Just When You Think Things Can’t Get Any Worse…

…they always can.

I went in today to drop off my apron and pick up my tip envelope.  I went in the back room with Pro Rodeo and when he gave me my envelope I thanked him for the opportunity to work there and said I was sorry it didn’t work out.

He said, “If you were a man, I’d knock you on your ass.”

I asked, “Why?!  Because my money got stolen and you won’t do anything about it?!”

“No, because you accused me of stealing it.”

“I absolutely DID NOT accuse you of taking my money.  The only person who accused you of taking my money was the Drug Felon.”

“Whatever.  You need to get out of here before I knock you on your ass.”

Seriously?! 

Seriously?!

I mean, WHAT THE FUCK?!

I left and went to Sunni’s house and she asked how things went and if I got my job back.  I told her what happened and she said she was at the Spaghetti Western not 30 minutes before and she told Pro Rodeo she didn’t want me to quit.  He told her he isn’t responsible for our money and she told him that to a degree he is.  He finally agreed, and said he had it narrowed down to two people, and that he’d set a trap.  Then he said he heard I accused him of stealing the money.  She told him only the Drug Felon accused him of stealing it.  She said he was perfectly fine and cordial to her.  (I have no reason to doubt Sunni’s story.  Yeah, we fight, but we still like each other.  If I find a good place to work, I wouldn’t be surprised if she followed me.)

Yet when I went in 30 minutes later he threatened me and made me be the bad guy.

Again, WHAT THE FUCK?!

All I can say is he is wrong.  My money was stolen, he yelled at me from the start, and then copped a douchy attitude with me because he’s wrong and he knows it. 

So no, I will never go back.  I will tell everyone I know what went on and how he handled it.  Good luck finding people to work for you, asshole.  I am going to apply for unemployment tomorrow with a very detailed reason for why I quit.  I will probably be denied, but he will be called on the carpet by the state for the way he handled the situation.  He can fuck himself and the horse he rode in on.

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Becki
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 17:34:20

    Good for you…hang in there,you don’t have to take that crap….

    As my mom says, ‘I was looking for a job when I found that one.’ I’ll find something better.

    Reply

  2. susan
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 17:41:10

    If they fight it, appeal it. Even if it doesn’t work, you will still be a thorn in his side. It is too bad it didn’t work out, though. It sounded like a good place to work and PR had a momentary lapse of reason.

    I plan to keep it going as long as I can just to piss him off.

    He’s not one to admit when he’s wrong. He’s not the problem, everyone else is. It’s hard to run a business in a small town with an attitude like that.

    Reply

  3. Cindy C.
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 17:51:47

    Makes you wonder who got in there during that 30 minutes and changed his mind from when Sunni was there and you talked to him… or maybe he’s just being douchy.

    He’s busy kissing Sunni’s ass because he’s worried she’s going to quit. He never admits when he’s wrong. He had to make up something to make his mistake seem justified.

    Reply

  4. Sparty Girl
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 18:43:06

    Unbelievable. I think you made a wise decision. I’m just sorry it came to this. It seemed like a good gig. I guess it’s best you found out this way while you still had a chance to take matters into your own hands.

    I’m sure you’ll find something better real soon!

    I’m sure I will too. I live the way I do…cheap mobile home, freeloading land off my parents, Frankenvan…so I’m not under someone’s thumb. I stayed in an abusive marriage for way longer than I should have simply because I didn’t know how I would pay the bills. Once I got out, I said I would never live beyond my means and suffer for it again.

    Reply

  5. theblonde
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 18:59:34

    That’s disgusting. Not just to threaten a woman, but to threaten any person with physical violence after he seemed to be on your side.
    I’m sorry you had to deal with that, and at least now you have no doubts that you made the right decision.

    It is disgusting. Saturday night I wondered if I made the right decision. Sunday afternoon I was sure I had.

    Reply

  6. DarcsFalcon
    Feb 19, 2012 @ 23:33:45

    Wow. What a mess! It sure does seem like something happened to snap his twig against you sometimes between when you left and came back in the next day.

    “Snap his twig” HAHAHAHA! I love that and I’m stealing it.

