Back at the Outlaw

I picked up a couple weeks of work at the Outlaw, the little cafe in Meeteetse, while one of the employees picks up the pieces of her life after her house caught fire during a “controlled” burn.  For the record, there’s no such thing as a controlled burn in Wyoming in March.  Fifty mile an hour winds, yo.

There are pros and cons to working at the Outlaw. 

Pro:  I don’t have to drive 64 miles a day to work.  This means I’m not spending money on gas.  I’m not running Frankenvan to death and I’m not likely to hit a large creature in the mile drive to my house.  Anything’s possible, though.

Con:  I don’t make as much money as I do working in Cody.  

Pro:  The place is haunted.  This makes for a nice bit of conversation.

Con:  The place is haunted.  I spend my shifts ignoring voices (these are different than the usual ones in my head), and stifling screams.  I’ll get used to it again eventually, but for now it’s one big freaky ghost party because they’ve all come out to welcome me back.

Pro:  The owners are some of the best people I’ve ever met.  They treat their employees with dignity and respect, and will work out any schedule to accommodate their people. 

Con:  There isn’t one.

Pro:  I work with my drunken roommate.  HAHAHAHA!  Just kidding.  This is only sort of a pro.  Even though he’s drunk at work, he gets stuff done and he’s easy to work with.  He’s on the bar side of the building, so I only see him when he has a food order or I need drinks.  I’ve worked with people who are just as drunk as he is, only much more obnoxious and way more useless.

Con:  I work with MDR.  He has the ability to become invisible and then reappear without warning.  It’s bad enough that he does it at home, but combine his invisibility with the ghosts and I’m in a state of mild terror all night.

Pro:  The Outlaw is very casual.  Nobody gets too upset about anything, there’s no screaming and yelling, or temper tantrums.

Con:  The other word for casual is disorganized.  It’s not as bad as it was when I worked there years ago, but there are still a few issues with slackassery. 

Pro:  It takes me 5 minutes to get to work and I’m home 5 minutes after the restaurant closes.  This is an extra hour and a half every day that I have to waste at home.

Con:  I can’t find one.

I hope they can find enough hours for me to stay and work because I’m pretty tired of driving to Cody.  If I figure in the cost of gas, vehicle replacement, vehicle repairs, risk of accident, and time spent behind the wheel, I probably make about the same amount working at the Outlaw as I do working in Cody.  Money isn’t everything.

In Unemployment news, my claim was that I quit because my money was stolen and the owner wouldn’t do anything about it.  It was disputed because I was “dissatisfied with my working conditions”, stolen money wasn’t a factor.  I replied back that I was highly satisfied with my working conditions and used my blog with comments and my actions as a rebuttal.  Now I have to have a telephone hearing on the 23rd because apparently I was “discharged due to misconduct.” 

WTF?!

How did it go from me quitting to me being discharged?  Do employers get to make up anything they want?  His story has changed twice and mine has remained the same.  I’m dying to know what my “misconduct” was.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. imworthmysalt
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 17:02:39

    Good luck with the hearing. When the company my husband and I closed [shut down, filed bankruptcy] the owner let my benefits claim slide, but challenged my husband’s. Made absolutely no sense – and we had one of those hearings via phone. The unemployment guy got kind of pissed at the owner and thanked him for wasting his time while approving Pooldad. Although I can say then benefits were piddly considering how good of money we had made. We were glad to be off of it.

    Hey! You changed your name!

    I have a feeling my phone hearing is going to be a riot. How many times can someone change their mind about one incident? When I said I couldn’t work with or for dishonest people, this is what I meant.

    Reply

    • skippymom
      Mar 19, 2012 @ 17:44:14

      The name change was accidental but it won’t let me log in with blogger anymore – so I just use a really old word press account. Sorry about that – I hadn’t noticed it happened here too. Dagnabit!

      What’s funny is that I still recognized you, even undercover. 🙂

      Reply

  2. Guy
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 17:31:32

    Haunted? Awesome! Probably gets old after a bit, but pretty neat-o anyway.

    It simmers down, but the initial onslaught is a little overwhelming.

    Employers are almost always dicks about unemployment. They fret over it like herpes sores on the upper lip (unless they are in a seasonal business, and are used to it). Even previously alright ones. You can list Pro-Rodeo in the official “douche nozzle boss” list now.

    I hope it works out with the hearing.

    What’s funny is that my unemployment wouldn’t even come from P.R.’s pool. It comes from the time I worked at the Harribalsac, but he acts like it’s coming out of his pocket. He was in the “douche nozzle boss” category more often than he wasn’t, I just never wrote about it because I didn’t know if he read the blog. The guy can never be wrong and he likes to fight. Not good qualities.

    Enjoy the “new” job!

    Thanks!

    Reply

  3. Mary Holbert
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 17:32:11

    Your misconduct was you didn’t like something done by management. Could be a hanging offense, you never know.

    Especially in Wyoming.

    Reply

  4. Sparty Girl
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 17:32:15

    Yay! I’m glad you found some work.

    As far as unemployment, that’s just unreal. Sometimes you can ask to have a witness present. Is there a co-worker you would trust who knows enough details to possibly help you out? If so, call the unemployment people and see if you can add the person in as a witness.

    Sunni is my witness. She was there for the whole thing and the aftermath. She also knows I was never guilty of any misconduct.

    Reply

  5. DarcKnyt
    Mar 15, 2012 @ 19:06:28

    And when you use that extra hour and a half per day to write something, you can tell some of those great ghost stories. Or send them to me in email so I can use them. Right?

