Skunks

Aren't they cute...

I had my telephone hearing with Unemployment this morning and it went as expected.  The bastard lied and said I stole my own money.  He said he offered to help find the money, but I quit anyway.  He also sent in “documentation” to my mindset with a theory that “proved” I stole my own money.  The Unemployment guy said his documentation was pure conjecture and would not be allowed as evidence.  I’ll get a written determination in the mail next week, but I’m not holding out much hope since it all came down to my word against his. 

In other news, spring is here and the skunks have come out of hibernation. 

I was in bed watching Buffy when I noticed a strange smell.  Then the dogs started sniffing the air.  Soon it was overwhelming so I got up to see if maybe the front of the house was on fire.  Once I opened my bedroom door I realized that I was smelling skunk.  The smell was so thick and overpowering I nearly gagged in the hall. 

Opening my door caused all the wretched stink to flood my bedroom and before long I had a terrible headache and a sore throat.  I went in search of some Vick’s to put under my nose, like they do in movies when dealing with a rotted corpse, only to find I was out of Vick’s.  So I put toothpaste under my nose.  Yeah, I went to sleep with a toothpaste veil.

The smell is still strong in the house and worse outside, so I can’t open windows and air things out.  This is the one thing I dislike about summer.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. thelifeofjamie
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 11:04:04

    My husband is a fireman and they got a call in the middle of the night by a person saying they smelled gas. He pulls up to their house in the fire truck, talks to the guy and says “Is that what you smell?” The guy says yes. My husband walks back to the engine, gets in and yells- It’s a skunk and drives off!

    We seldom have skunks and certainly not in the winter so it took me a while to realize what I was smelling. I thought about calling the fire department for a minute or two.

    Reply

  2. DarcKnyt
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 11:19:02

    Wow, really? That bad IN the house, huh? And I thought having a ranch would be cool for some reason. You know…without the livestock and maintenance issues to deal with, I mean.

    We seldom get skunks out here. This one must have been lost. Or maybe it was a herd of skunks?

    Reply

  3. DarcsFalcon
    Mar 23, 2012 @ 23:44:15

    I’ll keep my fingers crossed on the hearing thing.

    I hope your dogs don’t run into that skunk! Oh that would be awful!

    I’m not too worried about the dogs because they are in the house at night and I don’t know of any creature mentally deficient enough to go into their yard, but I did have a long haired cat (my avatar picture) get sprayed. Try getting the skunk smell out of a cat. He was wretched for about 2 months.

    Reply

  4. Sparty Girl
    Mar 24, 2012 @ 16:40:49

    If the dogs tangle with a skunk, forget about tomato juice. Look on the internet for a recipe that contains dish soap and hydrogen peroxide. There is at least one other ingredient, but I can’t remember what. The vet recommended when our long-hair German Shepard got into a skunk, and the stuff works like a charm.

    I don’t think a skunk will get near the dogs. Skunks aren’t suicidal. I’m more worried about the cats and ducks. Do skunks eat ducks?

    Speaking of skunks, I was sad but not surprised to hear how the telephone hearing went. I hope it goes your way. Good luck!

    I haven’t checked the mail yet, so I don’t know how it turned out. I’m not very hopeful, though. On a positive note, I’m making as much, if not more, than I was at the SW.

    Reply

  5. edrevets
    Mar 26, 2012 @ 03:25:08

    A stench so strong you have to admire it.

    It makes you wonder how they can live with themselves. Ugh.

    Reply

  6. Hira Animfefte
    May 19, 2012 @ 12:34:20

    When I was at seminary/grad school, there was a family of skunks that lived on campus not far from my dorm. They were all nicknamed “Fluffy.” Every so often I would have a Fluffy sighting and I would take the long way back to the building and pray the skunk did not notice me and would not spray.

    Cooks taking out the trash and getting sprayed by a skunk were legendary stories when I was a kid. I ALWAYS take the trash out before it gets dark.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

