smart enough to pour piss out of a boot.”  He isn’t.

Dinner went very well.  Pro Rodeo & his wife (still don’t have a nickname for her) backed me up and the table didn’t lack for service in any way.  When the father-in-law requested the ticket, I ignored him and sold desserts, which added another $5 to the auto grat.  Then I took the ticket to him and sweetly told him that the computer automatically adds an 18% gratuity to the ticket for parties of 6 or more.  He was PISSED.  He was more PISSED when he saw the auto-grat was $50.

Left on their own, these two usually tip 12-15%, which still would have been a pretty large tip, but I wasn’t taking any chances since we don’t like each other.  I figured if one of us was going to be pissed about the tip, I’d rather it be him.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Jun 12, 2011 @ 13:05:09

    People forced to tip on the ticket. Easy, peasy. Hehehe.

    Now if we could just find a way to force that guy to sign over his inheritance to me. Legally. You know, without the usual kidnapping/ransom thing which so isn’t effective. 😉

    Kidnapping isn’t that hard, it’s returning the body, I mean, the kidnappee once you get the money.

    Reply

  2. Rachel
    Jun 12, 2011 @ 13:37:00

    God bless the auto-grat system, I don’t know how you stuck it out at your old place without one. There is nothing better than the look in cheap fuckers’ faces when they realizer that they have no choice but to leave you a moderately decent tip.

    People don’t realize how much work goes into one large table. Other tables suffer, which lowers your tip, or you get skipped in rotation. Last time I checked, servers worked to make money just like everyone else.

    Reply

  3. Sparty Girl
    Jun 12, 2011 @ 14:51:26

    It’s not as if they should be surprised by the auto-grat, either, because restaurants that do that print it right there on the menu for everybody to see.

    I’ve learned no one reads the menu.

    So cool for you. It’s nice to start getting your own back…

    I am happy as hell to be at the Spaghetti Western.

    Reply

  4. Fuck My Table
    Jun 12, 2011 @ 22:58:27

    I’m so pleased to read this. I freaking LOVE autograt. Chili’s didn’t give it to us until my last months there, and even then it was kind of crappy because we never could request that it be added; the computer had some stupid ass way of determining if grat was needed, and it never offered to add it when I REALLY wanted it. Pshh.
    I, too, enjoy the look of anger on someone’s face when they realize they’ve been auto-gratted. But seriously, if you go out in a large group do you really expect NOT to have it added on automatically? People are idiots.

    It’s printed on the menu, but I have learned people don’t read menus. I think we should have an auto-grat for locals.

    Reply

  5. PurpleGirl
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 03:35:19

    Excellent! I am envious of your autograt. 🙂

    I’m quite pleased with it myself.

    Reply

  6. DarcsFalcon
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 23:05:12

    Hahahahaha! I wish I could have seen the look on his face!

    It was pretty excellent.

    I’m still not sure how I feel personally about the autograt – I go back and forth on it – but to see it take down a known lousy tipper, well I guess that’s what it was designed for. 🙂

    I was skipped twice in the rotation in order to give that one table the service they deserved. Without the auto-grat, if they had tipped the usual 12%, I would have lost money. I’m there to make money and the auto-grat is in place to ensure good service and that the server is compensated. I’ve removed the auto-grat on a couple of 6 tops, once I got a feel for the group, and it’s always been in my favour.

    Reply

  7. An Educated Server
    Jun 14, 2011 @ 03:14:29

    Gratuity is A-MAZ-ING! At times, I wish we did grat for 6 or more, but right now, it’s just 8. Either way, I love the conversations that I hear when I drop those checks off with the gratuity included. They are classic! Congrats on the $50…you definitely worked that gratuity in your favor!

    The conversations are pretty funny. I’ve removed the auto-grat a couple of times in my favour and will continue to do so, but for those where I get the cheap ass vibe, I leave it on.

    Reply

  8. skippymom
    Jun 14, 2011 @ 14:50:53

    I always said, in the sweetest voice, “Since you’re a party of X [usually 8 or more] an auto grat of 18% has been added.” I am like you, I would never not tell a table the grat was on there – I would rather face the “fight” first then come back to a pissy mood. Funnily enough I never had a problem with it, but it was pretty prominent on most of the menus I dealt with.

    We have to tell them and highlight it, or we don’t get it. The first week I trained, there was a table of cackling women who would NOT pay attention. My trainer did tell them about the auto-grat, but surprise, they weren’t listening. The next day the biggest pain in the ass of the group came back and complained.

    If it isn’t highlighted, Pro Rodeo doesn’t see it when he does the paperwork and he has to search for why the books are off and by the time he finds it, he’s pissed off & cussing the server. He holds the auto-grat long enough to make the server sweat and she never forgets to highlight it again. Not speaking from personal experience.

    Reply

  9. watergirl
    Jun 14, 2011 @ 15:07:08

    I don’t mind the auto-grat s’much. It’s a base of what SHOULD be expected and usually the people who get asstastic over it are the cheapskates *anyway*.

    Personally, I’m a big believer in the 20% range. For great service begets great tips. Or something like that. 🙂

    :huggles:
    ~watergirl~

    I always tip 20% or more. I only went out with a large party one time and before it was over I wanted to kill one of the women for being a cheap shit. She drank more than the cost of her dinner and then bitched about being auto-gratted on the booze. I don’t know how many times the rest of us told her to STFU and pay her bill. In the end, the others and I paid her share and never invited her out again.

    Reply

  10. izziedarling
    Jun 15, 2011 @ 13:38:35

    Woo Hoo – karma! Maybe you should call the wife, “Cinderella Rockerfeller”

    They are both a couple of Rockerfellers. I asked my roommate, who waits on them pretty frequently, and he said they are straight 10 percent-ers. I’ll bet they never come back.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

