Firing Up the Dooley

Spring has sprung and the Dooley finally thawed, so guess what that means! 

Yep, time to rake dog shit. 

If you multiply 5 large dogs by 4 months of snow, you get about 100 pounds of shit.  More to the point *I* get 100 pounds of shit. 

I have half of the yard raked into little piles ready to go into the Dooley, but I can only add a 5 gallon bucket every other day.  I’m thinking of making another Dooley since this one works so well.  Now that I have an extra hour and a half every day, I have time to do stuff like that.

Spring also makes me want to start planting stuff, but I know we could easily be under 3 feet of snow overnight.  A wise person never puts anything in the ground until June around here.

  When I moved my little house out on the prairie, I had all these plans for flowers, trees, shrubs, paths, you know, something of beauty.  I made a little progress until I started working in Cody and then the flowers, trees, and shrubs died.  My prairie looks worse now than when I moved in and I don’t like that at all.  It’s time to polish up my green thumb and start making my outside look sparkley and new.

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. skippymom
    Mar 28, 2012 @ 17:02:07

    I am assuming a Dooley is a composter? If it is, can you really compost with dog poop? Fascinating. [If it isn’t – well, then I just look stoopid. hee]

    It is! I saw one for sale on Amazon then I found how to make a homemade one on the web. It’s pretty easy…large plastic garbage can, cut the bottom out, drill holes half way up the sides, dig a hole, put the garbage can in the hole, put some rocks or gravel in the bottom and add poop. You will need some septic tank treatment stuff and water. I add more water every few days and stir the poop with a shovel and it disappears. Make sure you put the Dooley away from your house so the water doesn’t run inside. Surprisingly, I haven’t noticed any odor either.

    I know what you mean about melting snow and big dogs. It did not snow one iota this year [actually unheard of in our part of the woods] but we still didn’t do dooty duty. I say we. Ahem. Let’s just say glad it isn’t my job – it is a lot of sh*t in a 10×5′ backyard.

    My back yard is probably 25×50′,but they all crap in the same place. It makes clean up easier, but it gets unsightly fast.

    We had big plans for our front yard or lack there of [we live in a townhome] but after living here for almost six years we splurged a bit with mulch, flowers and new paint on the front door. It is amazing how much happier you can get coming home to something so colorful and fresh.

    Now we did have to cover everything with plastic last night, but we know there won’t be any snow.

    Why don’t you start flowers inside so they’ll be ready when the time comes to plant them. For what they charge at the Nursery we are definitely going that route next year. So cheap. 🙂

    I plan to buy some seeds and starter pots, but I still think I’m jumping the gun. Maybe in a week or two. I can’t afford ready to plant flowers, not even at Walmart.

    Take care! 🙂

    Reply

  2. DarcKnyt
    Mar 28, 2012 @ 19:37:58

    That Dooley…gotta love it. I think more than one is certainly a good idea. 🙂

    Happy springing.

    The Dooley is awesome!

    Reply

  3. wigsf
    Mar 29, 2012 @ 03:31:45

    Can’t dogs be trained to always poop in the same spot so as to make the raking much easier?

    Yes and mine kinda do it without training. Each dog has to crap on another dog’s crap to see who is the top dog. They pee in much the same way.

    Kinda like this cow farm I drove by a couple days ago. All of the cows were grazing on one side of the barn. On the other side of the barn was a pile of manure that had to be at least one a half storeys tall.
    I asked me dad who was driving the car “How do you think they train the cows to all shit in the same spot?”
    “I don’t know.”

    I’m guessing it was accomplished with a Bobcat. Cows flop wherever they feel like it.

    Reply

  4. Main Street Musings Blog
    Mar 29, 2012 @ 14:17:24

    Now THAT is some inventive shit!

    Hehe!

    Reply

  5. DarcsFalcon
    Mar 29, 2012 @ 22:17:35

    Oh I’ve never heard of a Dooley before – sounds like a good idea. 🙂 Compost is a beautiful thing, I used to make it when I had a garden.

    Sounds like you have some cute ideas for your place. How fun it’ll be to put some growing things in the ground to brighten up the spot! I envy you! 🙂

    You shouldn’t. My outside is a mess and will require lots of work to clean. It’s going to take more than a bucket of flowers to fix this.

    Reply

  6. zmanowner
    Mar 30, 2012 @ 17:42:49

    Yeah, I have never heard of a Dooly either. But I am guessing its some sort of machine…well hope the poopie pickup goes ok….i back look forward to following you once again……zman sends

    Reply

  7. The Good Greatsby
    Mar 30, 2012 @ 19:53:19

    Where can I get a Dooley? Makes me wish we had some dog poop to feed it.

    Reply

  8. msmouse7
    Apr 03, 2012 @ 12:12:47

    I call that lovely chore pudsing. PUDS=picking up dog stool (or any other word that starts with s and means the same thing; trying to retain a G rating). I no longer have dogs but the term now means doing something you don’t want to do but need to do.

    HAHA! It’s funny how we make up our own words to describe things. Now that’s going to be stuck in my head.

    Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment!

    Reply

  9. Sparty Girl
    Apr 05, 2012 @ 05:51:27

    Hey! It’s time for a new blog post… are you still selling pizza to ghosts?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

