Tweeking Tweekers

My sister sent me a text yesterday asking what “tweeking” is.  Bless her sheltered little heart.  But then, maybe there are other readers who don’t know what tweekers are.

Urban Dictionary defines tweekers as:

A methamphetamine user. Tweekers are known for their extreme paranoia, flagrant dishonesty, and lack of non-tweeker friends. A tweeker will steal your stuff and then help you look for it.
 
Use it in a sentence:  “If you let those god damned tweekers come to your party, don’t expect to have your stereo in the morning.”
 
or
 
Any poor soul who has the bad ass luck of growing up in a small depressed desert town in CA or elsewhere who is emotionally addicted to CRYSTAL METH. They will kill and die for it, and can never be cured. They will want it every day for the rest of their lives. They start by doing lines, then smoke it, and eventually they graduate to “slamming” using needles. At this time, they never want to see anyone, unless they are tweeking. They are afraid of everything, except death. All of their friends are parolees, and they ain’t shit until they have been to prison at least once. They steal everything in sight, draw sexually explicit pictures, talk shit, disappear for days or even weeks, will physically assault the people they love, slash their own wrists and arms. They will lose up to 100 pounds in a few years. They will have spent all of their money and lost any job they might have once had. They are unemployable. They hate themselves. They will spent 5 to 40 hours straight beating off and sticking things up their asses. Some will steal panties from the apartment dryers and wear them. They will eventually accomplish self fellatio! Anything is possible with speed!!!
 
Use it in a sentence:  “Tell your tweeker friend to get the fuck out of my bathroom!”
 
Obviously, the second entry was written by someone with an up close and personal relationship with a tweeker.
 
All other drug addicts, even heroin addicts, hate tweekers.
 
You can google “meth use before after” and find dozens of images of what people looked like before they started using and after.  Some of the pictures were taken a few months apart and show a horrible decline in appearance.  The sad thing is tweekers think they look good and that no one knows about their drug use.
 
Yeah, I don’t notice a difference at all.

A number of sheriff’s departments across the country have started a campaign of billboards with before and after images.  The pictures are depressing:

 

In addition to the weight loss, rotted teeth and skin damage, meth gives people twitches and grimaces.  It’s awesome trying to talk to a tweeker without laughing your ass off, but then, one of the first side effects of meth is no one wants to be around an unpredictable, moody, aggressive, asshole except other tweekers, and they don’t notice all the twitching.

Okay, on one hand it’s funny, but on the other it’s horribly depressing that young people use this shit.

When I first started working at the Harribalsac, I worked with a beautiful young woman who just got out of rehab for prescription drug and meth abuse.  She was 22 years old, funny, a good worker, reliable, happy, and an all around sweet person.  I looked forward to the nights we worked together.  After about 6 months, she started calling in late for work.  Once she finally dragged her ass in, she asked non-stop if she could leave.  She was willing to fight, verbally and physically, with anyone who said she couldn’t be the first to leave.  The general manager caught her stealing and she was willing to go a few rounds with a guy who looked like a Vegas pit boss even though she was guilty.  She eventually got fired for being completely worthless.  After she got out of rehab all she talked about was regaining custody of her daughter.  Once she started doing meth again, she didn’t care enough to show up for the custody hearing.  What’s sad, is her entire personality changed within a matter of a few days.  You could pinpoint the time she started tweeking again.

Just say no.

   

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. skippymom
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 16:14:52

    The sad fact about those before and after pictures [never mind the damage of the drug] is that they are all mug shots. Even the befores.

    What a very sad life one lives when the cops can go through their files to do a before and after photo spread of your life/downfall. And I truly mean sad 😦 – not trying to be funny.

    I agree. No one gets out of trouble when they are doing meth.

    We don’t have Meth here like other parts of the country. I know it exists, but they aren’t fighting the huge pockets of it like elsewhere.

    It used to be worse here with the state police busting up at least 2 meth labs per year and/or people burning their rental homes to the ground in a meth lab explosions. People still use it, but the new big problem is prescription drug abuse.

    Reply

  2. michele
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 16:25:42

    ONCE AGAIN, I SAY “HANDLE YOUR SHIT”!! DRUG ADDICTS ONLY MAKE
    IT WORSE FOR THE OCCASSIONAL”SOCIAL” DRUG USER!!
    I BELIEVE THE CORRECT TERM IS “JUST SAY NO, THANK YOU”.
    MISS YOU TONS!

    It would be nice if people could handle their shit and not let the drug use control them.

    Bonfires!

    Reply

    • james k
      Mar 11, 2012 @ 22:11:40

      u speek as if u hav no fukin life experience, so u stereo type people obviously, so r blacks on ur radar too, or is it just tweekers !as u know nothing about each persons life but u judge. will see!

      This is what happens when tweekers get a computer.

      Reply

  3. thelifeofjamie
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 17:10:01

    It’s called tweeking because it tweeks your appearance…I don’t know if it’s true, but it sounds good.

