I Quit My Job Tonight

I worked all day yesterday.  From 10 in the morning until 9 at night.  My last table were campers and the rule is, once people have paid, the server can leave.  The buser cleans the table and the tip is left in the server’s box if it’s cash, or it shows up in her envelope the next day if it’s a credit card tip.

Before I left I worried to Pro Rodeo that Diamond Dick, one of the men at the table, was a really good tipper, but someone else paid the $110 bill and I hoped they were as generous.  Pro Rodeo said there was a $20 bill on the table for a tip and a $10 credit card tip.  I know cash left on the table is a tricky thing…sometimes people aren’t leaving it as a tip but as payment for their share of dinner, or they don’t carry a wallet and the money is just on the table.  I took a wait and see approach, as in wait until tomorrow because my ass is tired and I’m going home.

Today when I went to work and picked up my envelope, I noticed there wasn’t a cash tip written in, only credit card tips.  I asked Pro Rodeo if they left me the $20 and he said they had, and it was in my box.  Then he opened the drawer to find that my box was empty except for a few pennies.

WFT?!

I asked, “What’s up with that?  Where’s my money?”

He snapped, “I don’t know.  I’m not responsible for your money.  Do you want me to keep it in a locked box up here or what?”

Alrighty then.

What he told me was:

  1. He’s not responsible for MY money, but I’m responsible for his.  You can bet your ass if someone walks out without paying, it’s coming out of MY pocket.  When the Neurotic took the bad check from Casper, it came out of her pocket.  When she took the second bad check from Casper, that came out of her pocket as well.  I call bullshit on this.
  2. Our tip money is under control of the cashier and whoever opens the tip drawer, which is everyone.  We are not able to have our cash until the end of the night since people seldom leave it on the table and (until now) it’s always been safe in the drawer.  This means we have to trust our coworkers.  It’s apparent now that I can’t.
  3. His shitty attitude showed he didn’t care that someone stole money from me.  It says thievery and dishonesty are okay.  The last time I worked with a lying, dishonest thief, I ended up with a felony conviction and 5 years probation.  If my money is missing, it’s a matter of time before his money is missing.  Since I’m the one with a felony, I’ll be the first person who gets blamed.  Guess what.

I went into the waitstation and told Sunni that I thought I was going to go get in my van and drive home.  The Drug Felon came in and immediately blamed Pro Rodeo for “misplacing” my money.  She and Pro Rodeo were the only two in the tip drawer all day.  In no way do I think Pro Rodeo took my money.  He doesn’t need my money.  He was as surprised that it wasn’t in my box as I was.

I got a table right then and I decided that since I was already there, I may as well make some money and I’d wait and see how things progressed.  I remained calm and happy for the rest of my shift.  I decided I would ask again at the end of the night and if the money wasn’t in my box, I wouldn’t be back.

At the end of the night I counted my money.  There wasn’t a $20 bill in my box.  I asked Pro Rodeo if he ever found it.  He said he had no idea what happened to it.  I thanked him for the opportunity to work for him and told him I would be in on Sunday to pick up my tip envelope and to turn in my apron. 

End of story.

 

 

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Fuck My Table
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 00:25:48

    Holy shit. I don’t blame you for being pissed about that – if you can’t trust your coworkers and might be held responsible for someone else’s thievery I’d haul ass too. If Pro Rodeo comes to his senses and offers a solution to prevent this sort of thing from happening again, would you go back?

    I probably would go back because I like my customers and coworkers, the money is good, and until today, I thought my boss was a decent guy. I guess we’ll see if he fixes it.

    Where are you going to work now?

    No eye deer. If he doesn’t have a solution tomorrow, I’ll haul out the phone book and look at places where I might like to work.

    Reply

  2. Cindy C.
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 00:28:28

    That sucks and I can totally see your point on why you quit. Still sucks though. =(

    It does suck. Big hairy balls.

    Reply

  3. sarcasticserver
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 00:47:18

    I don’t blame you at all. Back when I was hostess/cashier, the servers used to get into my drawer all the time and I nearly lost my job when one of them fell off the drug bandwagon and stole over 100 dollars. Because it wasn’t exclusively my drawer (meaning, other people had gotten into it because there were no rules preventing it) they didn’t. After that, I made sure to count, double count and recount (once more) my drawer and I kept it under my name and no one knew the password to unlock it so no one could get into it. Now that I’m a server, I find that tips that I make, but don’t wait around for, mysteriously never make it into the my drawer in the office because the other server “forgets” which table is mine even though I write it on about 3 notes throughout the restaurant. It’s cockshite when people can’t keep their hands off your money and the management should try to do something to prevent it from happening, but more often than not, they won’t
    I feel for you, what fucking defecating twat says “Oh, too bad about your money, now go make me mine”? Ass.

    After my last episode with a jackass who stole money hand over fist then bent me over, I WILL NOT be a cashier where other people have access to the money. Will. Not. Do. It. If I’m responsible for the money, then only I am responsible for it.

