He Makes Me Look Good

On several occasions I have fucked up orders beyond belief and, it seems, beyond repair.  Three times come to mind.  All three times I’ve ran screeching into the kitchen, in a hair pulling panic, and told Al-Quieda my problem.  Each time he’s smiled, told me it’s an easy fix and made me look good.

Two of the times were with the special white pizza.  I am ridiculous about this.  We have a white pizza, which is just cheese with white sauce, or the white special pizza, which has all the toppings.  For some reason, even though my brain says, “White Special” my finger hits the “White Pizza” button on the computer and I don’t realize my error until the pizza is ready to go out.  Both times Al-Quieda has lightly sautéed the veggies, put the meat on the pizza covered it all with a little cheese and popped it back in the oven.  The end result is a pizza people rave over.  He makes me look good.

Last night, at the end of the night, I had a table of 6, who had a $50 drink ticket on top of their meals.  The auto grat was $25.  One lady ordered a side salad, which I abbreviated Sal, and another lady ordered the salmon, which I abbreviated Sal.  Do you see a problem here?  Well, I didn’t.  I entered two side salads into the computer, but when the food came up I knew I was missing something.  I looked at my notes and still couldn’t figure it out.  I took the food out and asked what I was missing.  The freaking salmon.  I ran back to the kitchen, where Al-Quieda laughed at me and said it would be a 6 minute fix.  I went back to the table, took the blame and explained to the lady what happened.  Six minutes and another margarita later, the lady had her salmon, which she said was the best salmon she had ever eaten.  I removed the auto grat since I failed miserably.  They tipped me $40.  Once again, he made me look good.

Thanks for not killing me!

For his effort, I tipped Al-Quieda $10 last night.  Bless his heart, he said, “You need this more than I do.  I make more than you do.”  When I stopped laughing, I told him to quit whining and keep the tip.  Anyone who makes me look good deserves compensation.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thelifeofjamie
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 14:40:47

    he sounds like a nice man!

    He is. 🙂

    Reply

  2. DarcKnyt
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 16:57:00

    A friend in need, eh? Nice to have that in a pinch.

    It’s nice to know someone’s there to back you up.

    Reply

  3. Fuck My Table
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 19:05:27

    Awesome! I can’t tell you how often a cook at BC has saved my ass when I fucked something up good. Glad your kitchen staff has your back. 🙂

    Me too! It’s such a change from the Harribalsac.

    Reply

  4. Anton
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 05:38:04

    This sounds so delightfully different from the previous cook situation. Yay!

    The previous cooks were idiots who were allowed to get away with being idiots.

    Reply

  5. DarcsFalcon
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 22:48:25

    Aw that’s so nice! It’s good to have support like that where you work!

    And at home too. 🙂

    Support at home (giggle). The former MC has a new name: My Drunken Roommate. He’s been setting records for being disgustingly drunk.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

