My Newest Addiction

A few weeks ago when Michele and I were at the 7th Annual Bar-B-Que & Bluegrass Festival in Worland, Wy I picked up a pair of horse shoes and started throwing.  Michele is a very competitive shoe pitcher and I never wanted to try because I didn’t want her laughing at me for throwing like a girl, but after a few beers I didn’t care.  I was addicted within the first few tosses.

I practiced at her house every day for about a week, then I had the problem with my meds and couldn’t hit anything.  There is a horse shoe tournament every year as part of the Meeteetse Labor Day Celebration and after seeing some of the other people throw, I decided to sign up today.  I warned my partner that “I suck”, but he still volunteered to throw with me.  We were eliminated after 3 games, but I am hooked.  I just ordered some horse shoes on line and by next year I’ll be awesome…or I’ll be sitting in the yard crying because I just.can’t.get.it.right.  Shoes that hit the stake and bounce off are the most frustrating of all, but close counts in horse shoes and hand grenades, right?

Oh…and the sunburn.  White girls need sunscreen.  I lose track of how much time I’m in the sun when the shoes get in my hands.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anton
    Sep 03, 2011 @ 14:25:00

    Horseshoes are fun!

    More fun than I thought.

    Reply

  2. theblonde
    Sep 03, 2011 @ 19:10:25

    I hope I’m as cool as you in a few years.
    Drinking, throwing horseshoes, being generally awesome.

    Hahahaha! I don’t know that I’m cool or awesome, but thanks!

    Reply

  3. Sparty Girl
    Sep 04, 2011 @ 08:12:24

    You rock!!

    Hahaha! You’re silly.

    Reply

  4. DarcsFalcon
    Sep 05, 2011 @ 23:39:28

    Horseshoes, hand grenades, and H-bombs. 🙂 Sounds like you’re reading to hit the Olympic trail! 😀

    It’s always nice to find a new hobby to love, glad you found something!

    I have lots of hobbies, at least this one gets my big ass off the couch.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

