Vindicated Part 1

I love it when I’m right. 

It’s hockey season and that means one thing:  hockey parents.  More specifically, it means bitchy hockey moms.  For the last month or so, I’ve warned Pro Rodeo about hockey parents and the bullshit they pull such as insisting the kids sit at a different table so the parents can talk while the kids destroy the dining room, yell, scream, throw food/drinks and run around like a bunch of assholes.  No one ever listens to me.

We’ve had the adult team (I don’t know what you call them, semi-semi-semi-pro?) and of course they behave like adults.  They sit, they eat, they leave.  We’ve had a mom or dad with a couple of kids and it’s the same deal, the sit, they eat, they leave.  Everybody’s polite and well mannered.  Pro Rodeo essentially told me I was full of shit about the hockey parents because no one has caused any trouble. 

Until Saturday night.

A woman came in to hold a table.  No problem because we do reservations.  This was an issue at the Harribalsac because of the NO RESERVATIONS!! policy.  She said she wanted a table for 8 kids and a table for 4 adults. 

The Host with the Most set the kids up at the long table and when he tried to push another table with it, the hockey mom repeated that the parents did NOT want to sit with the kids.

Let the games begin.

He seated the parents at an adjoining table and for the next hour and a half the parents talked while the kids (ages 10 and under) turned the dining room into the play room at McDonalds.  It was AWESOME!  They spilled 3 Shirley Temples (on the new carpet) made enough noise to piss off our other dinner guests to the point that no one would sit in the back dining room and ran their server to death. 

Pro Rodeo spent most of that hour and a half standing at the bar, glaring into the back dining room, grinding his teeth and cussing like a sailor.  I thought he was going to have an aneurysm.

I hate to say it, but I TOLD YOU SO. 

Okay, I don’t hate to say it.

Finally, he went back and told them they either needed to pay attention to their kids or leave.

It took 4 people fifteen minutes to clean up the mess.

I wasn’t one of those people.

I have a feeling that the next group of hockey parents won’t get to pull this shit. 

 

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Fuck My Table
    Jan 16, 2012 @ 19:23:47

    I, too, experienced this phenomena but it was unrelated to sports. Large parties invariably wanted to sit apart from their crotch spawn. Unfortunately Chili’s allowed these shenanigans so my only recourse was to ignore the kids when they needed something and be an ice queen to the parents. I fucking hated those. I’m so glad that the BC isn’t set up to allow for these things to happen. I don’t think the managers would entertain the idea anyway. I’m lucky. You are too; I bet Pro Rodeo won’t make that mistake again!

    The only people to benefit from this bullshit are the parents who don’t want to be bothered with the brats they’ve raised. I am willing to bet my next full day shift of tips that it won’t happen again.

    Reply

  2. Bob
    Jan 16, 2012 @ 21:22:22

    Try living in Canada where we have to live with hockey parents all year long.

    That is my worst nightmare…having hockey parents all year long, not living in Canada. I don’t imagine Canada is much different from where I live. Well, except for the hockey parents.

    Reply

  3. wigsf3
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 04:24:46

    Excuse, the parents refused to sit with their children??? Call children’s services on ’em.

    Hockey parents never want to sit with their crotch spawn.

    Reply

  4. Scotty
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 06:32:55

    These traveling kids’ hockey teams are the worst! I have encountered them on several occasions in hotels. They have no problem with taking over the hallways. The parents sit in the halls and get drunk while the hockey spawn, along with their siblings, run screaming up and down. The parent take no notice as they themselves become louder and louder while they get increasingly inebriated. One time when hotel security confronted some of these rowdy parents who then exclaimed that they had every right to party in the halls since they were paying for rooms. They had no clue as to how they were disturbing all the other guests. In the morning, the hallways look like the aftermath of a rock concert.I did get a laugh one time, though, as I watched a gaggle of obviously hung over and sleep-deprived parents stumbling on to the team bus at 6 a.m.

    What they never understand (or care about) is that OTHER people are paying for the same thing…a motel room, a good dinner…I seriously can’t stand these entitled pricks.

    Reply

    • Sparty Girl
      Jan 20, 2012 @ 06:59:18

      I was with my 2 kids at a hotel early last summer with a group of baseball kids and parents… the parents let the kids (middle-school age) loose alone in the pool. There were only 6 of them and they drove my son and I right out. Jerks.

