Mental Health Day

The only thing that got me through the 4th of July weekend was the thought of having the 5th off.  Late in the evening of the 4th, someone texted me that they were sick and wouldn’t be able to work the night of the 5th.  I reluctantly agreed to cover.  I know my limits and it is less about physical exhaustion than it is mental exhaustion.  I am pretty reclusive and having a mass of people in my face for 7 days straight makes me really freaking mean.

The Things I Can’t Tolerate When I’m On Social Overload

  • Making smart assed comments about the 18% gratuity.  If you don’t want to pay for service, may I suggest the Harribalsac or one of our fine fast food establishments.  One of those places is bound to be in your price range.
  • Micro-managing me.  If you are sharing a dish, I AM smart enough to bring extra plates.  You don’t have to tell me.  You especially don’t have to tell me when I’m standing at your table with the extra fucking plates in my hand.  It will cause me to wave them in your face and ask, “You mean like these extra plates right here?”
  • When you ask a question and I give you an answer don’t stare at me as if I’m lying.  Even if I am, your stare isn’t going to break me.  The answer is what it is and it isn’t going to change.
  • Being unable to make a decision on your own.  Asking what I like best is annoying.  Nine out of ten times people don’t order what I tell them is the best thing on the menu, so why waste the time.  Asking which is the better of two dishes is more reasonable, but sitting at the table and making me responsible for your dinner pisses me off.  For the record, the penne with oil, shaved garlic & basil chicken is the best thing on the menu.  I eat it every night.
  • Telling me to put the salad dressing on the side.  The last time I had a salad with dressing on it was sometime in the 80s.  I think restaurants have figured out people don’t like their salad floating in dressing, nor can the restaurant afford to float a salad in dressing.  Portion cups are the answer.  So unless you’ve been asleep for the last 30 years, chances are your fucking dressing is going to come in one.  Don’t tell me what I already know.
  • Being a bitch.  If you want to play ‘Who’s the bigger bitch,’ I’m going to win.  I’m going to charge you for everything I possibly can, your food and drinks will take f.o.r.e.v.e.r. to get to you, and your bitchy and snide comments will be met with equal bitchy and snide comments.  The difference is I’m pretty thick skinned and I know if you are beating up a server, you aren’t.  I will make you cry.  As for the tip, I knew as soon as you opened your bitchy mouth I wasn’t going to get one and damned if I’ll suck up to you for a few dollars.  You will sit and wait for everything while I take care of my other customers who have manners.  Will you learn?  No.  Will you wonder why you are always treated like shit in restaurants?  No.  Do I care?  Not at all.
  • Demanding what you already have.  “I need a twirling spoon!”  “You mean like the one that’s in your bowl?”  “We need bread!”  “You mean the stuff that’s in the basket right in front of you?”  “I want water!”  “In addition to the two carafes on the table?”  See how this works?  It gets less pleasant as the night goes on.

Today I’m enjoying my mental health day.  I slept late, had a pizza, and started using my electronic cigarette.  When it cools off I’m going to mow some of the yard, finish my laundry, watch a movie and read.  Tomorrow I will be refreshed and ready for another week.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rachel
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 18:29:28

    I’m like you, too. I’m introverted, and I’m nice when my first shift of the week starts, then go down from there. I especially agree with your comments on people who bitch about the grat. I love not giving them any service, when they absolutely have to pay for it. It’s one of those rare irronies I love to inflict on people who probably never tip when they go out.

    I also have laundry issues. If my work clothes aren’t hanging nice and neat, I start to have an anxiety attack. I have enough clothes to last a week, but if I have to start digging them out of a clothes basket or a pile on my dresser, I need some time off.

    I do have one pet peeve that you probably share: People who ignore you & waste your time while you are at the table, because they are responding to every whim of some brat of theirs. They start their order, the little fucker screams, they turn around and talk to them, then turn back to you, and forgot what they ordered, and just as we are getting to drinks, the crotchspawn wants crayons, and then…

    There are few customers that I am actually rude to, but I will roll my eyes in front of those idiots, and I don’t give a fuck if they turn away from the little prince/princess and catch me doing it.

    If children are ill mannered, I hate the parents and the kids. The worst parents and crotchspawn came to the Harribalsac. I hated them all. I’m starting to get over my hatred of children because 95% of them who come to the Spaghetti Western are well mannered, no matter what the age. I’ve heard a few screamers, but the parents immediately removed them, unlike at the Harribalsac where they would just let them scream. The Spaghetti Western isn’t really ‘family dining’ and parents aren’t willing to shell out $100 to fight with their brats when they can go somewhere like the Harrbalsac and do it for $30.

