Strange Things Are Afoot at the Circle K

Yesterday when I got to work Pro Rodeo asked how good my memory was.  Uh…  Apparently, on Tuesday night when we were busy as hell, the money from two of my tables vanished.  Oddly enough, it was Table 3 both times.

See that green stuff in there? It goes in the register.

Last week the hostess almost got her very own unkind post.  The reason was I picked up a check presenter book in the waitstation and found one of my tickets with the cash payment inside.  I took it to her and told her she needed to be a little more careful picking up cash off tables.  She said she didn’t have to do anything with the cash, took the book from me and tossed it beside the register before she sat on her ass at the bar.  I was fucking furious.  Guess who’s name is on that ticket?  Guess who is responsible for the cash?

When Pro Rodeo asked me, I remembered the two tables in question and I know for certain I did NOT pick the money up from the tables.  We know they didn’t walk on the tickets because when I did my tickets at the end of the night, both were in my box, which is why no one knew anything was wrong until the next day when Pro Rodeo counted the register.  The money isn’t there.  They didn’t pay with a credit card.

When the first people at Table 3 got ready to leave, I was up to my ass in customers.  I saw them leaving and asked the hostess if she had picked up payment from the table.  She said she had.  The next time I had people at Table 3 was at the end of the night.  I dropped off their check when I dropped the food off for Table 4, asked the hostess to collect payment from Table 3 and went outside for a much needed break. 

So what the hell?  Did she shove their payment in my box?  Could she be that stupid?  I made 21% that night, which was totally unexpected.  Was part of that money the Spaghetti Western’s?  I offered to pay for the tickets, but Pro Rodeo declined.  I reminded him about the cash in the check presenter, but he looked in all the books and the cash wasn’t there.  This means she’s either stealing or too stupid to work with us.  And why is it only my tickets?  Table 3 wasn’t the only table to pay with cash, but they were the only cash payments I didn’t pick up.  Just because I’m paranoid doesn’t mean they’re not out to get me.

We now have to initial the ticket anytime we run the register or a credit card, so if there is a problem, it will be obvious who is the problem.  I’m betting the problem stops immediately.  There wasn’t any accountability before.  It is funny though, that there has been trouble with the money only on the nights when she works.  That’s a big finger pointing right at her.

In other news, our only male server got fired last night midshift.  I stepped outside for a cigarette while Al-Quieda took out the trash.  I told him Pro Rodeo was completely pissed off and was going to kill the server.  When I went back in, Pro Rodeo told him to get off the clock.  Uh…that’s bad.  Then I heard him say, “The decision’s been made, this isn’t open for discussion.”  I hauled ass to the kitchen and hid.  I know his fuck ups have been huge and legendary.  The cooks wanted to kill him, so I know it was bad, what with all the teamwork that goes on.

Pre-summer crazies…ya gotta love ’em.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Jun 24, 2011 @ 19:33:24

    Wow, stealing. And not like staples or paperclips, either. Money. In a restaurant where the owner is there almost daily. Very foolish.

    Some sort of bullshit is going on. I know I’m covering my ass when she’s around.

    Reply

  2. Rachel
    Jun 24, 2011 @ 21:06:21

    She must be stealing. She probably is only taking your cash tickets because she hoped Pro Rodeo would pin the new gal for it over her. Jesus, I know that hostesses aren’t paid much (I was one, once upon a time), but it is pathetic to steal in general, and just sad to steal from co-workers.

    She’s newer than I am. I might have been the only one with cash tickets or she might not have a healthy fear of me. I’m really nice until you piss me off. Most people pay with credit cards so it was probably just a matter of opportunity. It won’t happen again.

    I’m suspecting similiar shit is happening at my place…not with the tickets themselves (fortunately)–but I’m 90% sure a busser took some of a cash tip. I can’t prove it, but the people weren’t the type to leave a shitty tip, and the guy is new and sort of shifty.

    Oh busers… You have to trust them, but many of them are untrustworthy. So far I’ve never had to worry about a buser, but I’ve had hostesses steal money off my tables. Bitches.

    Reply

  3. wigsf
    Jun 25, 2011 @ 05:45:45

    A Bill and Ted’s reference. Nice.

    🙂

    Reply

  4. Sparty Girl
    Jun 25, 2011 @ 07:44:44

    Oh, man… I agree with Rachel. She’s doing it to you because you’re new and she thinks she can get away with it. Thank goodness Pro Rodeo is cool and doesn’t seem to be blaming you.

    She’s newer than I am. I think she doesn’t know what a shit I can be since I’ve been really nice. For the most part, I leave the confrontation to Sunni, but she will figure it out. Since they fired the guy server, they’ve put her on as a server and I think they are hiring a different host/hostess. We’ll see how much of her cash comes up missing. I think she’s a stealer.

    Why “pre-summer” crazies? Aren’t you into tourist season? I thought it would be “summer” crazies.

    June is the warm up for summer. The park didn’t open until late this year, kids are still in school, and so on. July 1st is when summer really gets crazy.

    Reply

  5. Beth
    Jun 25, 2011 @ 08:37:05

    Wait, I want to know what the server was doing! Don’t leave me hanging! 🙂

    He couldn’t remember to send the order to the kitchen, he forgot tables, his tip percentage was shit, he had a tendency to get snotty with me, and sweat poured off him in buckets. He was a nice enough guy, but serving wasn’t his deal.

    Reply

  6. tipsfortips
    Jun 25, 2011 @ 09:12:13

    I’ve never liked cash register systems for exactly this reason. There are huge accountability gaps and it leads to situations like this. Hope it all gets sorted out soon.

    The money system is shit. It’s fine in the winter when things are slow, but it’s completely disorganized when things get busy. You would have nightmares if I told you what went on. We have a pretty kick ass computer program & I don’t know why we don’t use it. Maybe someday…

    Reply

  7. DarcsFalcon
    Jun 26, 2011 @ 23:29:06

    It all sounds so hinky. She has no reason to have any problem with you. Hopefully the new system will end any future issues.

    They need to set up the computer to be a cash register. It is a pretty awesome system that they aren’t using.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

