Unemployment

Not having a purpose or a schedule kinda sucks.  Yeah, it’s nice for a day or two, but then it gets tiresome.

So what have I been doing with my time off?  Not cleaning my house, I can tell you that.  Laziness breeds laziness.  Okay, so I vacuumed today…sorta. 

What I’ve been doing is crocheting.  Lots and lots of crocheting.  And what goes great with crocheting?  Watching TV.  Lots and lots of TV.  I’m not big on TV.  When I’m working, it’s a couple of hours for dead of night crafting and maybe a Buffy episode once I get in bed.  Since I have nowhere to go and plenty of time to get there, I’ve become a TV addict.

My TV comes in two ways:  Netflix Instant or Hulu Plus.  Thank God I don’t have access to 2000 channels or I’d never get out of the recliner.  Netflix is great for older shows and I’ve discovered How I Met Your Mother (anything with former Buffy cast mates scores high in my book) and Burn Notice.  Reruns of Star Trek: TNG, Deep Space Nine, Bones, and Supernatural never get old. 

Hulu Plus has current TV shows so I’m current on Supernatural, Bones, Ringer (I keep waiting for Buffy to emerge and jab Mr. Pointy into her lying stepdaughter and her clueless husband’s chests.  One can hope), and Grey’s Anatomy (I think the time has come for this show to get off the air, yet I keep watching it).

I’ve also discovered some new shows. 

Body of Proof

It’s like Bones only with goo. 

Dana Delaney and Jeri Ryan are awesome.  They make me want to work out, buy designer clothes and shoes I can’t walk in and go solve murders.  Okay, not really.  I don’t like dead people, the only time I can afford designer clothes is when I find them at a thrift store, and someone would have to hold a gun to my head to make me put on those ridiculous heels Dr. Megan Hunt wears to every crime scene.  Seriously, blood and goo on expensive shoes?  I don’t think so.  At least you can bleach a pair of Crocs and throw them in the washer.

Revenge

Oh yeah. 

Again with the clothes.  Beautiful costumes, beautiful people, beautiful locations.  Makes my mobile home and sweat pants seem a little lacking.  And RED.  I’m not fond of red, but suddenly I want to buy everything in the shade of blood red, or maybe revenge red.  I most identify with Nolan Ross (except I’m not a billionaire or a sexually confused dude)…quietly standing on the sidelines, giving an assist when needed, and watching to see who goes down in flames first.  I do love a good train wreck.

Once Upon a Time

I didn’t think I would like this show and during the first episode, I remember thinking that I would give it about 3 more minutes to get interesting before I removed it from my subscriptions.  And then I saw him.

I’ve always had a thing for Robert Carlyle (except for in Trainspotting where he seriously freaked my shit), but he does “nasty little imp” so very well I found myself staring at the TV, mouth open, drooling just a little.  Dirty thoughts, going to hell.

I ended up watching 6 or 7 episodes last night because I couldn’t. turn. it. off.  The story is fun, the costumes are great, but Rumpelstiltskin steals the show (if you have a thing for nasty little imps). 

Sadly, shirtless Spike who has been my cell phone background for years has been replaced.  For now.

As for the crocheting…I’ve finished 2 ponchos.  One I gave to a friend as a late birthday present and the other will either be a gift for someone, or I’ll try to sell it with the other crap on etsy.com.  If I’m unemployed long enough, I might end up with enough crap to sell at the big craft fair next November.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cindy C.
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 19:05:46

    mmmm shirtless Spike. I enjoy Body of Proof, but I stopped watching Greys last season. After they killed off George I got bored with it. lol

    It’s just not the same without George & Izzy. There are too many people I don’t care about & the storylines are dull.

    Reply

  2. DarcKnyt
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 19:09:43

    Yeah, unemployment sucks donkey. I can relate. And yet, I was so stressed, I couldn’t do anything to enjoy myself. Not this time around. Hope yours isn’t as extended as mine.

    It’s stressful counting coins. I’m used to having cash all the time and waiting for an UI check while trying to stay on a budget is hard.

    Reply

  3. Corina
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 19:32:28

    OHH girl! I will TOTALLY fight you for Robert Carlyle!!! OHHH BABY!!!!! I have lust err liked him for years!

    Game on! 🙂

    Reply

  4. Bob
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 21:34:39

    Carlyle is great on that show. He was also good on the star trek wantabe show “Stargate: Universe”.

    I might have to look into the Stargate show.

    Reply

  5. Mars
    Feb 29, 2012 @ 22:49:44

    Mmm…yum, the delish Winchester boys. Guess how long it’s been since I worked!

    The Winchesters are something special, aren’t they.

    I’m afraid to ask how long you’ve been unemployed.

    Reply

  6. Fuck My Table
    Mar 01, 2012 @ 01:56:06

    Dude, I freaking love Bones and Star Trek TNG. I may have to check out these new shows you’ve discovered.

    Cute poncho!

    Thanks!

    Reply

  7. wigsf
    Mar 01, 2012 @ 07:04:30

    I’m still pissed off at Robert Carlyle for the Full Monty. I sat through two hours of that slow stupid movie only to not see his dick!

