Extreme Bull Riding

Here you go.

The 4th of July rodeo weekend kicked off last night with the Extreme Bull Riding and I got my ass handed to me.  I swear everyone in Cody came to eat between 5 and 6:30.  We had a trainee, who got skipped every other rotation, which meant the other server and I got pounded into the ground for an hour and a half.

Things were going great until some blow hard and his family came in.  I already had 5 other tables, but he acted like I was his personal servant.  Every fucking time I walked by his table he had to shout out some request and it was for either stuff we don’t serve or something that wasn’t easy to grab from the waitstation.  I wanted to kick him in the head and punch him in the liver.

One woman said her coffee was cold so I made a new pot.  Then she complained that it was “cowboy coffee”.  It’s Seattle’s Best Coffee…quality coffee, not typical restaurant coffee.  She didn’t care and they stiffed me, but I forgot to give them their credit card back, so I guess we’re even.

In the madness, I forgot to put an order in the computer.  I took their salads out, refilled their drinks, told Al-Quieda I was ready for their food and discovered the error.  He put a rush on the food, which was all from the back half of the kitchen (that’s another story), and 20 minutes later the ticket was still sitting on the counter.  Al-Quieda left the front of the kitchen and made the damned food for me, but the table walked out with about 3 minutes left on their pizza.  I told Pro Rodeo what happened and he said, “You own that ticket.”  Fair enough.  It was a $50 ticket, but it was better than getting an ass chewing at that point.

There wasn’t one of us who didn’t make a huge assed mistake like that, but in the end things calmed down.  I let the dining room control me instead of controlling the dining room.  I should have told the blow hard to STFU and stop running my ass off.  I couldn’t service my other tables because of him and I never let that happen.

Because I so quickly agreed to buy the walk out’s ticket and didn’t argue, Pro Rodeo bought the pizza, the people left $10 on the table, and I was able to buy the rest of the ticket at employee cost.  I sold one dinner to another server and ended up paying $10.  It’s a lesson I won’t forget and blow hards will wait their turn.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 15:53:00

    I had a bit of a challenge yesterday too. Wednesday I was supposed to do this data update on this report I send out weekly for my boss. When I get the responses I have to put them into a web page which crunches them down to something manageable and English-like and then spews out a spreadsheet. I have to do that by Wednesday morning at 10:30. But I spaced it off completely because my boss was out of the office traveling with one of the customer reps and the new customer rep supervisor. The pricing manager is out all week on vacation so I have to cover the pricing inbox (which is a long story, but suffice to say when something comes into the mailbox it has be to put up pronto in a different system), and I had to watch the supervisor’s mailbox too.

    So with the warranty claims mailbox, my own email, the customer service supervisor’s email and the pricing inbox, I couldn’t get a moment of peace. And I completely forgot to do the report updating.

    My boss got back Thursday around 1PM. I noticed, at about 4PM, a bunch of unread mail items in my email I didn’t notice before. I checked it and I’ll be damned, there were all the responses my boss had sent me on Monday and Tuesday. All of ’em.

    I about crapped myself. I had to scramble to find my notes (I’ve only done this one other time on my own), get the copying/pasting/uploading done and send it to two big-wigs who were expecting it on Wednesday morning.

    And the worst part is, the reason my boss gave it to me was so he could stop forgetting to do it on time and take some pressure off himself. I felt like a complete loser, but he never said anything. He wouldn’t though, he’s classy.

    So, not exactly the same but similar in a pressured, this-ain’t-happening-EVER-again sort of way. I’ve set a calendar reminder for myself to notify me Wednesday morning that I have to do it.

    Sorry for the long post, but I wanted you to know I can commiserate. We’ll both get better at our new stuff, too. 🙂

    Learning new stuff kinda sucks. The challenge is nice, but sometimes I feel like my brain is full and I can’t learn anything else. Then there are the days where it’s like I’ve forgotten everything. Ugh.

    Reply

  2. Pyewacketcat
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 15:54:51

    You know,anyone in any service job has had a day like that,it happens.I have forgotten to do something a client asked for, and most of the time they are nice about it,but there are those you are secretly glad you jacked it up.
    Chalk it up to a shit happens day and go on…. no one is perfect.Even the boss who thinks she is….lol

    Shit does happen. It’s nicer when you screw up on the people who most deserve it though.

    Reply

  3. Rachel
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 21:07:17

    Ugh. Fuckers like that need to be told that they are as important, and deserve as much service–no more, maybe less–that everyone else in the joint. Maybe I sound ‘uppity’, but some people come in in order to specifically force the staff to run a million unnecessary hoops around them. I wouldn’t say that that is true for all blowhards, but a fair number of them do it.

    I don’t know why I was busting my ass (my 18% was guaranteed) and really, it wouldn’t have been a big deal if the restaurant hadn’t filled up. Most people with a brain see that a server has other tables to wait on and they back off, but this guy got worse with every new table. He was like a spoiled child looking for attention.

    Reply

  4. Sparty Girl
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 14:54:06

    If you didn’t keep learning you wouldn’t be living. 🙂 It sounds like it could have been a whole lot worse. Hang in there!!

    Yeah, I could have ended up in jail.

    Reply

  5. DarcsFalcon
    Jul 04, 2011 @ 21:00:30

    When you go into a restaurant at a busy time, it’s best to remember that things are going to be rushed and you’re not going to get the same level of personal service you might get at slower times. A server just can’t spread themselves that thin! Why aren’t people more patient?

    I need to remember not to let blowhards push me around.

    At least things were smoothed over, lessons were learned so they won’t have to be repeated, and everything’s calmer now. It’s all good, right? 🙂 Hope you had a wonderful 4th!

    Ugh. The 4th. That’s a dirty word around here.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

