2nd Gear

Pro Rodeo makes fun of me for being stuck in 1st gear.  I tell him it’s a good gear, it gets things done with few mistakes and the customers seem to like it.  Last night I had to kick it in to 2nd gear.

When I got to work, the first thing Pro Rodeo said was the night was slow last year so we should expect a crummy night.  Sigh.  I need to make some money.

First off for me was a table of 6 semi-bitchy women.  Twice when I walked away from the table they called Skinny Girl over to ask her a question.  Here’s the deal:  the entire waitstaff is not at your disposal.  If you have a question either ask your server (me) or wait until I get back.  The second time it happened I was about 3 feet away from their table and I told Skinny Girl, “If they call you over again, please tell them you will get their server.  They are being more than a little ridiculous.”  Yeah, they overheard me.  No, I didn’t give a shit.  Skinny Girl had her own tables to wait on, which is sometimes more than she can handle.

Dinner went well.  They had wine, appetizers, entrees and desserts.  The restaurant slowly filled up.  I was giving them their ticket when the gunfighters down the street did their nightly “go out in a blaze of glory” gig.  That’s the signal for us to get ready for the dinner rush.  What happened next was outright insanity.

Every night Pro Rodeo says, “last night set a sales record.”  Well last night is going to be hard to beat.  I’m not going to lie, I had my ass handed to me so far in the weeds I lost 3 hours of my life.  Before work I wove a jingle bell in my hair so I could enjoy the sound and amuse my customers, but honestly, I wouldn’t have known if my hair was on fire for most of the night.  The hostess, who almost got her very own post, rocked by keeping us in sections for the most part.  Even at that I was pretty much rushing to tables, throwing food at them and praying they didn’t need anything else.

When that sort of insanity happened at the Harribalsac, I counted on making about 12% and I expected as much last night.  Imagine my surprise when I counted my money and realized I made 21% or $36 an hour.  Freaking i.n.s.a.n.e.  Again, hats off to all the great people I work with.  If everyone didn’t work as a team FOR the customers; if the food was crappy, or the hostess was rude, or Pro Rodeo wasn’t entertaining people waiting for a table, or if the busers felt they were entitled to a break during the dinner rush, or the dishwasher was having a personal revolt, the customers would have less of a dining experience.  I’ve come to realize the best service in the world won’t net you 21% if everything else sucks.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. skippymom
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 09:26:08

    WOW! Kudos to you & your co workers! Yippppeee

    We rock!

    Reply

  2. wigsf
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 09:33:58

    Seriously, a bell in your hair?

    Yep & yellow Crocs on my feet.

    Reply

  3. Chunky Mama
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 10:06:37

    Glad the night ended up being worth all the hard work! 🙂

    I’m amazed at how well all this is going.

    Reply

  4. Rebel
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 10:10:02

    You got to rock out with bells on! Yay for living a cliché!

    I have a feeling I’m a cliche on many levels.

    Reply

  5. paulac7
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 15:34:11

    wow–I wouldn’t know what to do at my restaurant if teamwork was actually used……Glad you work at a place where everybody plays well together. But then like I’ve said before, the servers with the exception of about 5 of them all have overblown senses of entitlement. Too busy gossiping and texting and whatnot, instead of doing pre-shift, then when the rush hits, it’s not pretty. That’s why I work in the back–plus I frighten them!!

    Texting isn’t allowed andsince we’re a small crew gossiping is just bad manners. Both were constant at the Harribalsac.

    The bells were a nice touch–I might have to steal that idea!!

    Bells are fun!

    Like I said before, I would LOVE to work a shift with you–you sound like me, if I could wait tables–so consider me as you if you were a prep cook. (that’s not creepy, is it?). I also love the nickname ‘Pro Rodeo’…… I have nicknames for my mgrs, also, but they are not so polite LOL

    I would love to work with you as well! I had nicknames for my former co-workers and they weren’t nice either.

    Thanks again for writing–I really enjoy your blog!!

    Thank you!

    >^.^<

    Reply

  6. leaner
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 18:12:21

    So glad you found a gig that recognizes your talents!
    Waiting tables is a whole different game when everyone at work realizes the goal.
    I’m happy for you!

    The whole situation is just awesome!

    Reply

  7. DarcKnyt
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 07:01:19

    And when the barbecue restaurant is an empty husk bearing “For Lease” on dust-crusted windows and weeds popping seeded heads through cracked asphalt skin, this restaurant will flourish and be highly recommended in travel sites and magazine and brochures for fine food, service and staff.

    That should be in… what? four, five months? 😉

    I will not be surprised if they close for the winter in October or November. Will not surprise me at all.

    Reply

  8. Sparty Girl
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 16:33:55

    Cool! I want to know how Pro Rodeo entertains those waiting for a table… rope tricks?

    He says Rockstar (his wife) sells the spaghetti while he sells the bullshit. He’s funny.

    Reply

  9. DarcsFalcon
    Jun 24, 2011 @ 00:07:49

    It takes a restaurant to serve a meal. 🙂

    Sounds like this hostess rocks, keeping you sectioned off as best she could like that, what a help that must have been!

    Wish manager D could see you! LOLOL Let’s see who’s crawlin’ now! Hahahahaha! 😀

    I have spies and apparently things are horrible at the Harribalsac. Rumour has it he’s done in October when his contract is up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