      Reply

  5. Serving up an Attitude
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 10:40:09

    DDamn! You are so lucky that PR is smart enough to tell Sport Parents when’s when. Sport Parents aren’t the worst but they are pretty close to it. And they are just like children in the sense that , unless you have a righteously pissed off PR giving them clear boundaries….they will just take and take and become as much of a nuissance as humanly possible without a thought to anyone other than themselves. I’ve seen a baseball party of about 30 take up an entire dining room that could have sat 68+ before a saturday night dinner rush because the philosophy of my joint is to indulge every asshole who asks for anything exorbant (that way, they come back. Yay!).

    But do you want them? That’s the question corporate restaurants never ask and the reason so many of them are going broke.

    I work at a sports bar/ family restaurant…we have at least 5 such parties a week,at least half of them extemporaneous (yeah, people will show up at the fucking restaurant with a party of 15+ on a saturday night and not believe it when the frazzled hostess quotes them a wait time over an hour.

    People are assholes and idiots.

    Reply

    • Serving up an Attitude
      Jan 17, 2012 @ 10:46:33

      And parents who request a separate table from their kids should have to sign a waver permitting the restaurant to have them sterilized first. Some people should not be allowed to reproduce…

      We do get large parties with kids, but until Saturday night, no one has ever requested to sit separate from their kids. I told Pro Rodeo it would happen, he was shocked when it did.

      Reply

    • Serving up anAttitude
      Jan 17, 2012 @ 13:29:41

      Do we want them back? Not really–they are a HUGE pain, and they cost us money (30 people taking seating space for 68 and using most of it on stupid kids meals costs more money than it is worth, that’s just math)…but paper-pushing corporate monkeys who have never waited a table in their trust-fund baby lives but seem to think that they are capable of saying how individual restaurants should work never were known for their logic abilities….

      Reply

  6. skippymom
    Jan 17, 2012 @ 13:23:05

    From my hotel friends and server friends hockey parents are TRULY the worst. They win the prize – and I hear from my friends all the time about their drinking. I don’t know what it is about hockey parents, but they seem to be able to drink the football, baseball and volleyball parents [combined] under the table.

    Glad PR got a look see at how bad they are. They ought to institute a policy that the parents have to sit with the kids. They would NEVER come back

    Reply

  7. Ahmnodt Heare
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 15:38:07

    It’s not just hockey parents. Here, it’s tourist parents. They leave their children at the gym unattended while they go tie a few on at the bar. The gym and the bar are part of a resort and I am a member of the gym. Kids can be found at the running track skateboarding and on the basketball court running through games being played.

    I think many people agree that some parents now seem to think the world is the babysitter of their children. It may take a village to raise a child, but it only takes one child abduction to change parenting skills.

    Reply

  8. DarcsFalcon
    Jan 21, 2012 @ 01:38:58

    I’m surprised that PR has never had to deal with that kind of thing before. And good for him for telling them that they had to get a handle on things!

    I just can’t get my head around parents who let their kids stay/play unattended in unfamiliar places. Heck, even familiar places aren’t always safe! But to let them just wander around with strangers around – whether in restaurants, hotels, or wherever – just absolutely baffles me.

    Not to mention, it’s parents like that who make it really hard for the rest of us! Some of us do try really hard to make sure our kids leave a good impression, honest!

    Reply

  9. Laura
    Jan 22, 2012 @ 22:20:36

    I hope he lays down the law next time. “I’m sorry, but we can’t seat you separately, children require supervision and parental guidance in order to keep them quiet and behaved so other customers can enjoy themselves as well.”

    Reply

  10. Brea
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 14:58:12

    I hate when people bring children to a restaurant and let them run wild, disrupt other diners, scream and throw things.

    My own children were taught that you either behaved your damn self, or we got up and left. (Or they got a spankin’ in the restroom and then got to sit on a stinging backside for the rest of the meal – yes, I was a spankin’ parent. My kids are well-behaved in public) Didn’t matter if I sat with them, or across the room. I’d still know, and I’d take care of the problem.

    Reply

  11. hiraanimfeftetheunweddedwidow
    Feb 14, 2012 @ 17:18:40

    We were spanked when little, and otherwise controlled with the Hairy Eyeball and the whispered “Keep your voice down!” of doom. That is, keep your voice down Or Else. If we misbehaved we’d be yanked out of the restaurant posthaste and given a very thorough verbal dressing-down. No, we did not pull that kind of sh*t.

    In completely unrelated news….You should be happy, Holly–I finally got myself on WordPress. Now how do I port my content over? Blogger has been doing some WEIRD stuff with my links. As in, breaking them left and right. I am NOT HAPPY. I have been dying to post some PPPs myself, anyway. http://theunweddedwidow.wordpress.com…or it will be. It still has “Hello world! This is your sample post. Put your real post here,” on it.

    I’m kind of a blog dummy. When I left Blogger, I just left everything and started from scratch here. Get to posting!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