    Not that I want to see another man’s penis. It’s just that the whole movie hinges on this guy showing his cock to a room full of people then at the end, we the audience don’t get to see it. It’s like if Titanic didn’t show the actual sinking of a boat.

    I have to admit, I was a little disappointed as well. I’m not much for nudity, but like you said, the whole movie was about him going Full Monty.

    They coulda done something like in Boogie Nights. Okay, that wasn’t really Mark Wahlberg’s dick. Just a prosthetic. (Phew.) But at least something was shown. Marky Mark’s funky bunch was integral to Boogie Nights, so it should be seen at some point.

    I screamed and ran away when I saw Dirk Diggler’s funky bunch. That was the most awful thing I’ve ever seen.

    Then again, there isn’t much good on TV these days anyway.

    I’ve decided TV is way more inventive and entertaining than movies. Hollywood keeps making the same crap over and over.

    Reply

  8. Sparty Girl
    Mar 01, 2012 @ 07:54:21

    I like Once Upon a Time, but it conflicts with the Simpsons, which I don’t have the heart to make my kids give up. Maybe I need to get Hulu Plus.

    What I like about Hulu & Netflix is you can watch when YOU want to watch, not when the networks tell you to watch.

    Try Grimm. And I’m glad you discovered Burn Notice. That show is too much fun.

    I tried Grimm, but it’s a watered down, less sexy version of Supernatural. It didn’t hold my interest for long. Burn Notice is hilarious. Everyone is so emotionally stunted.

    Reply

  9. amberroberson123
    Mar 01, 2012 @ 08:23:04

    I can’t get enough of Spartacus on Starz. There is full monty in almost every episode, and the story is actually quite engaging. Fringe is another show that I recently discovered and can’t seem to stop watching.

    I think Spartacus is available on Netflix. I’ll have to check. Fringe keeps coming up in my recommendations so maybe I should try it. You and I have the same weird taste in stuff.

    Reply

  10. Ahmnodt Heare
    Mar 01, 2012 @ 15:24:37

    the last time I lost a job, I tried some unconventional methods to gain work. One of them was walking into a department store’s human resources department and told them today was my first day. i even freaked out a bit when they said they “couldn’t find my paperwork.” (Because I never applied.) I was in the middle of orientation when the store manager told me to go home because they hadn’t been hiring in a while and didn’t need me.

    That’s a pretty awesome idea. I don’t know if I’m that desperate yet.

    Reply

  11. Lisa Frank
    Mar 01, 2012 @ 16:34:14

    Well you can take solace in the fact that you are kind of famous. i was reading Restaurant Business magazine today during a slow time at work and your blog was mentioned as one of the top employee industry blogs, along with FMT, Slightly Cranky, and Bitchy Waiter. The article was talking about how while owners might be apprehensive about their employees blogging, they can actually be good for business. lol 🙂

    Really?! I’m kinda famous? I might have to check out that magazine.

    Update: I looked and I’m just sort of famous…they got the name of my blog wrong. Oh well. Story of my life.

    Reply

  12. DarcsFalcon
    Mar 01, 2012 @ 23:18:57

    The poncho is cute!

    Thanks!

    Unemployment is not. 😦 I’m sorry. I was hoping you’d have something by now. Maybe once the tourist things pick up a little. That should be soon, right?

    I’ve gotten into Lie To Me lately but I watch alone. Darc and I have started watching Monk. We really like being able to watch all the episodes whenever we want and not have to wait a week to see the next installment. Might have to check out Hulu Plus. 🙂

    I like Lie to Me, but it started to fizzle out towards the middle of the second season. My mom said she couldn’t understand it and I think that was it’s demise…too smart for the average viewer. Monk cracks me up. The guy who plays Stottlemeyer played Buffalo Bill in Silence of the Lambs. It’s a trip watching him NOT be a creep.

    Keeping you in prayer hon. I know how rough it is.

    Reply

  13. Ktree
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 23:18:52

    Ok so 1) apparently the scroll bar on my mouse JUST NOW broke! Suck!
    Also, I was just playing spades on the internet against (and with) computers, and I am totally kicking ass, and I caught myself laughing like Robert Carlyle. Creepy little snicker! Also, I completely get your thing for him. I want to jump his bones. That is all.

    You know he’d be a dirty boy. 😉

    Reply

  14. Hira Animfefte
    May 19, 2012 @ 00:18:20

    Unemployment does suck. I was an unpaid intern last year, which meant that I worked hard and was paid nothing. At the moment I’m straight-up unemployed.

    Ack! Did you get a stipend or anything? I couldn’t live on just my good looks.

    I did apply for unemployment after losing my temp job. I waited too long to do it, though, and the temp agency (and my Evil Bitch Boss) challenged my narrative. They seem to be tilted to take the employers’ side when there’s a conflict, and I really had no documentation because I’d been such a basket case at the time I’d lost my job.

    Wyoming is a Right to Work state and they believe there’s no good reason to leave a job.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

