Nature’s Beauty

“There’s a web like a spider’s web,
Made of silk and light and shadows,
Spun by the moon in my room at night.
It’s a web made to catch a dream,
Hold it tight ‘til I awaken,
As if to tell me, my dream is all right.”

Since I was a kid I’ve been fascinated by Cat Face spiders.  I used to find them around the outbuildings at my grandparents house and I couldn’t take my eyes off their huge horribleness.  They are what I always imagined Charlotte to be and I can’t make myself kill them.  They reach full size, about the size of a large marble plus legs,  in the late summer and early fall.  Sometimes they are so big their web isn’t strong enough to hold their weight and they fall, breaking like an egg on the ground.

As an adult I’ve let them live in my house with the understanding that they have to stay in their space or be sucked up by the vacuum.  My kids were threatened with severe pain if they killed my spiders.  For several years I had one in the window right over my bed.  They have also lived in the kitchen and living room. 

This year I have one in the bathroom.  Last night I spent an hour watching her spin a web using my asparagus fern and the shower curtain rod as anchors.  This morning when I went in the bathroom she had spun three perfect webs, one right in front of the other.  They are glorious and I wish I could get a picture of them, but no matter what I do, they don’t show up.  I’m amazed at the beautiful craftsmanship…how DO they know how to do that? 

I can’t believe my roommate hasn’t noticed her and freaked out.  I probably need to hang a sign telling him to keep his hands off my spider.  Then again maybe he’s waiting for me to see her and freak out, in which case she’s safe until her web won’t hold her anymore.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcsFalcon
    Aug 31, 2011 @ 01:30:22

    I thought Charlotte was a balloon spider? Hmm. Either way, you’re braver than I. I’d have the vacuum on that baby in no time flat.

    I thought she was a barn spider, which around here is a Cat Face.

    Oh, if you want to catch her web in a pic, maybe see if you can spray some mist on it with like a plant mister or something, get the droplets on it – then it might show up better.

    I tried that. 😦 And different lighting. 😦 And just the flash from the camera. 😦 And a flashlight. 😦

    That cat face is weird though! *shudder*

    Reply

  2. paulac7
    Aug 31, 2011 @ 05:10:12

    Never heard of ‘cat face spiders’–they look kind of funky! I generally let them hang out in their space as long as they don’t invade mine, also, but the Siamese usually makes them come to a bad end…………..

    On the same note, I have bats living underneath the ‘shutter’ on my bedroom window–they are good to have around, as they eat all kind of bugs, especially mosquitoes. I like to hang out on my deck around dusk, and watch them come out and start their nightly patrol.

    Bats freak me out. They tend to get tangled in my hair. EEEK!

    Glad you’re back–I just wish I had a cable modem for my dogs to chew LOL–dial up sucks………..

    >^.^<

    Reply

  3. thelifeofjamie
    Aug 31, 2011 @ 07:27:10

    EWW! I hate spiders and would be spraying that sucker with bleach until he stopped moving and then I would stomp on him!

    Those are the only spiders I don’t mind. I found two other ordinary spiders in the bathroom last night and they got sucked up in the vacuum.

    Reply

  4. DarcKnyt
    Aug 31, 2011 @ 07:36:35

    I’m with thelifeofjamie here — SMASH the spiders, SMASH the vermin! Get THEM before THEY get YOU!

    Cat faces mind their own business and stay in their own space. They won’t get me.

    Reply

  5. Sparty Girl
    Aug 31, 2011 @ 11:21:36

    I can tolerate spiders to a certain extent, but I am continually overrulled by my husband and my daughter.

    On another note: the roommate? Another PPP to give us an update?

    He’s sorta getting his shit together. He was seconds from living on the street again.

    Reply

  6. susan
    Aug 31, 2011 @ 16:20:44

    I always tell the spiders that they are welcome to stay as long as they stay out of sight. They eat lots of other icky critters. If they are still around the second day, they get a swift end. However, if they are big and hairy I would have to reconsider….

    Any spider other than a cat face dies immediately.

    Reply

  7. Hira Animfefte
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 21:57:04

    My reaction to spiders in my living space (or any bugs where I live or work, really) is: die, bug, die! I figure they are suicidal bugs. It’s like death by cop.

    However, if you don’t mind having the spider in your bathroom, more power to you. 🙂

    It’s only cat face spiders. All other bugs must die.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

