Back at Work

First off I want to say, “Fuck this snow.”  It snowed on Tuesday and it’s snowing again.  It can kiss my ass.

It’s good to be back at work.  I was getting a little more than bored, but more importantly, I realized I need customers to tell me what I already know. 

Trust me, this is better than the picture I could have posted.

For example:  I was cleaning a table and a woman called me to her table.  She said, “The woman who was at that table said she didn’t feel well when she left, so you need to wash your hands after you clean her table.” 

REALLY?! 

She was at the table for 45 minutes and you think I didn’t notice the snot running down her face or her using her hand to push the snot back in her nose?  You think I don’t notice that kind of shit?  Well, I do.  Also, I’m a compulsive hand washer.  Granted, you don’t know me, but if anyone who does heard you make that comment, they would laugh in your face.  Wash my hands.  I never knew I was supposed to wash my hands after handling other people’s germy leftovers.  That must be why I’m NEVER sick even though I’m exposed to nastiness all the time.  Bitch.

But I smiled and thanked her for letting me know.  She tipped me $2 on a $22 ticket, so I wonder if I should have explained tip percentages to her since she likes to explain things to other people.

All in all it’s good to be back.  The new carpet and the refinished bar look nice.  The roof still leaks and Pro Rodeo is going to have a stroke (or kill the roofers) if it doesn’t stop soon.  If I serve the wrong food people come undone and think I should be fired, but it’s okay to half-assed fix a leaking roof so that it warps the floor under new carpet.  Awesome job guys! 

The biggest faux pas of the night goes to Sunni:

Sunni:  (to a blind customer) Did you see our dinner special?

Customer:  I haven’t seen anything in years.  I’m BLIND.

Sunni:  Oh.  Well, “seeing is believing” is overrated if you ask me.

They tipped her $15 on a $30 ticket.  I said he probably couldn’t see how much he left her.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Nov 18, 2011 @ 15:32:07

    I’m on vacation next week, and I can’t wait for it to start. I’m sooo tired. Snow right now would be more than I can handle.

    Have a happy vacation! Snow right now is pretty much more than I can bear.

    Reply

  2. wigsf
    Nov 19, 2011 @ 07:08:25

    She said “see” to a blind person. Riot, riot.

    I ranted about some people who didn’t acknowledge me by asking, “Are they fucking deaf?” Turns out they were. At least they couldn’t hear me ranting, though.

    Reply

  3. Sparty Girl
    Nov 19, 2011 @ 12:15:53

    Sunni is quick on her feet, with that comeback. I’m glad the guy seems to have a sense of humor.

    Sunni is a goof.

    Reply

  4. Rachel
    Nov 19, 2011 @ 22:57:20

    Agree with Sparty Girl. He probably appreciated the wit and not the cloying apologies and pity.

    Also agree with you about the roofers. I can’t stand people who don’t do the goddamn work they get paid to do. If they want to stop working for themselves and wallow in their own filth all day, they can go ahead. If someone is paying you money that they probably earned by working hard, do them a favor and just get the most basic parts of the job done right.

    It’s so annoying, but very common around here. There’s a slack assed mentality to doing business.

    Reply

  5. Rebecca Gaskins
    Nov 20, 2011 @ 09:13:43

    I agree, I do the job the very damn best I can, even it means I have to spend twice as long on a fractious dog or cat, they pay for it,and I always say you get what you pay for…at least with me…
    Going to be off for 5 days next week boss wants to go back to Odessa for the holidays, so I will need the break with the holiday rush,seems people discover they have a dog in the backyard,and it needs to be groomed! OMG! A grooming emergency. I say,your lack of planning does not constitute an emergency on my part…. better luck next year…
    I swear some people act like the holidays are a friggin surprise, helllooo,it comes the same damn time every year. I’m just sayiin.

    I got a mental picture of an Old English Sheepdog in a mud puddle and someone saying, “We need to make Fido look good for Christmas NOW!” Oh hell.

    I had a dog who needed to be groomed and she had a set appointment every month. Why can’t other people do this? How do you forget to groom a dog?

    Reply

  6. DarcsFalcon
    Nov 23, 2011 @ 01:33:19

    Overated … HAHAHAHA! That was a quick comeback!

    She’s a goof, which is why no matter how much she pisses me off (and she does), we are still friends.

    Sorry about the snow. Oh my, you have my sympathies on that one! Thankfully, we haven’t had any yet. A brief sleety shower last week but that’s been it so far. They’re predicting terrible things for us this winter. *shudder*

    It just keep coming. I’m so sick of winter. It feels like January already.

    Glad you’re back at work! I mean, that you won’t feel so bored at home anymore and can now make money. 🙂

    And I do think you should have also shared your tip percentages advice with that woman. I’d call it an even trade. 😉

    I believe in sharing. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

