Sweaters!

I crocheted two sweaters, one for me and one for my daughter.

Mine is orange and hangs down to about mid thigh.  It’s for cool summer nights, but it works for warm spring days as well.  I have to redo the arms because they are about 4 inches longer than I like, but I’m quite proud of my first attempt.  The total cost for this gem was $5 in yarn and about 2 weeks of work.

It's ORANGE!

My second attempt is a short sweater for my daughter.  It has a ruffle trim and ruffles on the sleeves.  She’s more girlie than I am so ruffles are okay for her.  The total cost for this sweater was $12 in yarn and 10 days of work.  I used more expensive yarn for hers since I knew the pattern worked.

Now it’s time to go through my patterns and find my next project…

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bunnybuns
    Apr 12, 2012 @ 17:12:39

    Hey, ever thought of offering to custom make knitted/crocheted items for people? A lady here in FL makes about $150 per sweater or shawl. I don’t know if that would be worth the yarn and work, but it might be a good creative outlet and way to make a few extra bucks for your effort! (I bought a dark blue shawl from her made out of baby yarn, its my favorite piece of clothing! I paid her $175 for it, worth every penny!)

    No shit?! There isn’t much of a market for handmade stuff around here. People think you should give it to them. A few nights ago a young woman saw my rainbow poncho and she asked if she could have it. I said I’d sell it to her for $50. She pouted and asked if I would just let her have it for free ‘cuz she really liked it. Uh, yeah. I really like a lot of things, but no one gives them to me.

    I wish I could find a market for my stuff, because otherwise everyone is getting yarn goods for Christmas.

    Reply

  2. bunnybuns
    Apr 12, 2012 @ 17:13:34

    Oh and if you couldn’t tell, I really like your yarn work! =)

    Thank you very much. As a beginner I need all the compliments I can get.

    Reply

  3. thelifeofjamie
    Apr 12, 2012 @ 18:11:05

    Nice! I can knit a scarf. That’s it.

    I was good at knitting square or rectangle things, but not much else. Now that I can see how to do the stitches on youtube, I could probably do much more, but crocheting doesn’t hurt my hands like knitting does.

    Reply

  4. DarcKnyt
    Apr 12, 2012 @ 18:49:42

    Those look great! Nice work! Etsy, here you come? 😉

    Thanks! I listed some stuff on Etsy, but no one was interested. Presents for everyone!

    Reply

  5. Ahmnodt Heare
    Apr 12, 2012 @ 19:54:35

    I tried crocheting once. While I was able to get the sleeves the same length, I had one of them well below the shoulder.

    Reply

  6. DarcsFalcon
    Apr 12, 2012 @ 23:40:41

    Those are so cute! Good job!

    I wish I could knit/crochet/work with yarn. I used to sew baby blankets but I could never get the hang of working with yarn except to tangle it all up.

    There are tons of tutorials on youtube and all the yarn companies have tutorials on their websites. Yarn is cheap (well, sometimes) and you can do this stuff while watching TV. Start small (scarf) and work your way up. I know you can do it!

    Reply

  7. skippymom
    Apr 13, 2012 @ 00:52:09

    Those sweaters are amazing! And I am not just saying that. They are both so happy looking and well done.
    I swear I would offer you money for either one – that woman who wanted your poncho for free? If I had been standing with you I would’ve started laughing and then asked her how stupid was she? I think it would be the one time where my filter would be completely turned off b/c I am sorry – but the selfish, stupid, entitlement WHORES of this world need to stop acting like everyone owes them something.

    I pretty much laughed at her. If she was a friend, I’d give it to her, but a stranger…?

    I stopped selling my quilts at craft shows because I got tired of people telling me I charged too much for a completely hand pieced, hand quilted queen size bed quilt and then have the audacity to offer less than the cost of the materials that was in one. Great quality quilt fabric that will last generations cost 4 or 5 times what the material cost at Jo Ann’s not to mention backing, batting, thread and the TIME, OMG the TIME to stitch every single stitch. I was so tired of it.

    I’m with you on this. I don’t know how many times I heard, “Well, I can buy a comforter at Walmart for $40.” Yeah, go ahead. It will fall apart in the first wash. People don’t get how downright insulting they are when they try to haggle your price. I took the time to find the pattern, learn the pattern, buy the material, wash & iron it, cut it, sew it, put it all together and you think I should give it to you for $40?? ARE YOU HIGH?

    For what it is worth, I collect sweaters – they are my favorite type of clothing. If you ever put anything on Etsy again or will take an “order” I will happily work with you to purchase one. I also wouldn’t mind purchasing one or two of the ruffled ones for my girls. If you have the time please drop me an email – I know you are incredibly busy, but I am interested. 🙂 skippyaveo @ gmail. com

    I need to see if my daughter’s fits her. My sleeves turned out orangutan-long so I need to get that under control. I wouldn’t charge, other than the cost of the yarn because I need things to do in my spare time.

    Reply

  8. Sparty Girl
    Apr 13, 2012 @ 06:43:49

    They look great! I can never do crafts like you do… I get started then lose patience about 1/3 of the way in.

    I’m not a patient person, but I can knit, crochet & quilt, things that require patience. I do lose my shit every now and then and yarn, needles, hook, fabric go flying across the room.

    Next time you see that person who wanted your poncho you should go up to her and ask her for her sweater/shoes/purse/hat and explain that she should give it to you just because you like it. Moron.

    Most people here are morons.

    Reply

  9. Hira Animfefte
    May 19, 2012 @ 12:43:45

    Nice job on the sweaters! Orange seems to be the in color this season.

    Orange is the in colour every season, IMHO.

    Are you on Ravelry? I am (with my beginner knitted scarf projects)…let me know if you are and I’ll friend you there.

    Maaybee…I think I’m a member, but I don’t have anything listed. I have some stuff on etsy (hopefully not regretsy). I’ll look into it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

