Baking Up a Storm

Last year when Michele was here I bought a refurbished washing machine and the damned thing didn’t work.  It would only agitate on the rinse cycle and it was more than a little annoying and time consuming to get a load of laundry washed.  I called the store where I bought it and they asked if I could bring it back.  It is a huge pain in the ass to get a washer out of/in to my bathroom so I asked if they could make a service call the next time they were in town.  Sure, no problem.

During the course of a year I called them about twice a month trying to set up a service call, but no one would ever answer the phone.  I left messages and a couple of times I stopped by the store and talked to the service guy’s wife.  Nothing ever happened.

When Michele got here she was pissed that I put up with a broken washer and a deadbeat business for a year.  She got on the phone and left a message that we would bring the malfunctioning washer back the next day and pick up a new one.  Huh.  We got a phone call and within a few days, a service call. 

This is pretty much what they got back after the damned thing fell down my steps.

While the guy was here I requested that he fix my oven (which I bought new from them).  The thermostat went out years ago and I never bothered to get it fixed.  I bought a little toaster oven and used that for my minimal baking.  The guy was unable to fix the washer, which resulted in me dragging the damned thing back to Cody, pissed off and crying and dragging another refurbished washer into the bathroom, pissed off, cussing, and crying.

But the oven is fixed!  I forgot how much I like baking.  I’ve baked 6 dozen of my world famous chocolate chip cookies, monkey bread, a cherry walnut pie and banana bread.  I’ve mastered focaccia bread from frozen dough.  Last night I cut up 2 huge pumpkins, boiled the flesh until soft and pureed about 2 gallons of pumpkin goo.  I made mini pumpkin breads until the cows came home.   

I reorganized my kitchen to have a baking space…a place to roll out dough, a cupboard for just my baking stuff, hooks to hold measuring cups, the rolling pin, spatulas, and mixer accessories.

They make bright yellow ones now, but I'm too cheap for that.

I scored big on three things.  I found a broken Kitchenaid stand mixer (circa 1960) in my mom’s shed and for $9.25 including shipping, I bought the part to fix it.  Then I went to a thrift store and found a food processor and a rice steamer for $2 each!  They both work and look new. 

I’m unemployed until the 15th while the restaurant gets a good cleaning and new carpet, and I’m afraid my pants aren’t going to fit if I keep baking and eating.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thelifeofjamie
    Nov 06, 2011 @ 08:05:32

    I love baking! I just put a pumpkin in the crock pot and am trying to figure out what to do with the puree…

    If you find out, let me know. I’m freezing some of it, but for now it’s pumpkin goo with everything.

    Pumpkin Bread
    Cream together:
    4 eggs
    2 cups pumpkin puree
    3/4 Cups oil
    1 1/2 tsp vanilla

    Mix
    3 Cups flour
    2 tsp baking soda
    2 tsp cinnamon
    3 tsp pumpkin spice
    1 tsp salt

    Add dry ingredients to egg mixture, pour into greased pans and bake at 350 until bread pulls away from the sides.
    I used mini loaf pans and ended up with 12 little loaves.

    Reply

  2. Anton
    Nov 06, 2011 @ 09:53:30

    Baking! One of my favorite things! Cherry walnut pie sounds delicious. My current baking project list is dark chocolate cinnamon chip cookies, gingerbread, pear spice cake & cornbread.

    Right now everything on my baking list includes pumpkin. Pumpkin cornbread? I love gingerbread!

    The cherry walnut pie is easy:

    Cream together:
    2 eggs
    1 Cup sugar
    1 tsp vanilla

    Mix
    1 Cup flour
    1 tsp baking powder
    1/2 tsp salt

    Add dry ingredients to egg mixture, fold in 2 cups cherries and 1/2 cup walnuts.
    Pour into a greased springform pan or pie plate and bake at 350 for approx 45 minutes or until the pie pulls away from the edges of the pan.

    Those KitchenAids are beasts. I love mine. It’s the only thing I kept from my first marriage, hahaha.

    I’m starting to wonder how I ever lived without one.

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Nov 07, 2011 @ 01:23:03

    Those sound delicious! And yay for repaired ovens and baking! I’ll be right over! 😀

    I envy your KitchenAid. I had one but lost it a few years ago. I don’t even have any place to put one now. Maybe you can get some of that porcelain paint for stoves and jazz it up if you don’t like the color. 🙂

    I kinda like the retro look. 🙂

    Hope you enjoy the time off!

    Reply

  4. DarcsFalcon
    Nov 07, 2011 @ 01:24:27

    PS – I might borrow those recipes!

    Get right after it!

    Reply

  5. Sparty Girl
    Nov 07, 2011 @ 08:05:38

    mmmm… I love baking. Everything you mention sounds wonderful!!

    And yay for Michelle whipping things into shape. I’m glad somebody straightens you out every so often. 🙂

    That’s what she’s best at.

    Reply

  6. michele
    Nov 09, 2011 @ 19:06:02

    I AM SOOOO PROUD OF MY HOLLYE! GETTING THAT KITCHEN ORGANIZED HAS MADE LIFE WORTH LIVING! I CAN’T WAIT TO TRY YOUR BAKED GOODIES! FEEL FREE TO BORROW ANYTHING FROM THE HOUSE. JUST POST IT ON THE FRIDGE SO I DON’T LOSE MY MIND WANDERING WHERE IT IS! (LIKE THAT DARN MOOSEWOOD COOKBOOK CHERYL BORROWED). SOUNDS LIKE YOUR ENJOYING THE SIMPLE THINGS, KEEP WITH IT!

    Whatever I borrow will be back in your house before you get here.

    PEACE AND LOVE, MICHELE

    p.s. I STILL THINK WE SHOULD HAVE BURNED THAT PLACE DOWN!!

    You know…I went in to tell him I should have a package, but there was no notice in my box and he looked at me, completely serious, and asked my name. I wanted to shout, “ARE YOU FOR REAL?!”

    Reply

  7. Hira Animfefte
    Nov 14, 2011 @ 19:50:56

    Yay you!

    My mom recently got a KitchenAid stand mixer–bought hers from a neighbor friend–and it has revolutionized her baking life. When she bakes, that is. It’s great, though. I love it. 🙂

    I have to try your pumpkin goo recipe!

    I don’t know how I lived without one.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

