Nightmare

Wednesday night I had an awful nightmare.  I was working at the Spaghetti Western when someone from the Harribalsac called and said they really needed me to come back.  I left, mid-shift, and went back to the Harribalsac!  I’m really stupid in my sleep.  Anyway.  When I got there, it was the same disorganized bullshit, the same bitchy customers, the same asshole cooks, the same crappy food, and on and on and on.  In the end, I was sitting outside under my van crying, hoping I still had a job at the Spaghetti Western.

Last night I ran into a former co-worker.  She said the Harribalsac was a disaster.  They only had 2 servers that night because everyone has quit.  I’ll bet that was fun.  They always had 5 or 6 servers on the floor in the summer and I can’t imagine trying to run a night shift that short handed.  We had 3 servers last night at the Spaghetti Western and we got our asses kicked.  (The Harribalsac seats 98, the Spaghetti Western seats 76.)  Apparently, they are getting new owners on Wednesday…people who owned a Dairy Queen for 20 years.  I don’t know which direction they will take the Harribalsac, whether they will keep it as sit down dining or turn it into fast food, but I think it’s hilarious.

If they could run a dinner shift with only 2 servers, it’s because no one is eating there.  That’s what happens when you let the monkeys run the zoo.  In all the time I worked there, they never had trouble keeping waitstaff because the money is so good.  The back of the house was a revolving door, but servers stayed for the busy months.  I can’t imagine how fucked up it’s become to make servers walk away from hundred plus dollar nights.

I guess the Stepford Wife’s plan to make everyone really, really happy by constantly interrupting their meal to pressure them into buying dessert didn’t pan out.  I guess she didn’t save the business by carrying tea and water to tables and handing out gift certificates to everyone who hated the food.  So sad.  I don’t know, but maybe getting rid of some shitty cooks would have been the place to start.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Fuck My Table
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 00:58:32

    I ran into three old coworkers last Sunday. Two were servers, one was a manager. I was bitching about Chili’s and singing about the wonders of BC to the servers when i noticed the manager was behind me. At least I wasn’t talking shit about him…but then, I wouldn’t, because he was one of the cool ones.

    Anyway, I’ve learned that things are getting shittier at Chili’s. They’re getting conveyor belts. That’s right. To make sure the food always comes out the same. Uh, did no one think of hiring LEGAL workers and actually TRAINING them? The illegals in the kitchen now can’t cook to save their lives and won’t get better because not only do they not speak English, but they don’t care about doing things right. Seems like Chili’s and the Harribalsac have a lot in common.

    Conveyor belts? WTF?!

    On the flip side, Schmarden holds Grill Master competitions to see which cooks can cook the best. They get quarterly evaluations. Anyone not certified to be on the grill NEVER gets put on the grill. That’s the funny thing about standards…when you keep ’em high, you don’t have to worry about food quality.

    And when you have high standards, you don’t have to worry about going out of business.

    Good riddance Chili’s, and good riddance Harribalsac!

    Reply

  2. Rachel
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 10:18:11

    Why is it that when restaurant workers dream about the job, it’s always a nightmare?

    Yeah, you never have a dream where everything goes smoothly and everyone tips well.

    I’m actually quitting my current job because of the same thing you and FMT did. Lazy-assed management and silly, passive-aggressive shit they think of to ‘punish’ the entire staff for the fact that they don’t enforce standards. I thought I could last another few months until I leave the country, but I just can’t. It’s the most therapeutic thing in the world–I’ve been threatening to quit for so long…but now, they’ve actually pushed me to do it.

    It really does feel good to tell them to kiss your ass. Good for you!

    Reply

  3. DarcKnyt
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 13:07:31

    Interestingly, I had a dream about my job last night too. I have no idea why, and only the vaguest memories of it now, but I know I felt pressured and harried.

    Strange. Lucky for you you’ve moved on to bigger, better things.

    I always remember my work nightmares and I’m usually exhausted the next day.

    Reply

  4. DarcsFalcon
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 13:07:37

    Wow! The owners sold it?! That just shows you what happened after you left – the whole place fell apart!

    It’s been for sale for a few years, but I think they were finally highly motivated. The place is bleeding money.

    Is Darren still there, I wonder?

    Yes, but he’s gone in October at the latest.

    It has a sense of appropriateness to it, like the ending to a good story. 🙂

    I think so too.

    Reply

  5. wigsf
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 14:15:01

    How did you find that photo of me cooking?

    I took it the last time I was peeking in your windows.

    Reply

  6. Cindy C.
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 21:30:27

    If I get stressed and have a nightmare about work, it’s never the job that I’ve had for the past 17 years, but the one before that which was serving in a truck stop. It’s the one where you are trying to close and the customers keep coming in even though you tell them you are closed and they insist on ordering food. lol

    My work nightmares always involve multiple tables on multiple levels. I run my ass off and never make anyone happy.

    Reply

  7. SamanthaJane
    Feb 03, 2012 @ 02:42:30

    What’s really bad is that those types of dreams persist LONG after you move on to another profession. Mine involve way to many tables for one person to manage and a maddening inability to remember which food goes to which table LOL.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

