Sunday at the Outlaw

Most days the cook is also the server, dishwasher, buser, and cocktail waitress.  Or maybe the server is also the cook, buser, cocktail waitress and dishwasher.  If it gets busy, there’s back up, but for the most part it’s a one person operation. 

This is good since, rumour has it, I don’t work and play well with others, but it sucks ass when I’m trying to cook and take an order at the same time while a customer is being a dumbass.

Yesterday I had a woman tell me, “I don’t know what I like.  I was here last year and you made me some chicken and I really liked it.  I want that.  You remember what it was.”

Uh…no.  First, I wasn’t here last year.  Second, even if I was here last year, how the hell would I remember what you ate?  Trust me, you aren’t that important.

Then she went on to tell me they finally found a place to live after a year of searching.  To make sure she wasn’t going to be my new neighbour, I asked where their new house was.  Luckily it’s on the other side of Cody. 

All the while I’m thinking about the food burning in the kitchen and wishing she’d shut her pie hole.

Then a man asked me the question that makes me want to ram my fist into someone’s head:  What do you recommend?

I recommend that you are ready to order when I finally have time to get out of the kitchen and take your order.  After that I recommend a pizza because it’s the easiest thing for me to make.  If you don’t like my suggestion, I’m going to offer you more time to look at the menu and I’m going back in the kitchen to finish someone else’s order.  I recommend you be ready when I come back.

This sounds harsh, but holy shit balls people!  Take a look around.  Do you see anyone else here?   Do you see me covered in BBQ sauce and grease and sweating my ass off?  Do you smell the stink of submissive fear as I’m getting my ass handed to me?

On the plus side, I’m literally working my ass off.  I became quite a porker working at the Spaghetti Western.  When I get home at night I’m tired enough to sleep, and I spent $16 this week on gas rather than $50.  That’s a good deal any way you look at it.   

 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sparty Girl
    Mar 19, 2012 @ 17:26:28

    Yay for a lower gasoline bill! That’s an awful long drive, especially in the winter!

    It dawned on me that if I stay at the Outlaw I’ll have more time with the kidlets when they are here this summer!

    Reply

  2. skippymom
    Mar 19, 2012 @ 17:50:06

    The chicken lady gives new meaning to the phrase “Choke your chicken [lady]” people are so freaking blivious, I swear. You just know she has “special snowflake” tattooed on her ass.

    People like her are everywhere.

    Yay for a lower gas bill. We paid $4.00 a gallon today – and eventhough my husband has a short commute [for around here] we are spending almost $100 per week and we don’t have a gas guzzling SUV – it’s a 4 cyclinder Honda for crying out loud.

    I bought gas yesterday and it was $3.79 (I think). It’s just insane.

    It is seriously eating into our food budget – and you can forget any treats or date nights. So no fresh fruit and ice cream for the foreseeable future. [Yes, fresh fruit is actually a luxury b/c it is still out of season. le’ sigh.

    I did some math on the last 5 weeks at the Spaghetti Western compared to 1 week at the Outlaw and when I figured in gas and tipping out the buser, I had more money in my pocket at the Outlaw. Paying that much for gas just to get to work has to stop.

    I do feel your pain, believe me.

    Reply

  3. DarcKnyt
    Mar 19, 2012 @ 19:08:26

    Well, at least the commute’s easier, right? Even if the clientele isn’t.

    There are bad clientele everywhere.

    Reply

  4. DarcsFalcon
    Mar 19, 2012 @ 22:36:49

    Gas prices are becoming insane so it’s a bit of a blessing not to have to pay that much in gas to get to work right now. 🙂

    I’m happy paying $15 a week rather than $15 a day.

    “I want what I had last year.” Oh my gosh! If she couldn’t even remember that you weren’t working there then, why would she think her server would remember what she ate? Heck, even she could barely remember what she ate last year!

    I’m always amazed at the number of people who think the world revolves around them.

    Reply

  5. wigsf
    Mar 20, 2012 @ 06:39:15

    As long as the server/cook/toilet cleaner person washes his or her hands in between taks, it’ll be just fine.

    I’m a compulsive hand washer. I will have something of a psychotic episode if I can’t wash my hands.

    Reply

  6. Hira Animfefte
    May 19, 2012 @ 09:49:00

    Yay for a better commute! I’ve had an hour-long commute for the last year. It has SUCKED. Short commutes rock.

    I had a 40 minute, one way, commute for the last 5 years. Now I have a 3 minute commute and it’s AWESOME!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

