Ahhh…Frankenvan

I ran to Cody today to apply for some jobs and grab a few things at Walmart.  After dropping off a few applications, I stopped by Cora’s house to see Baby Ali.  She had her first set of shots today and she was NOT happy.  She was doing the ‘my life is over’ cry.  It was heartbreaking.  I offered to pick up some frozen peas to put on Ali’s leg to lessen the pain.

So, off to Walmart.  The wind was blowing about 1000 miles an hour, which is typical in Cody.  I got my things, checked out, ran/flew back to Frankenvan and put my goods inside.  The slider door wouldn’t latch on the back side, so I bumped it with my hip.  It still wouldn’t close, so I opened it again and suddenly I was catching the slider door as it fell to the pavement.

Yeah, that’s right.  My piece of shit van’s door fell off in the Walmart parking lot.  How much more redneck can I get?

This looks an awful lot like my house...

I am missing a headlight...

I do need some body work...

 

I could make a new door...

 

A new door would require a new lock...

Ahhh…Frankenvan…you’re breaking my heart.

At least the door didn’t fall on my feet and break both of them, and the window didn’t shatter when the door hit the ground, so I guess it’s all good.

A woman helped me get the door back in the hole and get it sort of latched before I went to Cora’s house to drop off the peas.  She asked if I needed some bungie cords for my drive home.

Maybe just some duct tape...

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. wigsf
    Feb 22, 2012 @ 05:05:24

    at least you acknowledge the redness of your neck

    It’s hard not to own up to it.

    Reply

  2. wigsf
    Feb 22, 2012 @ 05:06:55

    and if somebody nearby got a shot of it on their camera phone, you might just make it onto peopleofwalmart.com

    That is one of my life goals.

    Reply

  3. Beth
    Feb 22, 2012 @ 07:21:20

    I am sure most of those pictures come from South Georgia. 🙂

    They have to come from somewhere warm. That galvanized tin door wouldn’t work out in our wind and below zero temps.

    Reply

  4. DarcKnyt
    Feb 22, 2012 @ 07:54:41

    I wish you’d take pictures of these sorts of things. That’s…awesome. Just awesome.

    That’s what my son said when I told him. It’s hard to take a picture when you are desperately trying to shove the door back in the hole.

    Reply

  5. Under Cover
    Feb 22, 2012 @ 08:04:40

    Duck. Tape. Rocks. ;D

    Yes. It. Does. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Sparty Girl
    Feb 22, 2012 @ 15:40:55

    Seriously, never underestimate the power of duck tape.

    I’m never without several rolls of it. I believe the maxim, “If it’s supposed to move and it doesn’t, use WD-40. If it moves and it isn’t supposed to, use duct tape.”

    Reply

  7. izziedarling
    Feb 23, 2012 @ 06:17:36

    Ahhh .,. duct tape. Is there anything it won’t fix? Love the photos – you made me laugh.

    Duct tape holds the universe together.

    Reply

  8. DarcsFalcon
    Feb 26, 2012 @ 21:45:54

    Hahaha, that maxim rules! Pretty much works or everything. 😀

    That being said, I’m sorry Frankenvan lost his rear hatch. 😦 I hope you’re able to get it fixed. Doesn’t it always figure that this kind of crap only happens when you can least afford it?

    I have a really good mechanic on speed dial. Other women have hair stylists, I have a mechanic. He fixed it in about 15 minutes (10 of that was spent laughing at me) for free and it’s better than new.

    Praying for you hon.

    Prayers are always welcome!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