    Pro Rodeo can never be wrong. When customers ask where I am, what sounds better:

    “She lost $20 and blamed me for taking it. If she hadn’t quit, I would have fired her.”

    or

    “Someone stole $20 out of her box and I yelled at her that I wasn’t responsible for her money so she quit.”

    He had to come up with a reason that makes him look good and justified while making it my fault for quitting.

    It just seems so weird. He always seemed like he was on your side in everything. Sad.

    Only when it suited him as well. I wrote about the good stuff because I’m not sure if he reads the blog and I didn’t want to lose my job.

    I’m sorry you’re going through this. I hope you find something soon. *hug*

    Something will. It’s time to start hiring again in Cody.

    Reply

  7. Lisa Frank
    Feb 20, 2012 @ 17:10:09

    Hi there I have been reading your blog since the beginning and I absolutely love it, it has made me want to start my own. The drama you have had to deal with sucks, but I would like to give you a piece of advice, take it with a grain of salt if you would like. Ok, so it was kind of like the SW , as in great customers, great money, and a fun place to work. There was a fair amount of bullshit to deal with as well though, the owner is pretty much a money grubbing cheap ass (we call him Mr Crabs lol)but I just dealt with it because I made so much money. I had tons of regulars who would come in and ask for me. Well last year he did something so awful, way worse than being a douche over 20 bucks missing. I don’t want to get into what it was but it was bad. So I ended up not only quitting but also telliing him in no certain terms that I thought he was a fucking fucktard and horrible person. I found another job right away. And guess what, it fucking sucked! I did twice the work for half the money the clientele sucked and I was miserable. Basically I went from SW to the Harribalsac. After a couple months I couldn’t stand it anymore and I went to Mr Crabs and apologized. It was one of the hardest things I have ever had to do but he gave me my job back. Now I am back to normal again making that bank lol. Anyway I think you should at least give some thought into talking things over with Pro Rodeo. It’s 20 bucks, and I know that blows, but just take the big picture into account. As for whatever happened with my boss and I it really is a long story, but if there is a way for me to tell you privately I will if you wanted to hear it. Anyway, good luck to you whatever you decide.

    Thank you for the advice.

    The $20 was the straw that broke the camel’s back. There were a few other things going on and I almost quit on Thursday night, but decided to suck it up because it wasn’t worth losing a good job over and it too would pass. Even when I went in on Sunday, I had the intention of talking to him and working something out…until he threatened to knock me on my ass.

    All I’m going to say is the verbal and emotional abuse was out of hand. I’m not sticking around for it to become physical. In the summer when there were more of us, we all shared the burden. In the winter with just a handful of us, it became a little too much to bear. Working with Pro Rodeo was like spending every day with my ex-husband. My customers were great, the money was great, but I did not look forward to going to work.

    Right up until the end I DID look forward to going to work at the Harribalsac.

    There are a couple of other high end restaurants in town. One fired a good deal of the staff over drugs. Another one is opening at the end of the month. Something will work out.

    If you want to share your story, my email address is yellercat413@yahoo.com.

    Reply

  8. Jen V.
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 19:27:50

    I’m a longtime lurker who was about to ratchet up to a ‘semi-stalker’ this summer. My husband and I are heading up to Yellowstone and we decided the trip MUST include a dinner at the Spaghetti Western. We will definitely avoid it now; abusive employers don’t get my money if I have any choice in the matter. Pro Rodeo sounds like a real ass, and I hope anyone else he has been treating shabbily also leaves with heads held high.
    Your writing is engaging, and I hope you find a wonderful new job that still has *just enough* fodder for your blog.

    Best wishes to you!

    Semi-stalkers are always welcome! I’m sure by summer I’ll have a job in a decent place. Stop in and see me! If you need any info about Yellowstone or where to stay in the area, let me know.

    Reply

  9. hiraanimfeftetheunweddedwidow
    May 19, 2012 @ 00:08:00

    I’m reading this super-belatedly. I’m sorry you were treated so poorly by your boss. I’m even more sorry your thieving coworker pinned a felony on you that you didn’t deserve. It was actually my theiving boss who pinned the felony on my. It definitely sounds like you did the right thing.

    Reply

  10. hiraanimfeftetheunweddedwidow
    May 19, 2012 @ 00:08:24

    Abusive bosses suck.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

