I Made a Huge Mistake

I went to Walmart during the day yesterday.  It has been years since I was in Walmart during the daylight hours.  I nearly lost my mind before I got out of the store.  Kids screaming, people blocking the aisles while talking on their cell phones, people in the REST ROOM talking on their phones while doing their business, people standing in the way looking as if they had just returned from an alien abduction.  It was the worst kind of insanity.  I’m going to have to change my shopping hours back to the dead of night when no one other than the creepy checkers and stockers are around.

One of the drawbacks of working at the Outlaw is I work with MDR.  I go to work and when I get in my van at the end of the night, I forget about it.  If something annoying happens, I share it here.  When I get home at night, I want to watch TV and crochet and sort of melt away.

He wants to come home and drunkenly bitch about work.  Over and over and over. 

Someone irritated him last night and he came home just as I was trying to finish my last episode of Supernatural before bed and proceeded to tell me the same ridiculous story 4 times, or 15 minutes worth of drunken rambling.

I am not a fan of drunks.  The only way this arrangement works out is because we seldom see each other.  Until now.

I less than politely told him I didn’t want to be a part of the Cowboy drama (the Cowboy is the attached bar and it’s worse than any middle school.  Everyone who works on that side is a drunk with a vag) and quite honestly, I didn’t give a shit about his stupid story.  He got all sorts of pissed off and I thought he was going to cry. 

When he gets like this, all ranting and raving about other people, it pisses off my dogs and he usually gets snapped by Otis and/or Arlo.  One would think he would learn, but he never does.  Afterwards, he forgets about it, but the two stock dogs don’t and I have to spend the next 3 days convincing them they don’t need to heel him every time he walks by.  Again, one would think he would figure this out after a year of living here.

In the end, he shut up and pouted, I watched the rest of Supernatural and went to bed.  All’s well that ends well, I guess.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thelifeofjamie
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 13:34:19

    what a fun roommate…

    Oh yeah *eyeroll*

    Reply

  2. Ahmnodt Heare
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 17:04:03

    I wish the Wal-Mart by me was a super Wal-Mart that was open 24/7 so I could go shopping in the middle of the night. People who park their carts next to kickstand displays also irk me. Don’t get me going about parking lots at Wal-Marts!

    Walmart in general is annoying.

    Reply

  3. skippymom
    Mar 21, 2012 @ 18:48:08

    OMG! I experienced the talking while in the stall [tinkling] at Wal Mart too! I thought it can’t be possible – that is so gross. I actually said out loud “You have got to be kidding me!” And my daughters heard me from the other side where they were waiting. They laughed and told me people do it all the time. GROSS. I mean, really – your phone call can’t wait? Who takes a person on the phone into the bathroom, let alone a public bathroom. Argh.

    Sometimes I think cell phones are the downfall of civilized society, but then I remind myself that people are the downfall of civilized society.

    I only go in Wal Mart near my daughter’s college to stock up on stuff she needs for school and herself. She always needs stuff and I hate to admit it – but it IS cheaper. Sigh.

    Walmart is the only game in town for me. Kmart NEVER has what I want. No matter what I go in for, they are out of it. Albertson’s is for rich people. A half a cart of groceries are $20 more than the same stuff at Walmart.

    My biggest problem with this particular Wal Mart is everyone who works there [and I mean every single clerk I see, every single time we go in] looks as tho’ they slept in their car, in their clothes without benefit of any kind of soap/water. I actually had a clerk check me out that was missing 4 teeth in the front of her mouth. And she smiled at us so happily. I am glad she was pleasant and I realize dental is unaffordable to some [most] people, but that is really pushing it to put her out in front of customers.

    There is one guy who works nights named Dana and I swear the last time the dude bathed was in 1992. His long hair hangs in greasy strings and he smells like Vicks. I figure he uses it to mask the stench of filth body odor.

    With your DR – can you just leave the room when he starts this stuff? Gawd I hate rambling drunks, especially those that do it night after night. Otherwise leave a couple of AA magnets on the fridge. He might get the hint. 😉

    I usually do, but I was in the middle of crocheting and Supernatural. AA magnets aren’t going to do it for him. He’s nearly food poisoned himself too many times for me to count, he falls in the kitchen at least twice a month, he slid his Jeep off into a gigantic ditch, he’s tipped over and the dogs have stolen his food numerous times, and he does things that he has absolutely no memory of doing, sometimes minutes after he’s done them. Just one of those situations would tell me I had a drinking problem, but to him it’s just life.

    Reply

  4. wigsf
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 03:45:11

    If Wal-Mart wasn’t full of the absolute dregs of society, there wouldn’t be that website.

    Which, by the way, still waiting for you to pop up on the site. hehehe

    I’m surprised I haven’t yet. It’s a sad statement on the state of affairs when many people dress worse than I do.

    Reply

  5. DarcsFalcon
    Mar 22, 2012 @ 22:54:32

    Ugh, that sounds like WM pretty much every time I get up there. It feels like an episode of Monk where all the people around him are pushing and shoving. That’s why I swore off Christmas shopping in malls, dangit! We used to go later at night but they turn off the A/C and then it’s like a hothouse in there.

    I can’t do hoards of people push and shoving. My kids tell me Monk is a show about me.

    Reply

  6. Amanda Howell
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 05:09:20

    Enough about WalMart, let’s talk about Supernatural, right?! I adore that show. Tonight’s episode Castiel (Misha Collins) is coming back! I can’t wait! 😉

    I got bored waiting for new episodes so I started all over from the beginning. Last night I got to Season 4 where Castiel pulls Dean out of hell.

    In the current season, I’m sad that Bobby is gone…loved that grouchy old man…but can’t wait to see Cas again!

    Reply

  7. Sparty Girl
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 16:37:07

    I’ve just started Supernatural on Netflix, and I’m only a few episodes into season 1. I see why you like it! Thanks for telling me to tune in.

    It starts out kinda slow, but it just gets better and better. Things really get rolling when the angels show up in season 4.

    Reply

  8. Hira Animfefte
    May 19, 2012 @ 09:56:43

    The only time I’ve answered my phone in the bathroom was when I was on call and the on-call cellphone rang. In that situation, I really had no choice. I was tethered to my on-call cell and pager and was at their beck an call. But I absolutely hated it every time it happened. Had it been my own cellphone, it would have gone unanswered….as it should be!

    I can understand answering an “on call” call, but not just chatting away while doing your business.

    I’m so glad I don’t have to be on call for a while!

    Free time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