    At other places I’ve worked, if you left and someone else had to clean your table, you either split the tip or lost the tip. If a server owed you one, they would clean your table and still give you the tip. This is the first time I’ve left a cash tip at the Spaghetti Western. If it was $5 or so, I would blow it off, but realize I needed to stick around if I wanted my money. Lesson learned. However, it was $20 which was A. stolen right from under the owner’s nose and B. met with a ‘sucks to be you’ attitude. Obviously, I’m not important.

    And yeah, it takes a hell of a set of balls to tell me to fuck off over my lost money, but suck it up and go make some for him.

    Reply

  4. Beck
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 01:46:10

    I completely understand your plight, I work for a money grubbing I’ll just call her Princess, I know for a fact she helps herself to my tips. I am 57,and my hands and hips are shot, so quitting is not an option, and she knows it. It is sad to think the bonus she gave me last year was already my money, to make herself look good.
    I hate people that steal, and use others weaknesses to make themselves money or to feel good.
    I know you can get a better job,one you don’t have to worry about that shit….

    What a truly awful situation. I swear us servers should open our own restaurant so we can treat each other with respect.

    Reply

  5. DarcsFalcon
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 03:37:55

    Oh Holly. *hugs* I’ll be praying for you.

    Thank you! Prayers are always welcome.

    Reply

  6. Bob
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 07:14:02

    that really sucks. I still remember when you started at the S. Western, you seemed to love it SO MUCH. I hope Pro Rodeo makes things right.

    Well, he didn’t. In fact things got much worse.

    Reply

  7. thelifeofjamie
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 07:32:38

    we used to have a guy who stole tips. He was a busser/runner/waiter/illegal alien. He used to argue about it too when it was clear he was the only one who could have done it. He eventually got fired.

    I don’t understand why it takes the people in charge so long to figure out who the thief is.

    Reply

  8. skippymom
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 08:33:14

    If I wanted that tip I would’ve never left the restaurant/my shift without it. I completely understand wanting to go home after a double – who wouldn’t – but having worked in restaurants for so long the only guarantee I have of getting that tip is if it was in my hand at the end of my shift. I would never have counted on ANYone being honest enough to make sure I got it the next day. And I worked with some of my very best friends. It is just the nature of the business.

    Most places I’ve worked, if you wanted the money, you stuck around until the bitter end. That hasn’t been the case here. Our money has always been taken care of and when Pro Rodeo personally said he’d take care of it, I trusted that it wouldn’t go missing.

    Does it make it right? Absolutely not – and it is actually sad that we can’t count on our co workers to be honest, but it is a fact that tip wasn’t going to be there the next day. If that ever did happen then we are very lucky.

    I’ve never had money go missing in all the time I’ve worked there. I guess up until last night, I was very lucky.

    I guess I am playing a little devil’s advocate here because as much as it sucks that someone stole from you – in this business it is a given that would happen, so I wonder why you would quit over the “principal” of the thing when there isn’t any principal to begin with.

    It isn’t so much the “principle” as it is the fact that with my felony conviction, it will only be a matter of time before someone is pointing their finger at me. How do you prove you didn’t do something? I’ve learned that when stuff starts getting stolen, if the culprit isn’t caught and fired immediately, it’s best to move on.

    Would you take your job back if PR took $20 out of his pocket and gave it to you? Or if the culprit who stole it was caught and fired? I hope one of those two scenarios occurs, even if you don’t go back to work there, but I wish you luck in finding a new job. That should be easy. 🙂 Good luck.

    Going back isn’t an option after today.

    Reply

  9. Sparty Girl
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 10:17:27

    Oh, no!!!!!!!!!!!!! This totally stinks. S.W. seemed like a great job, and making good money through the winter is not to be taken lightly. I agree that the risk is with P.R.’s attitude. If you can’t trust him on this there is a good chance you’ll be the one set up at some point.

    Yep. Been there, done that, not going to do it again.

    I hope he makes it right and you can stay.

    He didn’t, and I’m not.

    Reply

  10. Peas
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 13:45:09

    It’s not the principle of the thing, it’s the fact that Pro Rodeo has a big fat RAT running through his establishment. It’s about maintaining self respect and dignity, about saying she will NOT work amongst dishonest RAT FINK thieves. Where money is involved, it’s only a matter of time before the finger pointing game begins. Bottom line, it absolutely is all about having enough common sense to walk away from a situation where unethical behavior is shoo-shooed. Pro Rodeo could not have handled this more poorly. It’s is truly HIS loss.

    Exactly. After my felony conviction, I worked for someone I’ve known since I was 14 years old. I was a cook, only in the kitchen, not allowed in the dining room. Five hundred dollars for a charity came up missing from a jar that was kept behind the register, a place I never had access to. I was immediately accused by someone who I thought was my friend simply because I had a felony conviction. After I quit, the thieving continued and it turned out it was a waitress who has been fired from every job she’s had for stealing. The damage to my reputation was unbelievable because the little bitch who stole the money ran all over two towns telling everyone she saw that I did it. It took months to find another job and I had to fight tooth and nail to keep the one I finally found.

    When people are being dishonest, I’ve learned it’s best to take my toys and go home. It’s too hard to bounce back once the finger pointing begins.

    Reply

  11. Peas
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 13:46:56

    Finger pointing game…. not fight. ???

    I fixed you. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

