Hot Shit

 Apparently, I’m it. Every two weeks Pro Rodeo figures our tip percentages and writes it on our checks. I keep track of my tip percentages every day, but he likes to know how we’re doing as well. Out of 5 servers, I led the pack in percentage and sales. There were some near tears over this news, and I soothed one server by telling her I have a great mentor, so it really wasn’t fair.

If anyone at the Harribalsac cared enough to keep track of tip percentages they would have realized that I was consistently one of the top money makers, and therefore one of the top servers. Money talks, bullshit walks. I had the reputation for being the worst server who had the most complaints, a rumour started by a hostess who didn’t like me. In nearly four years no one ever took the time to see if her claim was valid, so “The Worst Server” title followed me around. All I can say is “Fuck you, you stupid assholes.”

Pro Rodeo is way impressed with me. He seriously can’t say enough good things about me, and my head is getting really big. But then, he cares about his business and he’s out on the floor every night seeing what goes on rather than listening to bullshit gossip.

Not only am I Hot Shit, but the Spaghetti Western is as well. I keep track of my money; how much I make, my percentage, my hourly rate, how many tables I had, my tip average per table, and night shift versus day shift. OCD has its advantages. About mid-month I compared this year versus last year at the Harribalsac. I figured I would come out about even for June, but I told myself there was no way I could beat August, my busiest month at the Harribalsac. The Spaghetti Western just isn’t big enough. We can’t do that level of business.

So, the month is nearly over and colour me flabbergasted. I made more money in June, my slowest month at the Harribalsac than I did in August, my busiest month. Not only that, I made more money working fewer hours, with fewer tables.  Add in a free shift meal, a free shift drink, an air conditioned dining room, and co-workers who rock, and I’m truly blessed.

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcsFalcon
    Jun 30, 2011 @ 01:24:54

    Wow! What a difference! Good for you hon, I’m really happy for you. 🙂 You made some positive changes in your life (by dumping that dump) and look how it’s paying off! *applause* You GO girl! 😀

    I’m pretty happy for me too!

    Reply

  2. wigsf
    Jun 30, 2011 @ 05:53:18

    What the fuck kind of hormones do you Americans pump into the bulls if their shit is walking?

    Everything is tough in America, even the shit.

    Reply

  3. DarcKnyt
    Jun 30, 2011 @ 05:59:36

    I’m so happy for you. I know what it is to finally be someplace where you’re wanted and treated like a person of worth. Prayers answered.

    Have they ever!

    Reply

  4. thelifeofjamie
    Jun 30, 2011 @ 07:39:30

    Kick ass and take names!

    I plan on it.

    Reply

  5. Rachel
    Jun 30, 2011 @ 08:52:09

    The Spagetti Western sounds like it is server heaven! I’m glad you are finally in a place where you are appreciated!

    It is server heaven!

    Reply

  6. tipsfortips
    Jun 30, 2011 @ 10:48:50

    Congrats. It is great to be someplace where you are recognized and appreciated.

    Now you just need to sell the boss on the idea of bringing your mentor out to do a seminar. I would do it for the price of a plane ticket because after following this blog for a year, I really want to see these restaurants in person. I am sure we could even start a few rumors around the harribalsac

    You are needed much more at the Harribalsac…starting with the owners and working on down to the hostesses. But no one would listen.

    Maybe we could start the rumour that we were the new buyers. 🙂

    Reply

  7. izziedarling
    Jun 30, 2011 @ 11:38:22

    Rah! So glad you work where you are appreciated. So great! *patting you on back*

    I love it!

    Reply

  8. Anton
    Jun 30, 2011 @ 12:27:21

    That is so fantastic! I’m glad your new place is working out and your life is significantly improved by the changes. Especially air conditioning.

    Air conditioning rules!

    Reply

  9. CJ
    Jun 30, 2011 @ 15:17:45

    I’m so glad things are working out for you! 🙂

    Me too! I needed some good things.

    Reply

  10. Hira Animfefte
    Jun 30, 2011 @ 17:21:13

    Well, we always knew you rocked! 🙂

    Thank you.

    Reply

  11. Pyewacketcat
    Jun 30, 2011 @ 17:52:52

    You are where you deserve to be,so happy for you….. I need a new career.

    I’m so happy to be here.

    Reply

  12. Chunky Mama
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 09:15:25

    I am SO GLAD the new job is working out for you on all fronts. That is just AWESOME. 🙂
    Have a fabulous holiday weekend!

    Hope your weekend was great! Mine was busy, busy, busy.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

