Slow Down!

I haven’t been posting regularly because I really don’t have anything to complain about.  Gushing on about how wonderful my customers are either seems like bragging, lying or tempting fate.  The customers at the Spaghetti Western are nicer than I ever imagined people in Cody could be and they are more generous than I ever dreamed of.  Every day I’m shocked at my tip percentage and sometimes I’m embarrassed that people throw so much money at me.  I feel very blessed.

However, (you knew there had to be an ‘however’) since I’ve been working more day shifts and I am my own hostess, I’ve noticed our non-regulars need to work on their manners.

You people can wait 5 fucking seconds while I remove the extra place settings from the table before you sit down!  You don’t have to be in such a big assed hurry to get in the booth that you kick me in the back of one, if not both, knees causing me to nearly fall down and crack my head on the glass topped table.  If you can’t wait 5 fucking seconds and insist on dropping me to the ground with what feels like a size 11 steel toed boot, you can at least apologize for being a twat; extra points for acting somewhat sincere with your apology.

Did I mention it’s ALWAYS women who do this?  Why yes, yes it is.

 

 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. skippymom
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 06:05:36

    So happy that it continues to be a great job. You deserve it.

    I never understood people that are in such a rush. They aren’t going to be served any faster if they render their poor server unconscious by tripping her up.

    I can’t bring your food if I’m trying to staunch the bleeding from a head wound.

    Reply

  2. wigsf
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 06:21:45

    Glad to hear that your life isn’t as sucky as it used to be. Keep up the unsuckiness.

    There are still days of suck, but they are uncommon.

    Reply

  3. DarcKnyt
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 06:42:06

    Ah, but if someone DIDN’T kick you with a steel-toed boot occasionally, things would be PERFECT, and then you’d be constantly waiting for the other shoe to drop, so to speak. Wouldn’t you?

    I would.

    Almost every day when I’m driving to work I want to cry because things are going so good I know something terrible is going to happen. It’s sad that life has taught us those sorts of lessons.

    Still, happy times when you can’t really find a lot to complain about in your job, eh? 🙂

    Especially since I’m a complainer.

    Happy New Year!

    Reply

  4. Sparty Girl
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 07:48:42

    Ha! Of course it’s always women… the men are busy checking you out while you bend over the booth.

    HAHAHA! You’re silly.

    Reply

  5. Nancy
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 18:48:46

    It runs along the same lines as when there is a dirty table that someone wants to sit in. At my restaurant there are a couple of tables by the window that everyone clamors for. I am a hostess/waitress/busser, so when I greet people at the door and they request a dirty table, I smile and say, “Give me just a minute to clean and set that table for you.” Half the time the customers can’t wait and sit at the dirty table before I can bus and set it up again. It is almost always women that do this! Like someone is going to come shove them out of the way and beat them to the finish line/table. It is really hard not to roll my eyes when this happens. I do usually try to make sure and “accidentally” drop bread crumbs or some other kind of non-damaging foodstuffs on their laps. Too bad you couldn’t “accidentally” stab them with a fork in their neck with the place setting you are trying to retrieve. Wouldn’t that feel good? 😉

    We don’t let people into the dining room until their table is ready. I don’t know how many times I had to yell at women at the Harribalsac to WAIT until we had the table cleaned. The big booths were the worst because you had to get into them to clean the far side. There were times when I had to tell people to GTFO of the booth because I was in it trying to clean it. Did they think I was going to walk over the table or join them for dinner?

    Reply

  6. Ahmnodt Heare
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 20:28:31

    Nancy, I have had the same problem with people sitting at dirty tables. One time i was so busy that the people who were sitting at the dirty people weren’t the ones who dirtied it. Only I didn’t see those people leave or these people sit.

    And those are the people to complain about not getting any service.

    Reply

  7. Serving Up An Attitude
    Jan 04, 2012 @ 22:53:23

    As a waitress & hostess…I have a hard time deciding whether or not the people who stampede through you to their booths or the people who take ten fucking years just to be sat are the worst.

    I think my favourite is when you ask how many for dinner, get the menus and say, “Follow me,” or “Right this way,” and they stand there looking dumb. When you turn to see WTF? they ask, “Oh, are we supposed to follow you?”

    Reply

  8. DarcsFalcon
    Jan 09, 2012 @ 22:08:52

    What the heck? What is wrong with people? Didn’t their mothers ever teach them that you wait until the server says it’s okay to sit down? Goodness, sometimes I feel like more people were raised by jackals than not.

    I like your jackal theory…

    But I AM glad things are going so well for you! Try not to worry about whether or not that other shoe will drop. I know the lessons of which you speak. Worrying won’t impact it one way or the other, and only lessens your joy in this day. 🙂 Grab and hoard all the happy you can. 🙂

    I’m trying, but it’s scary.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

