Welcome to My New Attitude

Last night I went to work still pissed off about Friday night.  On the way over I decided I wasn’t going to be a team player.  I wasn’t going to be everybody’s best friend.  Lily decided not to show up and Glory covered her shift.  Fuck everyone.

Guess who had a great night?  Me.  Guess who didn’t?  Everyone else.

The Neurotic asked, “Are you busy?”

“Yep.”

“Can you help me?” 

“Nope.”

And so it went all night long.

Tall Girl knew better than to even ask.

I didn’t run anyone’s food.  I didn’t run anyone’s drinks.  I used the extra time to take care of MY tables and let the other two sink to the bottom.

The Neurotic couldn’t figure out how she got so swamped with two big tables and had to be skipped 3 times in the rotation.  Uh…cuz I wasn’t doing half your work for you and you suck.  She ended up with 2 pissed off tables.

All night Pro Rodeo kept running up to me and frantically asking, “Who has Table 6 or 3 or 1 or 2 or 16 or…?”  I just answered, “Not me,” and kept walking.  Not my fucking problem.  Argue with me again in front of one of my tables  and get me stiffed on an $85 ticket and watch your dining room go down in flames.  Tell me I suck at waiting tables and I’ll give you ample examples of people who suck at their jobs.

Tall Girl had one woman come to the bar and yell, “Can we get some attention at our table?”  Pro Rodeo looked at me, cuz of course it HAD to be my table.  I shrugged and said, “Not mine.”  The woman was pissed not because they didn’t have water and every one of their soda glasses was empty, but because Tall Girl is tall and pretty.  What-fucking-ever.

So at the end of the night when we were all sitting at the bar discussing what went wrong I mentioned that everyone needs to calm the fuck down and stop running through the dining room. 

“Running shows you’re hustling and tables appreciate that,” Tall Girl told us.

“Yeah, if you’re working in a truck stop.  Is this a truck stop or a fine dining restaurant?”

“Well, it’s fine dining.”

“Then stop acting like you’re in a track meet.  Customers see you running and out of control and they they think there’s a problem.  Sooner or later they will find a problem.”

“Glory, you’re just saying that cuz you can’t run,” Al-Quieda joined in.

Keep talking and I’ll run your ass down.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Peas
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 13:48:07

    Bravo! You can be nice for only so long.

    Yep, that’s even the sub-title to my blog.

    It was appalling to read that Pro Rodeo had a meltdown in front of his customers.

    He doesn’t handle stress at all well. This is his first year of owning a restaurant and being in food service. If he doesn’t have a heart attack, it will be a miracle.

    It was appalling to read that you have been running your co-workers food and drink orders.

    It is no big deal to help out on occasion. We all need help. However, when I’m consistently running two servers’ food and Al-Quieda gets tired of calling them and calls me instead, it’s a little ridiculous.

    It was appalling to read that your co-workers find it acceptable to run through the restaurant.

    WTF is up with that?! I’ve worked in shitty pancake houses where servers didn’t run.

    To be blunt, had any of these things happened to me, while attempting to enjoy a meal at a fine dining establishment, that would be my last visit to said establishment. So, BRAVO to you, my friend. Carry on with your bad self; let the chips fall where they may. Perhaps the crew will catch a clue.

    A few are figuring it out, but the dummies who need a clue won’t ever get one.

    Reply

  2. thelifeofjamie
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 16:25:53

    I think I like Al-Quieda!!!

    He’s pretty funny.

    Reply

  3. MICHELE
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 19:49:26

    good for you, glory!! al-quieda is playing with fire!
    He knows 😉

    Reply

  4. DarcsFalcon
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 23:48:57

    So speaks a woman who is supremely confident of her position! Showin’ ’em who’s boss already! LOL

    Sunni & I are fiddling while Rome burns. The rest of them better figure it out.

    Reply

  5. Skippymom
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 00:34:07

    Good for you. I hate employees that run anywhere – unless there is a fire there is absolutely no reason for it and it is just a set up for disaster.

    Hello???? Other servers are carrying hot food, dishwashers are carring glasses and plates, cooks are carrying knifes…slow the fuck down before someone gets hurt.

    Keep it up – they’ll learn you aren’t their b*tch and have to do it themselves.

    Or they can listen to Pro Rodeo bitch.

    Reply

  6. Malachi the Cocktail Slinger
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 01:42:08

    Instantly thought of this song when I read what’s up! Good for you! I refuse to complain about people, even the New Girl who’s working Saturdays because sho’nuff we got shavooomed last Saturday and, oh, she can’t hold up her quarter of the bar. Sigh.

    And yes, fine dining? You’re carrying on a several hundred year old tradition of haute cuisine, not buckets to a fire.

    HAHAHA! That song has been applied to me for other circumstances before.

    I hate ratting on co-workers. If the owners, who also work with these people, can’t see it, I don’t want to point it out. However, when push comes to shove I will sell them out.

    A little organization would keep them from needing to run as if the devil were after them.

    Reply

  7. PurpleGirl
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 02:20:29

    Good for you! I’d love to be able to refuse to help everybody and just watch them go down in fucking flames!

    I make myself just way too busy to help and chuckle while everyone else is getting fucked. It IS all about the customer, but again, I’m not getting my ass chewed and stiffed for bad service because I’m helping some other dumbass. They either need to get it together or look for other employment.

    Reply

  8. leaner
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 02:27:25

    rein it in this weekend. There are friendships there that you don’t understand yet. trust.

    Huh?

    Reply

  9. Rachel
    Jul 12, 2011 @ 18:39:12

    Is Al Quieda single? And where did the nickname come from?

    Al Quieda has a girlfriend who I’ve never seen. He is some mix of Middle Eastern descent, born and raised in California. Al-Quieda is the nickname Sunni’s friends gave him and I’ve just rolled with it. The first time I hung out with him outside of work was for Game Night and when he arrived Sunni’s friends yelled, “Al-Quieda! You know we got bin Laden, right?” He’s really good natured and thinks it’s funny. I don’t call him Al-Quieda other than on the blog…I have different nicknames for him. 😉

    Passive-Aggressive solutions to crappy situations in waitressing do seem to be most effective for productive servers.

    Why do we have to resort to childish passive/aggressive games in order to get our point across?

    Reply

  10. Sparty Girl
    Jul 13, 2011 @ 12:00:12

    Good job! You need to nip this crap in the bud. Look after yourself first. It’s not fair to be helping everybody else out to the point where you’re not getting help when you need it, too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