    I’ll start out with the best intentions, but I’m sure I’ll end up sitting on my ever widening ass and do nothing with that extra hour and a half. 😉

    Reply

  6. GingerG
    Mar 16, 2012 @ 07:48:55

    I work in HR, so I have to deal with unemployment claims on the employer side. I will be curious to know how your claims turns out. On one hand, it can be difficult to receive unemployment compensation when you guit, regardless of the reason. You have to be able to prove that your working conditions were so intolerable that you had not choice. However, your former employer isn’t helping himself by changing the reason from you resigning to being terminated for misconduct mid-stream so you may win just for that reason alone. In any event, good luck!!!

    I know quitting almost guarantees a denial for unemployment, but I did quit with cause. I thought I was going to be able to have at least one witness, but she will lose her job if she testifies for me. If I don’t get it, it’s not the end of the world.

    Reply

  7. Lionness955
    Mar 17, 2012 @ 15:03:03

    I am not sure how I ended up here,I think there was construction and I missed my exits well any who I am here. Where you are talking about your Unemployment Claim I went through the same thing. I worked in HR, so I knew not to trust people and to always make sure I had things in writing, witnesses, etc.I had requested 2 days off, got my requested signed and approved plus I kept a copy. When I returned to work on Tue I found out I was being terminated. WTF? I could not get a straight answer for why but thought ok thats fine I have done nothing wrong. A few days later I found I was terminated for attendance, said I had missed 6 days . Ha thats funny in HR they did not like for us to miss so they would let us come in late, leave early or do some work from home while we were ill. I had never done that and had missed a day of work in over 9 months. I showed proof of that. A few days later I was told that I was fired for misconduct. I asked why I was never given an oral or written warning, usually you need 3-4 acts of misconduct for termination depending on the act. Also, if my action of misconduct was such that warranted immediate termination where is the documentation of it. A few weeks later it was again changed to job abandonment, those two days I took off they said I was a “no call / no show” during the phone cross examination I asked my co-workers and supervisor if they remembered me requesting those days off – of course they did not. I asked one of them if she was surprised that I did not call in she said no I asked why she said you had those days off – aha. I was able to trip all three of them up and they acknowledge that they did know I had requested the days.

    About a month before all this happened I had a bit of insight that something was about to happen, a department head from another area stopped by to tell me how great it had been to work with me over the years and they wished me luck in the future. I did not say a word but kept my eyes peeled. I knew it had nothing to do with my work, almost a year ago I broke my leg at work. I was not at fault,the operator ride on pallet jak was being careless and not watching where he was going and hit me. I was in a “safe zone” at a water fountain getting a drink! I was fired 6 months to the day of when the cast came off!

    It’s nice to know employers can change their minds to get what they want. Wyoming is a right to work state so I’ll be interested to see how this turns out.

    Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment!

    Reply

  8. Ahmnodt Heare
    Mar 18, 2012 @ 06:32:24

    I had a similar problem with a previous employer. I quit, they said they canned me. I gave a two-week written notice. They told future prospective employers that they fired me. I only found this out because a close friend was an HR manager and told me the discrepancy. It explained why I had a lot of job interviews but couldn’t get a job.

    It’s funny how they will fight your unemployment claim AND give you bad references. I don’t know how people can be so vindictive.

    Reply

  9. michele
    Mar 18, 2012 @ 19:17:41

    i’m kind of torn on this one. it would be great to have you in town more! it means more thought to making shopping lists or more trips to cody for me. might have to buy all the coco lopez i see!

    Yes, but I’ll have more time to join you on the shopping trips to Cody.

    I’ll have to hang out when you’re working and that could be a problem. (me being an “alcoholic” and all) of course, getting all the juicy gossip first hand is a HUGE plus!

    Ugh. Meeteetse gossip. It never ends. We’re already the town lesbians, you know.

    i’m glad they treat you well there. i’ve heard the opposite from other employees. nothing is lost by trying it out. sharon has always been nice. how she does it, i’ll never know!

    Sharron works like a rented mule and her family treats her as such. It’s disgraceful. Jim and Sharron have always treated me well because I work hard from the time I get there until the time I leave. I don’t sit on my ass in the bar with my friends and pitch a fit when someone wants food.

    have you seen travis? his facebook page has become too much for me. i hope i get to spend some time with him when i get out there.(minus any preaching) we all know i’m going to hell in a bucket!

    I haven’t seen him and just realized he’s back in town. The FB preaching is a little much.

    miss you tons, michele

    Miss you too!

    Reply

  10. DarcsFalcon
    Mar 19, 2012 @ 21:48:06

    I guess a little something is way better than nothing! I’m glad you’ve been able to find a stop-gap. Lots of pros there too, so that’s a good thing.

    I think the stop gap has turned into pretty close to full time.

    I keep praying something good turns up soon. I was bummed to hear about Pro Rodeo. He seemed like such a nice guy too, but it makes sense why you wouldn’t want to post the negative. That stuff can come back to bite you in the butt. I just read today that 1 in 5 employers check out all your social media stuff before they’ll hire you. Of course, we knew that.

    I’m careful about what I say when anyone can read it. I could tell you horror stories about PR.

    Weather’s changing – something should open up soon. 🙂

    Reply

  11. Hira Animfefte
    May 19, 2012 @ 09:45:11

    Why not give us a PPP about Pro Rodeo? I would LOVE to hear the dirt.

    I thought about it, but too much time has passed. I’m sure bits and pieces will come out.

    Sorry your employers were such a jerk about it. The same thing happened to me. I quit my job (I was working through a temp agency) and then later the temp agency told me they were letting me go. So I both quit (my temp job) and was fired (from the temp agency). This was very shortly after my BF died and I was not in good shape. Later on, when I filed for unemployment, my former employer told them I was fired. My state favors employers over employees…no unemployment for me.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