    Reply

  2. wigsf
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 03:12:48

    electronic cigarette…
    is that what you smoke after using an electronic male replacement device?

    Yep. I save my real cigarettes for real sex.

    Reply

  3. Skippymom
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 05:24:17

    I had no idea the “on the side” thing was such a peeve. Around here if you don’t ask for it on the side they will put it on and it is too, too much.,

    I guess I don’t get out of the state much. I haven’t had dressing on my salad since the 80s. Again, it must be a Wyoming thing. I’ll back off.

    I am sorry you had to work 7 days straight – that is just HARD, I can’t imagine.

    It’s not a big deal normally, but the 4th of July weekend is Hell, pure and simple. I wish they closed the restaurant for the 5th & 6th because everybody needs a break.

    Hope you have a few days off coming soon.

    I had yesterday off. Then I’m covering for someone on Friday, my other day off, then I have a double on Saturday and I have no idea when my next day off is since we are down 2, possibly 3 servers. It won’t be as bad as the 4th weekend, though.

    And may I say – I spit my coffee out when I read wigsf. Now that’s funny!!

    He’s a funny guy.

    Reply

  4. Slowpokemary
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 08:42:03

    I’m with Skippymom. Unless its takeout, most restaurants here do not put dressing on the side unless you ask. The menus will actually say, “tossed with your choice of dressing” or something similar. That’s one I’d cut customers a little slack on.

    .Really? I haven’t eaten anywhere that the dressing doesn’t come on the side. Maybe it’s a Wyoming thing since we’re all a bunch of tight assed control freaks.

    Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment

    Reply

  5. Anton
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 10:59:21

    I quit smoking a few years ago and I still miss it. I’ve wondered if the electronic cigarette is the answer.

    I started using the e-cigarette yesterday, not because I want to quit, but because I am worried about all the health issues related to smoking and, well, it is a dirty habit. For what I’ve used it, I like the e-cigarette. I smoked it like a regular cigarette, in the places where I go to relax and I never wanted a real cigarette. Right before bed, I broke down and had a real one, and honestly, it wasn’t any better than the e-cigarette. For anyone who still wants to smoke and have the nicotine without all the other chemicals, I recommend the e-cigarette.

    Reply

  6. Onyx
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 18:28:55

    Mental health days are so necessary. Especially after July 4th… I’m up in Canada, and on July 1st, we didn’t leave the house. We watched the parade and fireworks off the deck, and the sea of people outside of my window was insane. Holidays also bring out the crazies.

    I could not get out of Cody fast enough every night from the 1st to the 4th. Too many (drunk) people.

    Sounds like some areas do put the dressing on, and some don’t. I’ve never seen dressing on the side anywhere I’ve been out to eat.

    Really?! I guess if I travel outside of Wyoming I better be prepared to ask for it on the side.

    Whenever we go somewhere new, I like to ask the server what their favourite thing is on the menu, and so far, none have steered me wrong yet, even when it’s something I never would have looked twice at on the menu. I like something to be suggested to try, because let to my own devices, I stick to the same things, so it’s an excuse to try something new in a lot of cases.

    I don’t mind making a recommendation, but don’t ask if you have no intention of trying what I suggest.

    Reply

  7. DarcsFalcon
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 23:55:27

    Salads always came drowned in dressing here too, but honestly, after I read your peeve about it, I thought well maybe they don’t anymore but I just don’t know that because I automatically ask for it on the side when I order. If they’ve changed the rules here, I’m unaware, and no one’s ever said, “Oh we don’t do that anymore.” Then again, I don’t get out much. 😉

    If I every had the time or money to leave the state, I’d investigate this.

    I’ve seen my husband get an instant migraine from social overload. Breaks really are necessary for sanity! Glad you got yours! 🙂

    Too many people too many days in a row makes me hostile and aggressive. Not a good combination.

    @WIGSF – you’re killing me! Hahahahahaha!

    Reply

  8. Sparty Girl
    Jul 09, 2011 @ 07:22:41

    Happy you’re trying the e-cig… I want you to stay healthy!

    I smoke 1 real cigarette a day (unless I go out). I sorta prefer the e-cig…no smell.

    I try to ask if the dressing comes on the side before I just order it that way. The few times I’ve forgotten in recent years I’ve regretted it.

    I never ask for it on the side and it always comes that way. It must be a regional thing.

    Good luck with the summer rush.

    Arg. I wish it was half this busy all year.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

