Maybe I’m Spoiled

Guests at the Spaghetti Western are more than generous.  My monthly tip average is never lower than 18%.  After years of a solid 15% at the Harribalsac, I feel I’m blessed to be where I am now.  Sometimes people tip me so much I want to chase them down and tell them they made a mistake, but Pro Rodeo stops me and says, “That’s just how they tip.”  Sometimes I’m embarrassed and feel rather undeserving of the money most of our guests throw at me.

For example, I had the honour of waiting on Former Senator Alan Simpson and his friends the other night.  They were polite, and he’s a hoot.  When I gave him the check and said I wasn’t rushing him, but I didn’t want him to miss his bedtime, he said, “I’m not sticking around here.  The cops are getting ready to raid this joint and I’m fleeing out the back door.”  When someone asked where he’d been lately he said, “Traveling around, making people mad.”  Anyway…there were 8 people in his party and I removed the auto-grat.  I never remove the auto-grat.  In the end he tipped me 25% and I was more than delighted.  Everyone asked what I expected, he’s a famous politician with money, and I said I expected anything from a good tip to nothing at all.  You just never know.

Even though the majority of people tip well above what I expect, I occasionally get a random cheap shit that throws me for a loop.  Such as the two young ladies who left me $1.00 on a $50 ticket last night.  The one girl actually took the time to write $1.00 on her credit card slip.  Who does that?  I cut her some slack and figured she was too dumb to put the decimal in the correct place and she meant to leave me $10 instead of $1.00

Then there was the woman who owns a Mexican restaurant in town.  Wednesday night was the first night I’ve seen her at the Spaghetti Western.  During one of my trips to her table, I heard her complain that she was at another restaurant, one she frequents, and the service was horrible.  She was even more upset because the restaurant owner was “right there” and knew she was getting bad service, but didn’t do anything about it.  I nearly fell over when she tipped me 12.7%.  Are you fucking kidding me?!  You OWN a restaurant, you KNOW how servers make their money, most of your dinner conversation has been about the bad service you got at your REGULAR restaurant, and you have the NERVE to cheap shit me on the tip?!  Let me see if I can figure out why you get poor service at your REGULAR restaurant…you tip for shit and servers don’t tend to bend over backwards for a shitty tip.  Since you OWN a restaurant, you should KNOW that.

Dumbass.

So maybe I’m spoiled.  I am flabbergasted when I get anything less than 18% and I spend the entire evening wondering what I did wrong.  When I was at the Harribalsac, I was speechless when I got 18% and spent the entire evening wondering what I did right and how I could do it more often.  It’s funny what a change in guests can do to make you think you’re worth more.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcKnyt
    Dec 16, 2011 @ 16:04:42

    There is no substitute for class. Merry Christmas. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Sparty Girl
    Dec 16, 2011 @ 18:31:59

    You have always been “worth more”. I’m glad the customers, coworkers, owners at your new establishment recognize that.

    Reply

  3. Fuck My Table
    Dec 16, 2011 @ 21:52:25

    I am so fucking jealous. The only fuckers coming in to eat right now are cheap little shits. I’m averaging 10% on a GOOD day.

    Congrats to you, though. Wish my town had something more upscale, but the BC is about as classy as it gets this way. But hey, this time next year I’ll be in a major city with plenty more opportunities!!

    Reply

  4. wigsf
    Dec 17, 2011 @ 06:54:10

    Of course the politician tipped well, it wasn’t his money he was using to leave the tip. It was yours.

    Reply

  5. DarcsFalcon
    Dec 18, 2011 @ 09:08:54

    Isn’t it nice to be on the spoiled end for a change? 🙂

    Happy for you! It’s nice to see good things happen to people you care about. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

