My Dancing Queen

Copyright Robert Kirkwood

Copyright Robert Kirkwood

My daughter is a burlesque performer in Laramie.  Tropes Burlesque is the name, semi-naked women (and men) is the game.

I’ve been to a number of her performances.  It is very odd to watch my daughter strip.  I’m not going to lie.  But I’m very proud of her and to some extent I pat myself on the back for raising a confident girl.

Burlesque is different than working as a stripper.  For one thing, all the money goes to charity.  When I asked my daughter how much money she made for performing and she told me she didn’t make any money, my first thought was, ‘Great.  You’re taking your clothes off for free.  Didn’t I teach you ANYTHING?!’  At least she doesn’t pay her bills with ones. 

Burlesque celebrates all body types.  Not everyone is a 24 year old, size 2 with a boob job.  If you have a talent and want to be on stage, you can join the troupe.  There are belly dancers, a fire juggler, singers, musicians, a master hula-hooper, and exotic dancers.  I’ve never been bored at any of the shows I’ve attended and more than once I’ve sat up and said, “WOW!”

The troupe had a show on Saturday night and I was supposed to be there.  Crappy weather and unreliable transportation caused me to stay home (and quit my job).  Little by little pictures from the dress rehearsal and the show are popping up on Facebook.  If you’re interested, click here for pictures.

Copyright Robert Kirkwood

Copyright Robert Kirkwood

 

 

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. DarcsFalcon
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 01:51:40

    She looks very happy. 🙂

    She’s always been a performer…concert flute, figure skating, theatre, marching band, beauty pageants. She has way more confidence than I do.

    Reply

  2. izziedarling
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 06:53:42

    First of all, that is so cool. Second, did you really quit? Third – head over to my spot when you have time – look under “Who? Me?” and pick up your prize 🙂

    Yes, I really did quit. I’ll be right over! I love prizes!

    Reply

  3. Danielle
    Feb 21, 2012 @ 18:03:19

    That’s so awesome! I’ve only been to one burlesque show, but I have a ton of respect/admiration for it. I wish I could have that level of confidence!

    I’m not a performer. I’m the one in the bathroom barfing up everything I’ve ever eaten. My daughter is the one at the edge of the stage asking, “Is it MY turn yet?!”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

