Mid Summer Crazies

Some of the crazy shit that’s going on at work is so, well, crazy I can’t help but laugh.  Come on people, you are grown ups.

The newest dishwasher quit mid-shift last night.  He said his meds weren’t working and he couldn’t concentrate…on doing the dishes.  He walked out the front door.  Somebody posited that perhaps his pussy hurt and that’s why he needed to go home.

The Neurotic clocked out last night (at least I assume she did.  I would hate to think she was being paid $2.50/hr while she was a hysterical mess) and proceeded to have the biggest meltdown I’ve ever seen from anyone over the age of 2. 

Since I started working at the Spaghetti Western, every time Sunni and I are talking she butts in and asks if we are talking about her.  Sometimes we are doing crossword puzzles, sometimes we are talking about people we know outside of work, one night we were at the bar making fun of the toothless bartender and the fat guy sitting next to me when the Neurotic said, “I should leave.  You’re talking about me.”  WTF?!  Last night reached the breaking point when Sunni snapped, “Not everything is about YOU.”  We were, in fact, NOT talking about her, and the assumption that every conversation we have is about her is more than a little tiring.

Also, because she’s neurotic, she can’t make a decision about anything for two reasons.  One, because if it’s the wrong decision she can blame it on someone else and take no responsibility for it.  And two, if it isn’t the answer she wants to hear she can argue about it.  We are supposed to have 6 tiramisu plated in the dessert cooler.  Yesterday we had 5 and she asked how many she should plate.  WTF?!  I don’t have patience for that shit.  I told her to plate 1 or 2 more and and she said, “Well, we have that 14 top, I think I should plate 4 or 5 more.”  Then why the fuck did you ask me?  So you could argue?  And seriously, will all 14 of those people order tiramisu for dessert?  I doubt it. 

So Sunni & I jumped her shit for being annoying and she stood in the corner and bawled, I don’t mean sobbed, I mean breakdown level bawled for about 20 minutes, saying she was going to quit because no one likes her.  Really?!  You are 30 years old.  Get the fuck over it.  Oh yeah, and go home.  You know where to find sympathy, right?

Tuesday night when I wasn’t working, Al-Quieda lost his shit and threw a pair of tongs at Big Bald Guy for continually fucking up order after order.  Last night BBG whined, “I know I wasn’t doing anything right, but he could have handled it a lot better.”  Well, he did throw tongs and not a knife…

Pro Rodeo was remarkably calm last night.  I offered him some anti-anxiety meds on Monday and suggested everybody calm the fuck down before I went crazy too, and that’s just not a place anyone wants to be.  I think he took the hint.  He was calm when the dishwasher walked out.  He was calm when someone dropped an entire rack of glasses and shattered them in the kitchen.  He was calm when the Neurotic flipped out. 

However, when even Al-Quieda loses his shit, it’s obvious the mid-summer crazies are in full swing.

 

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 15:21:30

    If I could handle the carbs, I’d get some popcorn.

    I think it’s worth the carbs.

    Reply

  2. Nancy
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 15:47:18

    It’s a full moon tomorrow…

    I HATE when someone asks me a question or my opinion on something and then argues/ questions my answer. I point blank say to them, “Don’t ask and then doubt”. Eventually, after saying this 2 or 3 times they will stop bothering me permanently.

    That shit drives me up the wall. Don’t ask if you already know the answer. I’ll bet I break her of it soon.

    The Neurotic might have a meth addiction. She sounds exactly like a woman I worked with years ago. Ain’t paranoia grand?

    She’s too white bread to have a meth addiction…however, the people I least expect usually have the worst drug problems.

    Reply

  3. Pyewacketcat
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 16:43:41

    Add some dogs that don’t want to be groomed,and you got my job.

    You have my sympathy. Dogs that don’t want to be groomed have teeth.

    Reply

  4. DarcsFalcon
    Jul 14, 2011 @ 22:29:03

    Is this a syndrome? Mid-Summer Craziness? LOL That cracked me up that the dishwasher couldn’t concentrate on doing the dishes. Ha! I don’t mind dishes because it’s one household task that requires zero concentration and I can solve all the world’s problems while I do it.

    No kidding. It’s not as if he was building a lunar rocket. Wax on, wax off.

    I still think there’s like a vortex of crazy over your town. 😉 I heard about that incident at the nearby tourist attraction. (trying not to get too detailed) The big furry brown animal and the guy she killed – that one. That was some crazy stuff!

    You can get detailed, doesn’t matter any more. And yes, there is a vortex of crazy here. The craziest thing about the bear incident was we had a guy eating at the bar in the Spaghetti Western and he asked about bear attacks/killings & how often they happened. The very next morning that guy was killed by the bear.

    Hope things calm down soon and that everyone has relaxing days off. 🙂

    I guess everyone gets a day to be crazy. ONE DAY. You get punished for taking more.

    Reply

  5. wigsf
    Jul 15, 2011 @ 06:32:40

    I wonder how much of these mid-summer crazies can be cured with a big bowl of strawberry ice cream.

    We only have Spumoni.

    Reply

    • Sparty Girl
      Jul 15, 2011 @ 11:24:10

      Well, there’s your problem: get some strawberry ice cream. It’s the spumoni that’s making people crazy.

      Reply

  6. Rachel
    Jul 15, 2011 @ 08:56:15

    Ack. The best thing you could say about the Neurotic is that you KNOW you won’t have to put up with her shit for long.

    She talked about quitting when she trained me. I say shit or get off the pot. Work is what you make it.

    Reply

    • Rachel
      Jul 15, 2011 @ 14:09:24

      Those ones always talk about quitting. Right up until they get fired for their theatrics. Do they ever realize how predictable they are, as a group?

      I’ve only been there a couple of months, but it seems this is standard operating proceedure for her.

      And wtf is she training people if she needs the newbies to make all her fucking decisions for her?

      That’s what I keep asking her.

      Reply

  7. LS
    Jul 15, 2011 @ 11:39:08

    As I say in the summertime, “It’s not the heat, but the stupidity.”

    Reply

  8. Hira Animfefte
    Jul 18, 2011 @ 19:38:14

    That whole bear-mauling incident sounds crazy. Yikes!

    I eagerly await updates on the Neurotic. We should start a pool on when she’ll quit.

    She told me on my first day she might quit. She’s not happy with her boyfriend. She’s not happy with her job. She’s not happy with…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

