Y_U AR_ AN ID_OT

Would you like to buy a vowel?

A reader asked if I was in jail since I haven’t posted in so long.  That is a valid question, but the answer is no.  I’m still running the streets being a menace to society.

My friend Michele is here from New York and we’ve been working and having fun.  We snaked her basement drain, cleaned the mold off her floor, cut up an old mattress, drank pina coladas, ate lots of good food, and watched a funny show called ‘Strangers with Candy’.  We have more projects, both work and fun, planned for the future.

I started this blog years ago as a way to get some free therapy, and it’s obvious I shouldn’t skip any “therapy” sessions.  I completely lost my shit at work on Saturday night.  I lost my shit in a way I don’t think I ever have before in a work environment.  ***There are some issues, some things that are irritating the shit out of me that have been going on for months and Saturday night I was not equipped to ignore them any longer.  Three times I walked through the dining room, down the hall, out the back door and to my van with the intention of just driving off.  One time I stood out in the alley and screamed, “FUCK! FUCK! FUCK! IT’S JUST LIKE WORKING AT THE HARRIBALSAC!”

Last night when I was slightly more rational, but still furious, I talked to Pro Rodeo about the issues.  I made sure I talked to him when there were other servers with me, and not surprisingly they agreed there is a problem.  He said he would fix the problem immediately.  I hope so because I’m either going to look for a new job or I’m going to put on my bitchface and treat some people the way I treated the idiots at the Harribalsac, well except that fighting with people uses up too much of my energy and it’s just easier to find something else to do.

I left the Harribalsac because I was tired of working with adult children.  I like to play and have fun as much as the next person, but there is a time to work and a time to play, and I get really annoyed with people who can’t seem to tell the difference.  In the end, people fucking off when they should be working makes me less efficient and then my wallet suffers.  If my wallet ain’t happy, nobody’s happy.

***Freaking Arlo chewed my modem cord again so this post is in code.  I’m too lazy to set up a PPP on a borrowed computer and if I start typing actual names, I may go insane again and break the borrowed computer.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thelifeofjamie
    Aug 15, 2011 @ 15:46:59

    breath in, breath out…drink a margarita.

    Pina coladas cure everything. 🙂

    Reply

  2. wigsf
    Aug 15, 2011 @ 15:54:54

    screw the margarita, drink something with balls, like a mug of whisky

    When you posted this comment, I was pretty much to the point of slugging whiskey straight out of the bottle. I’m a little better now. I can actually get the brown bag off the bottle before I start drinking.

    Reply

  3. skippymom
    Aug 15, 2011 @ 16:29:22

    I hope Rodeo takes care of it before I read about it in the papers.
    And Jamie has the right idea – b/i, b/o….drink a margarita.
    And then follow it up with wigsf’s suggestion
    Ahhhhhhhhhh…….

    The problem has been solved. Obviously, I wasn’t the only one who was sick of it.

    Reply

  4. theblonde
    Aug 15, 2011 @ 16:41:24

    I was just wondering where you’d been! Glad to see you back, although sad to hear you’re having trouble : (

    I’m really back now, barring any other internet cord misfortunes.

    I also didn’t get the password for the last PPP, am I still on your list??

    You should be. I’ll resend it soon.

    Reply

  5. Rachel
    Aug 15, 2011 @ 19:57:57

    Ugh. I’m a fun gal, too-but people who just act like the BOH is a giant playground built for them piss me off. “Adult child’ is the perfect word for it, because it actually is like watching a eight year old. And it seems like a professional hazzard, too–even the most professional restaurants I have worked at always had one idiot, usually two. Pro Rodeo does not seem to be the kind of man that would put up with that shit for long, though.

    I think servers are supposed to be out front serving their customers. Then again, maybe I’m wrong… Pro Rodeo put an immediate end to the bullshit. I caught hell for a few days, but once the dust settled and people realized I didn’t really give a shit if I wasn’t the most popular person in the restaurant, everyone got over it and got to work.

    Speaking of the adult children at the Harribalsac, just out of curiosity–what did BCJ do to try to get you fired? You mentioned that he had one time, but didn’t give the details.

    One of his friends worked for a couple of days and then didn’t show up. He said I was rude to her and tried to intimidate her in an effort to get me fired when in reality the dumb bitch just didn’t want to work at the Harribalsac. Since I never had any contact with her (nor did I piss on her) it was obvious to Darren that BCJ was blowing it out his ass. As usual.

    Reply

  6. Sparty Girl
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 08:50:44

    I was going to say “Oh, no, not here, too!”, but then I remembered that there are idiots EVERYWHERE. It seems like when you had trouble before, Pro Rodeo handled it, and I hope he does it again. It would be just terrible if you had to leave such an (overall) good gig.

    I complained on Sunday night and the bullshit ended Monday morning. Life is good.

    Bad Arlo, bad doggie. No milkbones for you!

    Arlo is bad, but cute.

    Reply

  7. Anton
    Aug 16, 2011 @ 12:08:53

    I’ve wondered if you were locked up for finally stabbing someone with a pen and dumping a steaming carafe over their head. I’m glad you’re not in jail! But I hope things get better soon.

    Thanks! Life is good.

    Reply

  8. DarcsFalcon
    Aug 18, 2011 @ 20:34:57

    At least you’re having fun with Michele! Work stuff will come and go, but good friends, well, those are special. 🙂

    Michele’s a hoot. She’s only here for 2 months so we make the time count.

    Hope you’re feeling better since the post. Our ‘net’s been wonky but I don’t have an Arlo to blame. 🙂

    Freaking Arlo. If he wasn’t so cute I’d duct tape his mouth closed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