    Urban Dictionary said it came from “two weeks” as in “That bastard is so strung out on meth he hasn’t slept or eaten in two weeks.” Eventually “two weekers” shortened to “tweekers”. I always thought a tweeker was something on a stereo speaker. Imagine my confusion…

    Reply

  4. Serving Up An Attitude
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 17:19:32

    Aw! Your sister is so precious! The sad thing is–if I didn’t work in the restaurant biz, I probably would still be sheltered like that. The biz is so worldly…the amount of innocence you lose on your first shift is like losing your virginity all over again!

    It really is.

    Meth is truly the worst drug that has ever plagued the planet. I don’t even say that because of what it does to tweekers themselves. I pity them, but it isn’t like they didn’t have a hand in their own downfall. It’s the children who are forced to cook meth for their strung-out parents and who are killed doing that kind of dangerous shit no child should go near that I cry for.

    And how about meth babies. Awful. Just awful.

    And, yet, the government spends like 10 times the amount of money to fighting weed as it does to meth.

    I remember “killer weed”, refer madness and all that crap. Now we’re happy if our kids are smoking ONLY pot. Funny how things change.

    Reply

  5. pharmtechgurl
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 18:41:04

    I had to look it up also, but the def I got was someone who has been using for days and keeps performing the same act repetitively. Either way, a bad situation.

    Hahaha! Sounds like the definition of stupidity.

    Reply

  6. DarcKnyt
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 23:36:00

    Uh…I didn’t know what a “tweeker” was either. Neither “tweeking,” although I’ve “tweaked” things before (like a computer, to enhance its performance). Microsoft Windows used to be able to be made more user friendly with a tool called “Tweak UI.” Beyond that, nothin’.

    What a difference a vowel makes…

    Reply

    • Sparty Girl
      Jan 14, 2012 @ 19:26:28

      Thanks for the second, Darc.

      For the record, I am sadly familiar with meth use (people blow up houses around here all the time, and we no longer pick up pop bottles off the side of the road with any kind of liquid in them). I had just never heard the term “tweeking”.

      Well, that’s too bad. I thought meth use was mostly a mid-west/western thing. Now it’s your turn to school me: what’s the deal with pop bottles?

      Thanks for the tutorial, sis. I count on you to keep me up to speed on things like this (pun intended). 🙂

      I wish I didn’t know some of the stuff I do. 😦

      Reply

      • Sparty Girl
        Jan 15, 2012 @ 11:53:53

        Now they have mobile meth labs: they’ve found a way to cook meth in a vehicle using 2-litre pop bottles. It’s not bad enough to blow up a house in a neighborhood, now they can blow up anybody, anywhere. Morons.

        Awesome. 😦

        Reply

  7. DarcsFalcon
    Jan 16, 2012 @ 01:41:06

    I’d never heard of “tweeking” either until I saw your last post. I figured it was about drugs, but not specifically meth. I read an article many years ago that described meth as “the only drug that can destroy the maternal instinct.” Worse than coke or heroin, apparently. Sad, so very sad.

    Meth destroys everything. People will cook that explosive poison with their babies sleeping in the next room, breathing in all the chemicals and waiting to die in their sleep. I don’t care what kind of messed up stuff people do to themselves, but leave the kids out of it.

    I tweak recipes though. Sometimes. 🙂

    Me too. I also tweak patterns and sometimes end up acting like a junkie on a PCP fueled rage when they don’t work out. 🙂

    Reply

  8. sadpear
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 16:13:16

    My sister was (is?) a tweeker. It’s part of why I cut off contact with my family entirely, because my mother was such a damn enabler. I spent most of my teen years taking care of my family and calling the police on my sister over and over again while she fucked up everything. It was depressing. I finally cut them off after she assaulted me and my mother wouldn’t call the police.

    It’s sad when one person is an enabler and helps another go right down the shitter, especially when it ruins a whole family.

    (fyi, this is Anton – I finally started using my wordpress account.)

    Good to see you! Are you blogging?

    Reply

  9. Hira Animfefte
    Feb 01, 2012 @ 00:45:47

    I always called them “methheads.” Go figure. Learn something new every day.

    Meth is one scary drug.

    Reply

  10. b nizzle
    Mar 02, 2012 @ 06:49:28

    I unfortunately have been around more people that live on Meth than I ever thought I would. First time I tried it I knew it was the most evil thing hitler. Ever invented. I used it on the weekends recreationally in my early 20’s to keep up with the old pro’s. I. Hated the coming down, and understand how eople get hooked. I am fortunate enough to have never found it appealing. I have lost a lot of freinds. That sold there soul to the dopeman. The worst loss of all was my baby’s. Mom. Her daughter clued me in on the fact and I searched our house. A.d got a big ole. Rude awakining. . The pro’s. I knew drank a lot of milk and ate a lot. Of. Cereal. So they would get all the vitamins and calcium they lose tweeking.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

